• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 13, 2014
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 13, 2014
    58
    Bitten is mildly diverting while also being pretty goofy in spots--even for a werewolf drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    It’s all served up with a pulpy prurience.... And the back stories are doled out slowly, so viewers who haven’t read the show’s source material, a book by Kelley Armstrong, should expect to feel pleasantly teased.
  3. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    Though it lacks the production value or special-effects budget of the Twilight movies, Bitten has a smooth, slick look and boasts solid performances.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 13, 2014
    60
    Bitten seems aimed more at a mainstream audience than the hard-core werewolf/vampire crowd, which is okay. Probably smart, in fact.
  5. Reviewed by: Molly Eichel
    Jan 13, 2014
    50
    The presentation of mythology and backstory, such an important aspect of a show like Bitten, is handled in a laughably inelegant way.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 13, 2014
    50
    If you are curious about the show, tune into the last 10 minutes of the hour, and you’ll learn everything you need to know. Right now, Bitten is a nibble of a show.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 8, 2014
    50
    While there’s a fairly dense mythology here, as adapted by Daegan Fryklind Bitten feels stitched together from pieces of werewolf tales of yore--undermined, in terms of casting its own spell, by TV’s familiar version of a pack mentality.
  8. Reviewed by: Jodi Walker
    Jan 7, 2014
    67
    The premiere could use a little more lore and a lot less angst, but a murder mystery in the woods might keep you holding on another week. [17 Jan 2014, p.61]
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 46
  2. Negative: 15 out of 46
  1. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    As someone who has avoided the Syfy channel like the plague due to their normally bad cgi and rip off shows and movies, I didn't have highAs someone who has avoided the Syfy channel like the plague due to their normally bad cgi and rip off shows and movies, I didn't have high hopes for this before watching. I was so, SO wrong—this program blows me away. It's my absolute favorite thing on television, and I find myself counting down the days until I can get my next fix. It follows the storyline of the books so closely that even the few changes they make are acceptable. I'm hoping and praying it gets picked up for a second season. Full Review »
  2. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    I'm really enjoying this show. I think the acting is strong and the storyline is sticking close to the books(which I appreciate) even whatI'm really enjoying this show. I think the acting is strong and the storyline is sticking close to the books(which I appreciate) even what changes they make are acceptable. One of the biggest draws of this show for me is there is no teen angst. It's annoying and does nothing for the story. I like that the show doesn't feel the need to have CGI heavy graphics and nonstop action. I also enjoy that the show isn't trying to teach the audience a lesson or force their politics on the audience. It's just straightforward fantasy story telling. It's the escapism that you would want in a tv show. It's a nice breather from every other show that's been trying to force their cause on the audience. It's a new show so I'm sure that the cast is still coming together and there may be some small tweaks to be made but all in all it's a very enjoyable show. This is the first time in a long time that I couldn't wait for the next episode. Fingers crossed for more seasons to come! Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    While the pilot lacked in some areas, I chalked that up to first episode jitters. The second episode improved greatly in many areas includingWhile the pilot lacked in some areas, I chalked that up to first episode jitters. The second episode improved greatly in many areas including acting and writing. I was particularly happy to see certain lines and scenes I remembered from the books make it into the second episode. While I wasn't convinced after the pilot, episode 2 may have sold me on this show. Full Review »