• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 13, 2014
Season #: 1, 2
Bitten Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the Women of the Otherworld novels by Kelley Armstrong, werewolf Elena Michaels (Laura Vandervoort) has a new life as a photographer and a new boyfriend (Paul Greene) who knows nothing of her secret, but when dead bodies start appearing at her hometown in upstate New York, she isBased on the Women of the Otherworld novels by Kelley Armstrong, werewolf Elena Michaels (Laura Vandervoort) has a new life as a photographer and a new boyfriend (Paul Greene) who knows nothing of her secret, but when dead bodies start appearing at her hometown in upstate New York, she is pulled back to her former life and ex-boyfriend, Clayton Danvers (Greyston Holt). Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    Though it lacks the production value or special-effects budget of the Twilight movies, Bitten has a smooth, slick look and boasts solid performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    It’s all served up with a pulpy prurience.... And the back stories are doled out slowly, so viewers who haven’t read the show’s source material, a book by Kelley Armstrong, should expect to feel pleasantly teased.
  3. Reviewed by: Jodi Walker
    Jan 7, 2014
    67
    The premiere could use a little more lore and a lot less angst, but a murder mystery in the woods might keep you holding on another week. [17 Jan 2014, p.61]
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 13, 2014
    58
    Bitten is mildly diverting while also being pretty goofy in spots--even for a werewolf drama.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 8, 2014
    50
    While there’s a fairly dense mythology here, as adapted by Daegan Fryklind Bitten feels stitched together from pieces of werewolf tales of yore--undermined, in terms of casting its own spell, by TV’s familiar version of a pack mentality.
  6. Reviewed by: Molly Eichel
    Jan 13, 2014
    50
    The presentation of mythology and backstory, such an important aspect of a show like Bitten, is handled in a laughably inelegant way.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 13, 2014
    50
    If you are curious about the show, tune into the last 10 minutes of the hour, and you’ll learn everything you need to know. Right now, Bitten is a nibble of a show.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    this show gets more amazing as each episode progresses
    it might not be to everyone's taste but i think it will appeal very much to its target
    this show gets more amazing as each episode progresses
    it might not be to everyone's taste but i think it will appeal very much to its target audience
    for those who don't like werewolf shows, don't watch it.
    it has done very well in terms of character building as we get insight into how the characters lives were like before.
    some of the actors are good, some of them aren't... i'll leave you to figure out which ones fall into which category.
    the show has done its job by making me tune in each week, and i've grown an attachment to the show, which is the goal for any show i guess,
    watch out for the end of episode 12, something we believed to be a solid fact and the truth, turns out to be completely wrong...(not going to say anything else)
    Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    This is an awesome show! I love it already and there has only been one season so far. I can't see what is going to happen next! this show isThis is an awesome show! I love it already and there has only been one season so far. I can't see what is going to happen next! this show is not the typical teen werewolf drama. i find my self always wanting more! Fantastic show. I definitely recommend it Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    As someone who has avoided the Syfy channel like the plague due to their normally bad cgi and rip off shows and movies, I didn't have highAs someone who has avoided the Syfy channel like the plague due to their normally bad cgi and rip off shows and movies, I didn't have high hopes for this before watching. I was so, SO wrong—this program blows me away. It's my absolute favorite thing on television, and I find myself counting down the days until I can get my next fix. It follows the storyline of the books so closely that even the few changes they make are acceptable. I'm hoping and praying it gets picked up for a second season. Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    The Otherworld series of books by Kelley Armstrong is told in the first person. This provides a great deal of information to the reader. ToThe Otherworld series of books by Kelley Armstrong is told in the first person. This provides a great deal of information to the reader. To bring these kinds of books to the screen, the writers either have to be Very Good at getting much of that self talk across without a narrator. Bitten is good, not great, largely due to the writing and dialog. Whenever a large cast is involved, it's important for the audience to get to know each one sufficiently that each character is recognizable as the action unfolds. Bitten is only partially successful on that account. I would have liked to see the entire first episode unfold with Elena remaining in Toronto, perhaps with flashbacks telling the story of how she came to be and what her relationships are with Clayton and Jeremy, or a parallel story centered on Stonehaven. However, I am watching it and hoping the overall quality will improve. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2014
    4
    Ok first things first, I have read the books and am a huge fan, and like every book fan we get excited to see a series we love becomeOk first things first, I have read the books and am a huge fan, and like every book fan we get excited to see a series we love become something on screen, but when its done right. With that being said I'm disappointed in the way the direction the tv series is headed. I'm aware that when converging something written into something on screen some changes need to be made in order for the show/movie to flow better. Yet what I don't understand is why would the producers change too much of the book. The fan base of the series itself fell in love with the series because of the way the story was written so its not a big surprise that fans are going to be disappointed if the producers don't follow the books as much as possible.

    Besides the fact that they are veering away from the original story, which again is very disappointing and frankly irritating, the acting or the way the characters are portrayed isn't something to be congratulated in the least. The actors them selves look the part but when it comes to actually becoming the part they fall short.

    Elena's character is somewhat played decently but there is some room for improvement.

    Clay's character is suppose to be more in tuned with is instincts, have disgust or little to no tolerance when it come with dealing with humans, and the way he acts with Elena is suppose to be somewhat playful.

    Jeremy is Alpha for a reason, he has complete control over his wolf. He can think logically, and not let his instincts rule over his thought process. He is reserved, graceful, confident, yet powerful. In the show he lacks confidence, and leadership. Not to mention he is suppose to be the one who consuls everyone and gives them direction, not Antonio.

    Anyways the point I'm attempting to get across is that the show really needs to re-evaluate the way its going. If they want to stay as close to the book as possible then they should actually do it instead of saying that they are and then just doing something completely different. They should also try to improve the way the characters are coming across. Make the actors read the series, talk to the author herself in order to comprehend the characters better. Doing that would only increase their acting skills and make the fans like them that much more.

    The show could also use an improvement in the graphics, because as of now the way the wolves look and more is well laughable. Yet because It is also just the first season, I wont judge on the graphics too much.

    As a HUGE fan of the book series, I'm truly disappointed in the way it is being modified, but I can only be hopeful that the producers and writers try to revamp the show.
    Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2014
    2
    total failure

    The series is a pure disappointment. In episode 1, it's all about the love life. This is just too little for a successful
    total failure

    The series is a pure disappointment.
    In episode 1, it's all about the love life. This is just too little for a successful series. In terms of story you have to improve a lot.
    Disappointing across the board are the performances of the actors and the CGI. It is to see far better in the old series.
    If the series at the level of the pilot episode it is sold quickly how to "werewolf" can say.
    Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I truly and deeply hate this show. I'm on episode 8 on Netflix and I am done. I tried to like it but I can't. It went from boring to bad to downright disgusting. Sick of seeing people being tied up and tortured. I hate ever single main character and I want all of them to die - especially Clayton who love brutalizing, torturing and killing everyone he can.

    The writing stinks and the acting stinks even more.
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews