Black Sails : Season 1

  • Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 25, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 27, 2014
    38
    In its zeal to avoid Johnny Depp-style silliness, any sense of pirate fun is lost at sea. [3 Feb 2014, p.44]
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 23, 2014
    30
    What's mystifying is why Starz and the creators of Black Sails seem to think that, given the expanding array of options available to consumers, any content creators can get away with peddling fare that can't even manage to be consistently mediocre.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 353 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 72
  2. Negative: 11 out of 72
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    3
    I have really tried to like this. Starz has been amazing in bringing us some wild and wonderful programs to watch. The plot is 'meh' and II have really tried to like this. Starz has been amazing in bringing us some wild and wonderful programs to watch. The plot is 'meh' and I have not really liked any of the characters. I had it on my schedule - but I just would rather watch something else. Great sets and scenery. Excellent production quality. There are better programs out there. Sorry! Full Review »
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    1
    NO no no. A show with no simi-likable charters. Sorry I've watch the first 8 episodes and I now feel that I've wasted my time. I can not getNO no no. A show with no simi-likable charters. Sorry I've watch the first 8 episodes and I now feel that I've wasted my time. I can not get behind any of the charters at this point. Starz put a lot of money behind this but very little in the writing and character development. No one is likable. You want all of them to fail so why watch? I'll stick to my Vikings on the history channel which is free! This fail of a show is behind me now. Full Review »
  3. Jan 27, 2015
    6
    Despite a theme that is both promising and compelling the first season of this Starz show is rarely more than a vehicle for f-bombs, nudity,Despite a theme that is both promising and compelling the first season of this Starz show is rarely more than a vehicle for f-bombs, nudity, and intense violence. Basically it's mostly just a display of what you can't get outside of premium cable. It's still an entertaining show at times, but given that things only shape up in the plot department right near the end its clear that the second season is the one where things happen.

    When the show isn't over-indulging in sex scenes you're mostly left to deal with rather bland characters. They all mostly seem to be an archetype with no backstories to make us care about them. The plot also plods along at a slow pace. Mostly just hinting at character having ulterior motives and taking too long to explain how the economic part of their world works.

    This all begins to get better as it goes on though. Little revelations help viewers get a grasp on the overall picture and open up parts of character's lives that makes them actually somewhat compelling. Twists, secrets, and backstabbings begin to create enjoyable scenarios and tension that can keep people entertained. However that all happens right near the end of this season so the majority of it is just hollow.

    It's almost fitting that this was executively produced by Michael Bay. Like most things barring his name it's more flash than substance. The way this season concludes points to some bigger and better things with season 2 so there is reason to stick around. However despite how entertaining the graphic sex and nudity can be this season left me wanting more and not in that good way.

    There are elements of the show that do make me want to set sail with these pirates, however they aren't what's so emphasized this season. Hopefully season 2 lives up to the promises this season contained. As it stands this first season can be pretty entertaining. It just needed to focus less on the TNA and more on the plot and characters.

    My total score for this season is a 6.5/10.
    Full Review »