• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 27, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Bleak House Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Carey Mulligan
  • Summary: Masterpiece Theatre tackles the Dickens classic for the second time with this miniseries (adapted by Andrew Davies) airing in six weekly installments.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dark, textured, and lively--this is how Dickens is done. [20 Jan 2006, p.66]
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Moore
    100
    While a quintessential Masterpiece Theatre production, Bleak House doesn't indulge in the languid pacing and preciousness that weigh down some other PBS period pieces.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    90
    This is law drama such as Boston Legal's David E. Kelley can only dream about.
  4. 90
    This spectacular six-part adaptation of the lit classic feels more like a plush Jane Austen tale than Dickens.
  5. As pleasurable as its tale is grim.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    80
    Those who wade through the slow-going first three or four hours of this stately production will be richly rewarded by the engrossing final four.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. JanetF.
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    I have TIVo'D and holding on to this one. It bears watching over and over.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jan 24, 2006
    10
    I love it! Very well done! Gillian Anderson is wonderful and gorgeous! Charles Dance is so evil and Anna Maxwell Martin is wonderful as Esther.
  3. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    BH is my second-favorite Dickens novel, so I put off watching this miniseries for 5 years, lest it disappoint. I needn't have hesitated. No the adaptation is not completely faithful, but it captures the essentials: the range of characters (good, bad, and purely eccentric), the dynamic storytelling, the social critique (here focused on the legal AND class systems). And it does more. It's a fair criticism of Dickens that his characters, for all their quirky vitality, are a little one-dimensional. But great actors can enrich such characters, and this series has so many that I almost hate to single anyone out. Much has been made of Gillian Anderson, and she is indeed excellent, but, for me, the standout has to be Anna Maxwell Martin as the young orphan at the center of events. She could easily have been too good to be true; instead, she is admirably kind but also confused, wise, wry, and naive--in other words, profoundly human. But no one works in a vacuum, and it's obvious that the casting, script, and direction have all contributed to her performance, as have the other actors. The scene between Anderson and Martin on the Ghost Walk is a perfect example of two achieving more together than one could do alone. Collapse
  4. AliciaG
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    I absolutely love this miniseries. It is the only televison show to ever make it into my day planner. My only request is more Guppy!!
  5. AnonyMous
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    Truly wonderful, the best thing I've seen on television in years. I'm depressed that it's over! To the person who rated it a 1: the author is Charles *Dickens* -- not Dickson. I guess I can see why you didn't like it. Expand
  6. Brenda
    May 1, 2007
    10
    Awesome show! I just wish I could have viewed it in one sitting instead of waiting for more each week. I am buying this on video! (and I only OWN one other film - LOTR-so I"m not into purchasing such things). LOVED IT! Expand
  7. robertt
    Jan 21, 2006
    1
    I´s too dark. I didn´t like the camera work and I didn´t like to wath Gillian 'Scully' Anderson as Lady Dedlock. Tho only star that i gave to this went to Charles Dickson, the writer himself. Dont´waste your time. Go watch Deseparate Wifes. LOL Expand

See all 31 User Reviews