Blood and Oil : Season 1

Blood and Oil Image
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With the sudden death of Charles "Chuck" Cutter of Ohio's Cutter Oil Company, his family take over the family business but struggle to keep the business competitive with big oil corporations taking over many drilling sites.
  • Genre(s): Reality

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jun 18, 2013
    70
    It's a straightforward story of iron determination to succeed against the odds—the options for drilling are now risky, and a failure means the loss of half a million dollars. But it is, beside that, a picture of a family, a portrait limited in its detail but dramatic nonetheless in its evidence of the tense relationship between the assured and driven CJ and his younger, college-educated brother.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 18, 2013
    40
    Blood & Oil almost feels more like a “Real Housewives” rolling family fight than a microcosm of our national quest for energy independence.
  3. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Jun 18, 2013
    30
    Despite a tension-building soundtrack and quick jump cuts and editing, nothing can help the show rise out of its tedium.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Blood and Oil feels entirely concocted and embarrassingly shabby, resulting in a form of emotional pornography; no one in the family--particularly the hotheaded CJ--is a good enough actor to overcome all the obvious scripting.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 18, 2013
    0
    The whole setup is insulting.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 9 out of 11
  1. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    We love the new Blood and Oil, It's a great show, all the characters are great! This is one of the best shows on tv....we always record itWe love the new Blood and Oil, It's a great show, all the characters are great! This is one of the best shows on tv....we always record it and watch the next night. please continue it! Thank you Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2015
    10
    We LOVE this show! So thankful for a good drama & not another reality show. I hope to see this show become the next "Dallas". Record everyWe LOVE this show! So thankful for a good drama & not another reality show. I hope to see this show become the next "Dallas". Record every episode & cannot wait to watch it. Hoping this will be a very long-running series. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    2
    I watched the show last night and was very dissappointed. There's too much organic drama over the simplest of tasks. Example: Why wasanyI watched the show last night and was very dissappointed. There's too much organic drama over the simplest of tasks. Example: Why wasany amount of my time wasted watching the tear down of a silo on their property, just not that big of an ordeal. Then the slow moding of random scenes/activity, what's the purpose of that? The concept of the show is great, just everything in the middle needs to go including CJ. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2013
    0
    cutters your dad was an enbaressment to the communtiy. telling everyone you are going to go bankrupt trying to compete in the oil game.cutters your dad was an enbaressment to the communtiy. telling everyone you are going to go bankrupt trying to compete in the oil game. your going to go under if cj really is that stupid. i think beth wont let that happen i really do hope this is so scripted because you come across like a bunch of idiots. but your the ones laughing the whole way to the bank. we are just laughing at you. Expand
  5. Mil
    Jun 28, 2013
    0
    How does the Discovery channel think this is even watchable!
    Just call it male mud wrestling between Cain and Able and you have the jest of
    How does the Discovery channel think this is even watchable!
    Just call it male mud wrestling between Cain and Able and you have the jest of the whole show.
    This family is in deep oil muck with the troubled oldest running the company.
    Won't watch again
    Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    0
    OMG, what is up with American Television and all of these reality shows! I can't believe this is a "series"!!! My 8 year old can direct andOMG, what is up with American Television and all of these reality shows! I can't believe this is a "series"!!! My 8 year old can direct and 'act' better than these bozos. Is Discovery this desperate?!?!? Note to self, 1. Call DirecTV and see if I can remove Discovery channel, 2. Ignore any and all reality shows, 3. Stop reading WSJ since that "critic" who scored that series with a 70 is obviously related to CJ and if I can't do any of those, 4. Get a lobotomy!" BO is embarrassing, fake and a smelly joke! (have any idea what I think of this show?) Don't waste your time, go watch the grass grow or read a book! Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    I watch a lot of reality TV but this is pure garbage. What a bunch of drama queens trying to dupe the public into believing this is somehow aI watch a lot of reality TV but this is pure garbage. What a bunch of drama queens trying to dupe the public into believing this is somehow a successful business. With a hothead like the lead character it was necessary to invent a few characters to go with his arrogance enter the college educated brother who has no get up and go, the sister who plays the part of the dumb blonde and the mother so supposedly controls the whole operation but relinquishes control to the head drama queen. Watched two episodes and that is enough for a lifetime. Collapse

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers