• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 20, 2010
    50
    It's a rote cop show, but in the last five minutes or so, it hints at something deeper.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 20, 2010
    60
    Blue Bloods sounds good on paper. Yet despite its good cast and competent execution, this drama about a family of New York cops feels a bit perfunctory. There's nothing necessarily wrong with the drama, which is ably headed by Tom Selleck, but there's every chance that Blue Bloods will turn out to be just another cop show.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 20, 2010
    58
    Wahlberg, a favorite here, needs to avoid David Caruso Syndrome. There's a bit too much posturing with the furrowed brow and hand-on-the-hip that has made a caricature of that "CSI: Miami" star. Moynahan is solid as the assistant district attorney, but her character's lefty politics seem at odds with her occupation and her family.....But Selleck as the bad guy in his own show? It almost makes you want to dial 911.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Oct 20, 2010
    50
    There's perhaps the coppiest cop show of the century so far, the soppy and self-satirizing CBS melodrama Blue Bloods, about an entire family--"the Reagans" yet!--involved in the crime biz.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Oct 20, 2010
    60
    The weekly cops-and-lawyers procedural aspect of the show was never going to hook me, but I found the pilot's core case, featuring an abducted girl, to be particularly manipulative and uninvolving. I was also irked by the contrivances that would allow Moynahan's character to be handling a case in which her brother was accused of malfeasance. I was much more interested in the multigenerational family stuff that played out.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 103
  2. Negative: 13 out of 103
  1. Sep 25, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Blue blood, season 1, omg where do i start, tom selleck should be playing the country cop who uses a baseball bat to combat crime,

    donny wolberrg is believable enough in the cop role as usual, his character does not seem to stay much, which is a shame for his acting ability, but this tv series is like a remake of an ole show
    gone bad, come on.... the whole family is running the show, one is being investigated by the DA sure
    enough the next kid will be as well, and that puts the assisant DA in the middle when suddenly tom's
    role will be investigating his daughter the assiatant DA, right? One by one each family member will be part of an investigation, and there will always be some tension about the son who died in uniform,
    tsk tsk, writers are hired too young these days and forgot what we have already seen on the tube or in the movies,

    the best part of this episode is frank sinatra or harry connick jr singing New York New york, i can never tell the difference between the two,

    sorry ole chap but i cant give you any kudo;'s for this role, it is just not believable enuf, your family is getting in our face, and i think we deserve more than that, i can only rate this new series a 2.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 25, 2010
    4
    The only thing good about this show is that you quickly feel for the characters right from the start. But is that enough to keep the showThe only thing good about this show is that you quickly feel for the characters right from the start. But is that enough to keep the show afloat? I don't think so. The premise is borderline ridiculous - a single NY family consisting of the NY police commissioner, a former NY police commissioner, a DA attorney, a detective, and a beat cop. Oh and they're Irish. Let's be real ok? Every episode is stand-alone. The stories don't require more than one episode to start and finish. Apart from the weak ongoing Blue Templar theme, which in my opinion just doesn't grab the viewer enough to maintain interest in the show. If they don't pick up the pace with the writing, I doubt that the great ensemble of characters and their stellar performances will be enough to keep this show afloat for another season. I'm quickly losing interest. Full Review »
  3. May 16, 2012
    9
    Aside from the killer lineup of characters with background and depth. Ie: Single mom, widowed husband, I kind of miss the family of tv showsAside from the killer lineup of characters with background and depth. Ie: Single mom, widowed husband, I kind of miss the family of tv shows that you'd like to know what happens to them. Likewise, a cops family? Who the hell knows about that and where in TV has that been the focus. The family has always been the force- that hasn't changed. This "family" focus is both interesting and genuinely likable. The power plays of police plaza and city hall join well in a relationship of trust- if it were only that easy! I have hopes for next season. Full Review »