• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 75
  2. Negative: 6 out of 75

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    randishaw needs to go back to the grouch couch and get a clue. Blue Bloods is the very first Friday night show to capture and hold my attention in more years than I can count. The acting is phenomenal compared to the majority of shows available today. The old style feel of the show is deliberate, honestly done, and worthy of high praise. I haven't followed a police drama in years duerandishaw needs to go back to the grouch couch and get a clue. Blue Bloods is the very first Friday night show to capture and hold my attention in more years than I can count. The acting is phenomenal compared to the majority of shows available today. The old style feel of the show is deliberate, honestly done, and worthy of high praise. I haven't followed a police drama in years due to the continuous need for more and more over-the-top shock value story lines that never connect from week to week, and with characters who never fully materialize into well-rounded, open, and complete human beings. What makes Blue Bloods a standout is that it offers both. You have family drama embedded in cop drama, and the characters' story lines flow from week to week while the story lines of the cop drama side are interesting, timely, and don't have to connect. This is one show I will continue to watch regardless of how many times and ways the day or time of the show is changed. Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    I have to agree with mrbinky on all accounts. CASTING: EXCELLENT!! Bluebloods is a well-written show that not only shows police drama on the streets of NYC, but is developing storyline and characterization. So the family prays before dinner, there are some in the world that still do that, Irish or not. The real meat (no pun intended) is the conversation that takes place regarding theI have to agree with mrbinky on all accounts. CASTING: EXCELLENT!! Bluebloods is a well-written show that not only shows police drama on the streets of NYC, but is developing storyline and characterization. So the family prays before dinner, there are some in the world that still do that, Irish or not. The real meat (no pun intended) is the conversation that takes place regarding the generational issues and differences....again....real life. I've been paying attention, too, to the development of the story regarding the other son's death. There was mention of investigation into the Knights of the Templar by this son. The grandfather, son, and older grandson (Donnie) are pin-wearers. This could make for some interesting family turmoil if something comes out regarding the negative aspects of the deceased son's investigation. I love the show, the acting is stellar, and it's been a long time since I looked forward to actually watching a show. As far as Sinatra and Connick go.....? Seriously? Most people can tell the difference, especially since Frank did the song "New York, New York" in his later years. It's TV growup time for some. The crime lab shows, although they have good acting, and were worth watching in the beginning, are getting monotonous. What's the last movie anyone went to? There isn't anything that hasn't been done. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Blue Bloods is the best new show of the season and after watching several episodes (6), I am hoping that this show lasts for 10 years but no less than 5. Casting and characters are the keys to the success of this show. Tom Selleck is the Chief of Police and Donnie Wahlberg is a kick ass detective. I personally relate to the characters really well because they are Catholic and unlike mostBlue Bloods is the best new show of the season and after watching several episodes (6), I am hoping that this show lasts for 10 years but no less than 5. Casting and characters are the keys to the success of this show. Tom Selleck is the Chief of Police and Donnie Wahlberg is a kick ass detective. I personally relate to the characters really well because they are Catholic and unlike most TV shows and movies they are honorable characters. In one of the last episodes that I watched the family debated legalizing marijuana and everyone in the family had a different viewpoint. This is such a great relief because in other shows it seems as though the opinions of the characters tend to lean one way or another. This show is different and it is these types of differences that, once heard about will drive the show toward even greater success. The worst problem is the show's time slot which for the past several years was held by Numb3rs (Friday 10 PM). Regardless, the show is in the top 20 for the season and at that time slot that is a big deal.

    If you don't like to watch TV at the time that this show is on - DVR IT!
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This is an usually good prime time network show; nuanced acting, multiple plot layers mixing police drama with an appealing multi-generation extended family and it's stories. It's a keeper.
  5. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This show is just amazing.The plot is great,acting is more than solid,give Donnie Wahlberg at least a nomination already.It is not one of the best,but the best newest television show ever.Please CBS,don't cancel the series.
  6. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This show is class! Donnie Wahlberg is great and some of the crimes are good thinking as well. My 2nd favourite series on T. V. If you like Criminal Minds or C. S. I, this show is defineitely for you.
  7. Oct 24, 2010
    9
    I really like this show and think it will become a solid hit. Even in the first few shows the cast is clicking and I expect it will improve as they hit their stride. Sure, the Irish cops of New York theme is a little corny - but it also rings true. The ensemble cast has some terrific actors who are already shining - Tom Selleck as the father/chief of police, his father, his son Danny andI really like this show and think it will become a solid hit. Even in the first few shows the cast is clicking and I expect it will improve as they hit their stride. Sure, the Irish cops of New York theme is a little corny - but it also rings true. The ensemble cast has some terrific actors who are already shining - Tom Selleck as the father/chief of police, his father, his son Danny and Danny's wife - I have hopes that the daughter and the youngest son/rookie cop will develop in interesting ways. I'm a little worried that the youngest son's wife will develop into something annoyingly stereotypical, either a preachy liberal Meathead-type character or a whiny rich Housewives type, but so far she's been restrained. With luck the writers will make her character more interesting and nuanced. We intelligent, educated middle-class women deserve to be depicted realistically too. Expand
  8. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    A new police series from the perspective of the on-the-street grunt to the politics of the NYPD Commissioner. Each show, so far, offers cool surprises with its plot twists and turns. Solid performances by a stellar ensemble.
  9. May 24, 2011
    9
    Set in New York, Blue Bloods follows the Reagan family of police officers within the NYPD. Tom Selleck plays the Commissioner, a widow with 4 kids one of whom were informed very early on was killed; Joseph. Donnie Wahlberg excels as Danny, his oldest son is a top NYPD Detective with a somewhat no-holds-barred approach who does not always go by the book. His daughter Erin played by BridgetSet in New York, Blue Bloods follows the Reagan family of police officers within the NYPD. Tom Selleck plays the Commissioner, a widow with 4 kids one of whom were informed very early on was killed; Joseph. Donnie Wahlberg excels as Danny, his oldest son is a top NYPD Detective with a somewhat no-holds-barred approach who does not always go by the book. His daughter Erin played by Bridget Moynahan, is a district attorney who prosecutes the cirminals Danny arrests. Then theres rookie cop Jamie, Will Estes, a recent graduate of the police academy and also a graduate of Harvard Law School. The premise was a great one and Blue Bloods built upon its strong opening to deliver a solid and memorable debut season. The acting is superb but you would expect nothing less with such a stellar cast. Each episode is stand-alone and focuses upon a different case and a fresh dilemma each member of the Reagan clan to face apart from the Blue Templar background story which comes to fruition very early on and teases you right the way throgh to the finale. And with plenty of twists and turns along the way as well as a few surprises thrown in its a winning formula and provides plenty of entertaining tv all the way through to a strong and fitting finale. Blue Bloods has been an awesome addition to the CBS lineup, now for Season 2! Expand
  10. May 16, 2012
    9
    Aside from the killer lineup of characters with background and depth. Ie: Single mom, widowed husband, I kind of miss the family of tv shows that you'd like to know what happens to them. Likewise, a cops family? Who the hell knows about that and where in TV has that been the focus. The family has always been the force- that hasn't changed. This "family" focus is both interesting andAside from the killer lineup of characters with background and depth. Ie: Single mom, widowed husband, I kind of miss the family of tv shows that you'd like to know what happens to them. Likewise, a cops family? Who the hell knows about that and where in TV has that been the focus. The family has always been the force- that hasn't changed. This "family" focus is both interesting and genuinely likable. The power plays of police plaza and city hall join well in a relationship of trust- if it were only that easy! I have hopes for next season. Expand
  11. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    Maybe not the best show in the world,it still worth a watch. The show follows a family of cops.Magnum PI as the father,and police commissioner,some old guy as his dad,who's also a former PC. Then there is the 40 year old Detective son, the Harvard Grad 20 year old, the chick from Longmire as the daughter,and DA,and the wife of the detective. I'm not too far in,maybe 20 episodes,there is 25Maybe not the best show in the world,it still worth a watch. The show follows a family of cops.Magnum PI as the father,and police commissioner,some old guy as his dad,who's also a former PC. Then there is the 40 year old Detective son, the Harvard Grad 20 year old, the chick from Longmire as the daughter,and DA,and the wife of the detective. I'm not too far in,maybe 20 episodes,there is 25 episodes per season, and the case get dull rather quick. Murder, fake 9/11 and gang shooting. But it's still a pretty good show,especially when it's avalible for free o Hulu,at the time of wrighting this. Expand
  12. Sep 24, 2011
    7
    Blue Bloods should have been called: Red, White, and Blue Bloods. We get to see a weekly family gathering of the middle class elite family; we get to see a tough, no nonsense cop (Wahlberg who inexplicably talks Brooklyn-ese while the rest of his family doesn't), roust the bad guys and get to do the obligatory cop show routine of sneering contemptuously at the perps. We get to see hisBlue Bloods should have been called: Red, White, and Blue Bloods. We get to see a weekly family gathering of the middle class elite family; we get to see a tough, no nonsense cop (Wahlberg who inexplicably talks Brooklyn-ese while the rest of his family doesn't), roust the bad guys and get to do the obligatory cop show routine of sneering contemptuously at the perps. We get to see his sister, a Prosecutor, do more detective work than legal work, and some cute kids. In this years opener we get to watch the prosecutor sister try and sweep a murder rap under the carpet in order to not "shame" her best friend. Would she do the same for anybody else? Is she challenged by her upright family? Well in an "aw shucks" way. She dodges a bullet because the new mayor wants the case sanitized way more than she does, and the commissioner father (Tom Selleck with nary a gray hair at age 66; how does he do it?) gives his daughter a by but not the mayor. I guess blood is thicker than water. And they also get to drop in little anti liberal jabs so that we get the message that these guys vote the straight Republican ticket. Expand
  13. Sep 26, 2010
    7
    I wasn't expecting much and was pleasantly surprised. Selleck and Wahlberg were good and everyone else at least competent. Definitely a little old school but well executed The plot was rather standard but holds promise if the writers follow some of the themes that have been introduced. Worth following for a while.
  14. Sep 30, 2010
    7
    Good, solid cop show. Selleck fits the part of a believable patriarch. Good stuff. Typical action, decent story. Love seeing Donnie Wahlberg, strong actor. Hard to really separate this from the average in the genre, but it's very watchable and "comforting." I get the impression this is a show that could take off after a few episodes.
  15. Jan 20, 2011
    7
    This series is beautifully filmed insofar as New York City scenes are concerned. The plots are engaging, while the acting of a couple of the major supporting players is off the charts in two directions. The son played by Donnie Wahlberg is a throwback to pre-PC days. He is completely unreconstructed, so Wahlberg's performance is so without nuance as to be unintentionally comedic. The otherThis series is beautifully filmed insofar as New York City scenes are concerned. The plots are engaging, while the acting of a couple of the major supporting players is off the charts in two directions. The son played by Donnie Wahlberg is a throwback to pre-PC days. He is completely unreconstructed, so Wahlberg's performance is so without nuance as to be unintentionally comedic. The other son, a rookie policeman, left all his personality at the door, phones in his performance, and makes no impression at all. Tom Selleck is consistently excellent, dominating any scene in which he appears. All in all, I have certainly seen worse police series survive, but this one badly needs some crises and themes that move from episode to episode. Collapse
  16. Nov 25, 2010
    4
    The only thing good about this show is that you quickly feel for the characters right from the start. But is that enough to keep the show afloat? I don't think so. The premise is borderline ridiculous - a single NY family consisting of the NY police commissioner, a former NY police commissioner, a DA attorney, a detective, and a beat cop. Oh and they're Irish. Let's be real ok? EveryThe only thing good about this show is that you quickly feel for the characters right from the start. But is that enough to keep the show afloat? I don't think so. The premise is borderline ridiculous - a single NY family consisting of the NY police commissioner, a former NY police commissioner, a DA attorney, a detective, and a beat cop. Oh and they're Irish. Let's be real ok? Every episode is stand-alone. The stories don't require more than one episode to start and finish. Apart from the weak ongoing Blue Templar theme, which in my opinion just doesn't grab the viewer enough to maintain interest in the show. If they don't pick up the pace with the writing, I doubt that the great ensemble of characters and their stellar performances will be enough to keep this show afloat for another season. I'm quickly losing interest. Expand
  17. Sep 24, 2010
    4
    The cast is more than competent, but the stereotypes are heavy enough to flatten the most fawning Selleck groupies. A family of Irish cops (named Reagan, for the love of heaven) who predictably say grace before the Sunday dinner clan gathering. Selleck just naturally has to be a widower so he can be both fatherly and sexy - a younger and hot looking woman is hovering in the wings. ThenThe cast is more than competent, but the stereotypes are heavy enough to flatten the most fawning Selleck groupies. A family of Irish cops (named Reagan, for the love of heaven) who predictably say grace before the Sunday dinner clan gathering. Selleck just naturally has to be a widower so he can be both fatherly and sexy - a younger and hot looking woman is hovering in the wings. Then there's the crusty, lovable grandfather (didn't we do all this last year on NCIS?) and the intense son who must be forgiven his willingness to bash suspects' heads into toilet bowls because - of course - he's an Iraq vet. I was hopeful about this show because of its writers, but really it could have been written by a team of bright high schoolers. One cliche' after another. Expand
  18. Oct 28, 2014
    3
    Ok, I'm not sure who owed who a favor when doing this show, or maybe Mark Wahlberg tried to get his bro Jonny Drama into TV series but I haven't seen that bad of an acting since I think... hmm let me see, Cop Rock ! How come every single sentence written for those guys sounds fake and has nothing to do with reality? Watch The Shield or Chicago P.D. or Law and Order for god sake beforeOk, I'm not sure who owed who a favor when doing this show, or maybe Mark Wahlberg tried to get his bro Jonny Drama into TV series but I haven't seen that bad of an acting since I think... hmm let me see, Cop Rock ! How come every single sentence written for those guys sounds fake and has nothing to do with reality? Watch The Shield or Chicago P.D. or Law and Order for god sake before doing the show next time, pleaaase Expand
  19. Sep 25, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Blue blood, season 1, omg where do i start, tom selleck should be playing the country cop who uses a baseball bat to combat crime,

    donny wolberrg is believable enough in the cop role as usual, his character does not seem to stay much, which is a shame for his acting ability, but this tv series is like a remake of an ole show
    gone bad, come on.... the whole family is running the show, one is being investigated by the DA sure
    enough the next kid will be as well, and that puts the assisant DA in the middle when suddenly tom's
    role will be investigating his daughter the assiatant DA, right? One by one each family member will be part of an investigation, and there will always be some tension about the son who died in uniform,
    tsk tsk, writers are hired too young these days and forgot what we have already seen on the tube or in the movies,

    the best part of this episode is frank sinatra or harry connick jr singing New York New york, i can never tell the difference between the two,

    sorry ole chap but i cant give you any kudo;'s for this role, it is just not believable enuf, your family is getting in our face, and i think we deserve more than that, i can only rate this new series a 2.
    Expand
  20. Jan 18, 2014
    0
    I've always admired Tom Selleck for the kind of characters he's represented throughout his career. Whether it was Sgt. Jack R. Ramsay in 'Runaway' ,Thomas Magnum in 'Magnum P.I.' or Matthew Quigley in 'Quigley Down Under', Mr. Selleck has always portrayed upstanding individuals with high moral standards and had continued that portrayal in the 'Blue Bloods' series. That is, until the end ofI've always admired Tom Selleck for the kind of characters he's represented throughout his career. Whether it was Sgt. Jack R. Ramsay in 'Runaway' ,Thomas Magnum in 'Magnum P.I.' or Matthew Quigley in 'Quigley Down Under', Mr. Selleck has always portrayed upstanding individuals with high moral standards and had continued that portrayal in the 'Blue Bloods' series. That is, until the end of the episode that aired last night, January 17, 2014. Danny Reagan (Donnie Wahlberg) watches as an Army veteran, John Russell (Chad Michael Collinswith) commits suicide by throwing himself off a building. Apparently Mr. Russell is suffering from PTSD due to his two stints in Afghanistan. When asked by his father, Police Commissioner Frank Reagan (Tom Selleck) why he called the suicide an 'accident' in his report, Danny tells the Commissioner that he didn't want Russell's son to know the truth about his father's suicide and Commissioner Reagan concurs. Apparently, the writer of the episode, co-executive producer Siobhan Byrne O'Connor, has decided that it was about time to show the world that even police detectives and commissioners can't be trusted to tell the truth. Very disappointing. Expand
  21. Nov 22, 2014
    0
    First off There's way to much drinking going on in the house, office etc. The father is way to serious. And the idea of an entire family being cops takes away from ever weak story line. Every story starts out ok and ends up falling flat on it's backside. Not one story left me that WoW factor.

    The rookie son has no acting skills. The father,,plain and boring. the daughter should stay
    First off There's way to much drinking going on in the house, office etc. The father is way to serious. And the idea of an entire family being cops takes away from ever weak story line. Every story starts out ok and ends up falling flat on it's backside. Not one story left me that WoW factor.

    The rookie son has no acting skills. The father,,plain and boring. the daughter should stay behind a desk and not interact with anyone. Because she always looks pissed. The other son is to me more of a true life cop. And carries the entire show. But his wife ? She's just plain in the way of the storyline.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. The solid acting performances and the family dynamics contained in Blue Bloods make for an absorbing hour of television.
  2. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Blue Bloods has an old-fashioned appeal both as drama in the vein of a workingman's "Dynasty" and as splashy procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Oct 20, 2010
    50
    There's perhaps the coppiest cop show of the century so far, the soppy and self-satirizing CBS melodrama Blue Bloods, about an entire family--"the Reagans" yet!--involved in the crime biz.