• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 3 out of 67

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    randishaw needs to go back to the grouch couch and get a clue. Blue Bloods is the very first Friday night show to capture and hold my attention in more years than I can count. The acting is phenomenal compared to the majority of shows available today. The old style feel of the show is deliberate, honestly done, and worthy of high praise. I haven't followed a police drama in years due to the continuous need for more and more over-the-top shock value story lines that never connect from week to week, and with characters who never fully materialize into well-rounded, open, and complete human beings. What makes Blue Bloods a standout is that it offers both. You have family drama embedded in cop drama, and the characters' story lines flow from week to week while the story lines of the cop drama side are interesting, timely, and don't have to connect. This is one show I will continue to watch regardless of how many times and ways the day or time of the show is changed. Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    I have to agree with mrbinky on all accounts. CASTING: EXCELLENT!! Bluebloods is a well-written show that not only shows police drama on the streets of NYC, but is developing storyline and characterization. So the family prays before dinner, there are some in the world that still do that, Irish or not. The real meat (no pun intended) is the conversation that takes place regarding the generational issues and differences....again....real life. I've been paying attention, too, to the development of the story regarding the other son's death. There was mention of investigation into the Knights of the Templar by this son. The grandfather, son, and older grandson (Donnie) are pin-wearers. This could make for some interesting family turmoil if something comes out regarding the negative aspects of the deceased son's investigation. I love the show, the acting is stellar, and it's been a long time since I looked forward to actually watching a show. As far as Sinatra and Connick go.....? Seriously? Most people can tell the difference, especially since Frank did the song "New York, New York" in his later years. It's TV growup time for some. The crime lab shows, although they have good acting, and were worth watching in the beginning, are getting monotonous. What's the last movie anyone went to? There isn't anything that hasn't been done. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Blue Bloods is the best new show of the season and after watching several episodes (6), I am hoping that this show lasts for 10 years but no less than 5. Casting and characters are the keys to the success of this show. Tom Selleck is the Chief of Police and Donnie Wahlberg is a kick ass detective. I personally relate to the characters really well because they are Catholic and unlike most TV shows and movies they are honorable characters. In one of the last episodes that I watched the family debated legalizing marijuana and everyone in the family had a different viewpoint. This is such a great relief because in other shows it seems as though the opinions of the characters tend to lean one way or another. This show is different and it is these types of differences that, once heard about will drive the show toward even greater success. The worst problem is the show's time slot which for the past several years was held by Numb3rs (Friday 10 PM). Regardless, the show is in the top 20 for the season and at that time slot that is a big deal.

    If you don't like to watch TV at the time that this show is on - DVR IT!
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This is an usually good prime time network show; nuanced acting, multiple plot layers mixing police drama with an appealing multi-generation extended family and it's stories. It's a keeper.
  5. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This show is just amazing.The plot is great,acting is more than solid,give Donnie Wahlberg at least a nomination already.It is not one of the best,but the best newest television show ever.Please CBS,don't cancel the series.
  6. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This show is class! Donnie Wahlberg is great and some of the crimes are good thinking as well. My 2nd favourite series on T. V. If you like Criminal Minds or C. S. I, this show is defineitely for you.
  7. Oct 24, 2010
    9
    I really like this show and think it will become a solid hit. Even in the first few shows the cast is clicking and I expect it will improve as they hit their stride. Sure, the Irish cops of New York theme is a little corny - but it also rings true. The ensemble cast has some terrific actors who are already shining - Tom Selleck as the father/chief of police, his father, his son Danny and Danny's wife - I have hopes that the daughter and the youngest son/rookie cop will develop in interesting ways. I'm a little worried that the youngest son's wife will develop into something annoyingly stereotypical, either a preachy liberal Meathead-type character or a whiny rich Housewives type, but so far she's been restrained. With luck the writers will make her character more interesting and nuanced. We intelligent, educated middle-class women deserve to be depicted realistically too. Expand
  8. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    A new police series from the perspective of the on-the-street grunt to the politics of the NYPD Commissioner. Each show, so far, offers cool surprises with its plot twists and turns. Solid performances by a stellar ensemble.
  9. May 24, 2011
    9
    Set in New York, Blue Bloods follows the Reagan family of police officers within the NYPD. Tom Selleck plays the Commissioner, a widow with 4 kids one of whom were informed very early on was killed; Joseph. Donnie Wahlberg excels as Danny, his oldest son is a top NYPD Detective with a somewhat no-holds-barred approach who does not always go by the book. His daughter Erin played by Bridget Moynahan, is a district attorney who prosecutes the cirminals Danny arrests. Then theres rookie cop Jamie, Will Estes, a recent graduate of the police academy and also a graduate of Harvard Law School. The premise was a great one and Blue Bloods built upon its strong opening to deliver a solid and memorable debut season. The acting is superb but you would expect nothing less with such a stellar cast. Each episode is stand-alone and focuses upon a different case and a fresh dilemma each member of the Reagan clan to face apart from the Blue Templar background story which comes to fruition very early on and teases you right the way throgh to the finale. And with plenty of twists and turns along the way as well as a few surprises thrown in its a winning formula and provides plenty of entertaining tv all the way through to a strong and fitting finale. Blue Bloods has been an awesome addition to the CBS lineup, now for Season 2! Expand
  10. May 16, 2012
    9
    Aside from the killer lineup of characters with background and depth. Ie: Single mom, widowed husband, I kind of miss the family of tv shows that you'd like to know what happens to them. Likewise, a cops family? Who the hell knows about that and where in TV has that been the focus. The family has always been the force- that hasn't changed. This "family" focus is both interesting and genuinely likable. The power plays of police plaza and city hall join well in a relationship of trust- if it were only that easy! I have hopes for next season. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. The solid acting performances and the family dynamics contained in Blue Bloods make for an absorbing hour of television.
  2. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Blue Bloods has an old-fashioned appeal both as drama in the vein of a workingman's "Dynasty" and as splashy procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Oct 20, 2010
    50
    There's perhaps the coppiest cop show of the century so far, the soppy and self-satirizing CBS melodrama Blue Bloods, about an entire family--"the Reagans" yet!--involved in the crime biz.