Boardwalk Empire : Season 2

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 4, 2011
    100
    It's essential viewing. All of the promise of last season looks to be realized with impressively deft storytelling, beautiful cinematography and impeccable acting.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 21, 2011
    100
    "Men," of course, remains the King of the Emmys, while Empire nailed the equally prestigious Golden Globe for best drama last winter. But Sunday begins to build the case for Empire, and build it convincingly.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 21, 2011
    91
    While there are many extraordinary moments in the new season, there's still enough inconsistency that I'm still waiting for it to become the classic drama it so clearly has the tools to be.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Oct 4, 2011
    90
    Boardwalk Empire is doing what I wish Prohibition had done--it's tempting me to stick around for one more.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 30, 2011
    90
    With season two, the drama has fully come to life, with moments of savagery, hypocrisy, and bittersweet loyalty that make it a must-see show.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 23, 2011
    90
    This is a gorgeous piece of storytelling that requires and rewards patience.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2011
    90
    The show doesn't just go down smoothly; it's good to the last illicit, intoxicating drop.
  8. Reviewed by: Dalton Ross
    Sep 19, 2011
    83
    It's time to pick a side, and I'm on whichever one the dude with half a face chooses.
  9. Reviewed by: Marisa Carroll
    Oct 4, 2011
    80
    The Oedipal quagmire only enhances the political treachery.
  10. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 26, 2011
    80
    Boardwalk Empire loses sight of neither the large nor the small pictures as it moves into season two.
  11. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 30, 2011
    75
    Boardwalk is still solid, but it's sacrificed some of its nervy power. [10 Oct 2011, p.40]
  12. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Sep 26, 2011
    63
    It has the advantage of a veritable galaxy of stars at its disposal, but all that sparkle too often comes together as a gaudy mess.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 340 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    While 1st season was just good and current ~85% score reflects well my opinion, but thanks to 2nd season this series jumps to my my TOP 2While 1st season was just good and current ~85% score reflects well my opinion, but thanks to 2nd season this series jumps to my my TOP 2 favourite tv series (along with Breaking Bad)

    fantastic plot, great GREAT acting, colorful characters. It has simply everything and i cant understand why it is rated so low - even awful TWD season 2 has a better score.

    10+/10.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 10, 2015
    10
    Absolutely masterful, A big improvement on the first season especially in the writers room. The characters take real shape and stir realAbsolutely masterful, A big improvement on the first season especially in the writers room. The characters take real shape and stir real emotions both negative and positive. Two of the supposedly attractive characters in the physical sense, Van Alden and Lucy are so well portrayed as to be totally repulsive. Superb acting. Previous weaknesses such as excessive full frontal nudity and jarring bad language are dialed back to about the right amount. Gillian, Jimmy's mother is outstanding and in one scene so hard to watch I had to fast forward. I mean that as praise. You'll know it when you get to it. The finale is a classic and what I felt to be the weakest character, Nucky himself finally shows what it means to be ruthless. 10/10 Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    Season two of "Boardwalk Empire" is as fantastic as the first one (If not even better; episodes 5-8 are the most amazing stretch of episodesSeason two of "Boardwalk Empire" is as fantastic as the first one (If not even better; episodes 5-8 are the most amazing stretch of episodes I've seen in any show), it is just criminally underrated by upset fans. Full Review »