• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 122

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    Boardwalk Empire is a brilliant show and each season is better than the last. The cinematography is stunning, as well as the sets,costumes and sfx. The acting is top rate, the writing is subtle and nuanced, and the story is unpredictable and dark. This is another winner from HBO, and an amazing TV show overall. The first episode of Season 4 was amazing, and i am sure the rest of the season will be too.The year is 1924, and crime,corruption, and bloodshed has no end in sight in this moody drama. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    This season starts off with some serious violence. Brilliant a show as ever with fascinating characters and an amazing ability to create atmosphere. The show can only continue to get better from here!
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    It's no joke that Boardwalk Empire is a brilliant show with great writing, writing I haven't seen since The Sopranos. This season by far makes up for last in every way. The cinematography is beautiful, character development is spot on, the story is A+. My only concern is that someone shouldn't die every episode, its not needed when you have such good writing. Must watch season and series.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    Fans of Boardwalk Empire can expect more of the same: intriguing and consistently well acted characters, emotionally complex storylines, lavish yet thoroughly authentic sets and a pitch perfect soundtrack. And yet, unlike most other shows where higher expectations force diminishing emotional returns, Boardwalk Empire digs in and ploughs greater emotional depths.
    The entire cast are as
    always top notch, but the slow evolution of all the surviving major characters seems to be reaching a zenith. And if a major character should fall by the wayside you can rest assured that, no matter how brief their story or how unexpected their death may be, the impact will be felt and their loss justified. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    This season Boardwalk Empire are more compelling than ever, great characters, great plot and an hell of a incredible season finale. Season four is not perfect like season three, but still strong and spectacular.
  6. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    Es la temporada que ha ganado en complejidad argumental y emocional. Es cierto que ha perdido algo de ese Boom que lo caracteriza, pero aun asi esta temporada es mejor que la tercera temporada, una trama mejor elaborada y personajes como Eli, Chalkie y en especial el carismatico Richard toman mas protagonismo en esta temporada y lo hacen tan genial.
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollo y mi votación es de 9. Un saludo.
  8. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    When I saw this tv show it blew my mind because the rest of them at the are garbage. My best advice to you is to buckle up and enjoy it while it last.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 3, 2013
    63
    Hardcore fans will appreciate the interwoven, intricate storylines, and what the show lacks in “oomph” is partly compensated for by terrific cinematography and solid acting. For diehards only.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    It’s an ambitious work that is always fascinating, if not always successful. When all is said and done, Boardwalk Empire may be TV’s best uneven series.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 11, 2013
    80
    Boardwalk Empire keeps the players moving as its fourth season begins Sunday night, and that’s just one reason it remains must-see television drama.