• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2014
    8
    The first episode was epic everything I loved about boardwalk empire and looks like this season is gonna be great everything is gonna go out with a bang
  2. Sep 11, 2014
    9
    Have loved this show from its inception. Despite how good it was in S1, it continues to evolve and get better with each season (Seasons 3 and 4 being off the charts fantastic).The premier episode of S5 gives every indication the writers have not missed a beat. Boardwalk has got to be one of the most critically underappreciated shows to come along in quite some time. Writing, acting, pacing, visually stunning snapshot of the era, it has it all. I perhaps have not looked this forward to a shows final dozen or so episodes since Breaking Bad and The Wire. Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    Just finished watching the season 5 premiere and, wow, it looks marvelous. The show has not lost any of its beauty, grand scope, and charm. Pity there are only 7 episodes of this masterpiece show remaining.
  4. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    The must under-appreciated show on television, the visuals are stunning and the acting is always on point. I remain convinced that the cinematography is the best I have ever seen on television, and I hope the show some day achieves the mainstream success it deserves.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 5, 2014
    70
    There are still pleasures to be found in Boardwalk Empire, but it's definitely time to wrap--and enjoy a good stiff drink as a reward.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Von Doviak
    Sep 5, 2014
    83
    As a technically proficient piece of visual storytelling, Boardwalk continues to excel.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 5, 2014
    75
    Boardwalk shows no signs of losing its identity. All signs point to a bloody proper finish.