• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 9, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Bob's Burgers Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Belcher family runs a hamburger restaurant in this animated comedy created by Loren Bouchard.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Jan 6, 2011
    91
    This is one tasty meal.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 4, 2011
    80
    An unexpectedly amusing comedy meal.
  3. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Jan 6, 2011
    75
    As with any fast food, the bulk of Bob's Burgers is pleasant filler. You'll probably be too tired to switch the channel after "The Simpsons," so you might as well lay there and enjoy it.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 10, 2011
    50
    When Bob's Burgers gets rolling and hints at the smarts that made Home Movies and Dr. Katz so good, it only makes you long for a distancing on the inane, easy-joke riffs that try to be "edgy."
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 9, 2011
    42
    The deadpan deliveries of its principal characters can be very moderately amusing at times. But in the end, you probably won't want fries with this one.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 7, 2011
    40
    Being tasteless doesn't mean Bob's Burgers is completely devoid of flavor, but the show too often falls on the wrong side of that "entertaining"/"annoying" divide.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 7, 2011
    0
    This crudely mean-spirited cringe of a show isn't even medium well-done, and here's this customer's tip: Avoid at all costs.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 66
  2. Negative: 18 out of 66
  1. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Its funny how all the negative reviews on this show are from people that think family guy is funny. Family Guy , after its original run, has been one of the worst shows on television but gets off by making a bunch of 14 year olds laugh at gay and fart jokes. Bob's Burger's was absolutely hilarious, its strongest point being the voice actors. I can see why Family Guy fans hate the show so much though, because no ones getting hit in the face or falling down stairs and you actually have to have some intelligence to understand the jokes, its not just some fat guy rattling off obnoxious dribble and slapstick humor. And don't think I'm just a Family Guy hater, the show was hilarious and one of my favorites during its original run. Then Seth Mcfarlane stopped actually writing for the show to work on American Dad(good) and The Cleveland Show(absolute garbage) and it went completely downhill. Bob's Burger's is Fox's funniest show since Futurama, let's just hope it doesn't end up with the same fate. On the other hand...it could probably be even better if Comedy Central picked it up. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    When I first saw the commercials for the show I asked my roommates "How many weeks before it gets canceled?". After actually watching the show I fully take back that statement! The writing is good and the voice acting is great! I will admit it's probably not the best show on TV, but it really fits my tastes, and I KNOW there are definitely worse shows on the air *cough* The Cleveland Show *cough* Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2011
    9
    In short, Bob's Burgers harkens back to perhaps the original Simpsons, when it was a show about a family coping and working together despite their own differences to get through the day, rather than relying on guest stars, pop culture, and retro "I remember that!" references to make a show. Is it on the right network for this though? Definitely not. For starters I was a huge fan of Home Movies, and when I first heard part of the Home Movies crowd was making a show for Fox, there were two things that went through my head: A: This will completely suck because they'll have to stoop down to the Family Guy level and make it rife with pop culture references and potty jokes, or B: It'll be good and get cancelled after a season (if they're lucky to last that long).

    The show is very much of a fusion of Home Movies (whose humor focused more on the awkwardness of everyday life) mixed with the crassness seen on many of the other Fox shows (which seems to be the shows main draw), but nixes the cheap shots of involving current events, stars, and 80s retro memories to instead come up with its own material to make a show.

    Bob is a refreshing animated father figure who doesn't suffer from HomerSimpsonitis, where he's the family idiot, much like Peter from Family Guy, but instead is fully functioning family member who is trying to make ends meet while raising his family with his wife (who isn't a Marge or Lois), but rather another human with foibles who is very much Bob's partner.

    The children are demented and almost the sole source of the shows vulgarity. Louise enjoys messing with people, Gene is a boy infatuated with potty humour, and Tina is the awkward teen who is perhaps a bit slow. Being forced to help out with the family restaurant, the three siblings make the best of turning work into play, much to hilarious results.
    Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    This show had a rough start, especially in reviews & ratings, but this is one of those shows that gets much better as it progresses. Bob's Burgers features some bizarre, but great characters as well as some random but well pulled off episode plots. The humor in this show is clear to be seen, and fits into the animated Fox lineup perfectly. This show has actually become quite a gem & even has episodes that are even better than some episodes of Family Guy. If you haven't already or you thought it was kinda tasteless at first, I'd highly recommend giving it another shot. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2011
    5
    Well upon viewing of the show, it certainly has potential and had its moments just I don't know if it will be enough for the core audience of sunday night fox viewers, that is to say family guy fans, who need it to be easy and formulaic. The show has to great comedians in H Jon Benjamin and Kristin Schaal, but Eugene Mirman is just one comic I want to destroy!!! I ask you readers give this show a few more chances otherwise it will end up on Adult Swim or FX where it would certainly be a hit...wait that's not so bad! Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2012
    3
    The animation is just so saturday morning. When you see it next to The Simpsons or Family Guy it just looks like someone's kid is doing the animation in the garage. Kind of hit and miss. Some of the episodes are funny and then the next is dull. Expand
  7. Jan 30, 2011
    0
    This show is god awful. When the commercials started playing on FOX, I knew it would suck. For some reason, I watched it. I was thinking it could surprise me and be a mediocre FOX show. I was wrong about that. It was not just bad, it was very bad. It was one of the worst things I've ever seen in my life. The show isn't that well written, the characters are flat, and it's not funny in any way. To make a long story short, Bob's Burgers is rancid and should be canned Expand

See all 66 User Reviews