• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 22, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. 80
    There are so many background jokes and one-liners and silly animals that the show's emotional depth caught me by surprise.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Aug 25, 2014
    80
    Like some of television’s more out-there animated shows, this one is hard to describe beyond broad outlines, because it’s so odd, a combination of droll and naughty that seems improbable but works deliciously.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 22, 2014
    80
    BoJack is perhaps a little more clever than it is uproariously funny, but it is often very clever, and, moreover, well-tuned to the ludicrousness of the sort of low-level fame that surrounds BoJack.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    Aug 15, 2014
    75
    BoJack hits funny bones hardest when it loads up on background gags--for example, the fact every character has a terrible ringtone provides surprisingly rich humor as the six episodes advance. [22/29 Aug 2014, p.100]
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Aug 22, 2014
    70
    A strange and somewhat delightful animated comedy.
  6. Reviewed by: Marlow Stern
    Aug 22, 2014
    70
    Some jokes fall flat, a few scenarios seem uninspired, and Arnett’s horse does seem strikingly similar to his hilarious man-child/magician Gob in Arrested Development, but this bizarre dreamscape where humans and anthropomorphic animals commingle and cohabitate is filled with promise, providing a fun, delightfully gonzo take on Hollyweird.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 530 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 530
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    I went into this series expecting very little, only to find something unexpectedly hilarious. Hilarious, and sometimes quite deep, too.I went into this series expecting very little, only to find something unexpectedly hilarious. Hilarious, and sometimes quite deep, too. BoJack Horseman is one of those rare series that mixes complete irreverence with the occasional deep meaningful insight. It's a hard mix to pull off, but the show does it quite well.

    Now I won't lie, this isn't the firecracker joke-every-minute type of series. Sometimes it takes a little bit of time to set up the humor, but the payoff is definitely worth it. The first episode in particular took about 10 minutes to really get fully into gear, but once it had established the setting and the setup it got very funny very fast. The jokes are rather funny, but more than that they're sometimes bitingly funny and dark. If that's your kind of humor, this show will deliver, especially since so few shows seem to have that kind of humor.

    Another thing BoJack does which few others do is maintain continuity, and usually does so for maximum comedic effect. What would normally be a dumb throw-away joke in another series becomes something that pops up in later episodes, repeatedly in many cases. It allows the show to establish several running jokes, most that only get funnier as they go on.

    Probably the biggest surprise for me though were the number of moments when the show got "deep", for lack of a better term. Insightful, meaningful moments... and most of the time still funny as well. The show's not afraid to have dramatic moments (nothing too downer though), and the contrast often makes the humor that much better.

    Overall, BoJack Horseman took me by surprise in the best of ways. It is without a doubt one of the funniest animated shows that I've ever watched. There are some funnier shows out there at the moment, but that doesn't make this one any less outstanding. If you like dark, sometimes bleak, often biting humor then you should watch this show.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 26, 2014
    0
    This is not even remotely funny. I only watched the first episode, but if you can't pull in people within the first episode I think that's aThis is not even remotely funny. I only watched the first episode, but if you can't pull in people within the first episode I think that's a problem. For comparison purposes I do enjoy shows that are actually funny and they can have just as ridiculous of a premise as BoJack Horseman. Aqua Teen Hunger Force is one of my favorite shows, but unless it miraculously gets better in episode 2 I'd steer clear. Full Review »
  3. Sep 12, 2014
    0
    Just awful writing. Even if it does get better after the first few episodes, how anyone could put themselves through that kind of punishmentJust awful writing. Even if it does get better after the first few episodes, how anyone could put themselves through that kind of punishment is beyond me. Full Review »