• Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 21, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 19, 2011
    100
    When you have a story as thoroughly involving as this one, evoking both "King Lear" and "Citizen Kane," and when the performances are this good, Boss almost directs itself.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 19, 2011
    100
    Starz has its channel-defining series in Boss, a wholly impressive new drama that comes out of the gate with gravitas, swagger, originality and intrigue.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 20, 2011
    91
    The Gus Vant Sant-directed pilot of what is easily the most important project in Starz history pulses with the sort of corruption that absolute power sires.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 20, 2011
    91
    Grammer's performance is thoroughly engaging and convincing. And the events swirling around him never fail to snap, crackle and pop.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    91
    The script is tight and ambitious, as it attempts to anatomize corruption in the big city.
  6. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 21, 2011
    90
    Onto this short list of tightly written and intensely acted thrillers now comes Boss.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Oct 21, 2011
    90
    Even at its worst, Boss radiates intelligence and toughness, and an appreciation of politics as a nonstop performance in an unscripted drama.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 21, 2011
    90
    TV viewers who watch Boss probably won't be disappointed and even those who are wary of latching onto a new series have reason to give the show a chance.
  9. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 20, 2011
    90
    Starz' new eight-episode drama is at once the most cynical and most captivating portrayal of American politics ever presented on television.
  10. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 14, 2011
    88
    The cable network's political drama even has my vote for the best new show of the season.
  11. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 14, 2011
    88
    The show's many subplots are handled clumsily, but these two [Grammer & Nielsen] are too good to pass up. 25 Oct 2011, p.48]
  12. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 20, 2011
    83
    While Boss is a very promising drama with a great lead performance, it might be better off easing up a bit and just letting viewers appreciate Grammer's career-redefining work.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Great show worth watching, it may not be perfect or as good as Breaking Bad or Homeland, but compared to most other shows on other networks this is bounds and leaps ahead of them, I'd say this year Homeland, The Killing and Boss are the best new shows on TV. Full Review »
  2. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    I'm very much impressed. Homeland was my favorite this year - before I've started watching The Boss, and now the tale from Chicago has me among it's most avid fans. I didn't expect such level of artistry from the Starz, the channel that was peddling T & A in "historical" settings, it's a very pleasant surprise. Full Review »
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    Boss unlike most shows this season doesnâ