• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 21, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Boss Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tom Kane (Kelsey Grammer) is a powerful Chicago mayor who keeps his brain disorder secret from everyone.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 19, 2011
    100
    When you have a story as thoroughly involving as this one, evoking both "King Lear" and "Citizen Kane," and when the performances are this good, Boss almost directs itself.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 20, 2011
    91
    Grammer's performance is thoroughly engaging and convincing. And the events swirling around him never fail to snap, crackle and pop.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Oct 21, 2011
    90
    Even at its worst, Boss radiates intelligence and toughness, and an appreciation of politics as a nonstop performance in an unscripted drama.
  4. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Oct 21, 2011
    80
    Boss is electric with self-importance, and that is in itself is a hoot, given its particular combination of thematic pomp and expressionistic pulp.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 20, 2011
    75
    Lots of the characterizations work wonderfully, and the acting is fantastic.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 21, 2011
    60
    Ultimately, this is an easier show to admire than it is to recommend.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 21, 2011
    58
    Boss works hard to resist the usual "this is how we do things in Chicago" nonsense and dutifully aims for a somewhat "Wire"-esque believability. Yet it can also feel like a burden to watch.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Great show worth watching, it may not be perfect or as good as Breaking Bad or Homeland, but compared to most other shows on other networks this is bounds and leaps ahead of them, I'd say this year Homeland, The Killing and Boss are the best new shows on TV. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Amazing show! I hadn't even heard of it until I saw Grammer win the Globe for best actor in a tv drama. Too bad this is on Starz and hence the limited audience. If this was on Showtime or HBO, there would be much more fanfare associated with the show. I watch quite a bit of TV and keep up with a lot of shows and somehow, I hadn't even heard of this. Thank goodness they greenlit a second season even before the premiere aired. Hopefully ratings will be better in S2 because I can't wait too see what happens with Tom Kane and everyone else down the road. The acting is great and it's produced and written very well. It is however, very dark and cynical. It's probably one of the most cynical shows I've ever seen...but if you like real dramas...this show's got it in spades. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Grammer is stunning in this new drama. The story is incredibly complex and intriguing, and it keeps the viewer wanting to see more. It looks like Starz has already ordered a 10 episode second season due to such an overwhelming positive response from critics. After one episode, I am addicted already. I am praying that this show takes off with viewers just as well as it has with critics. Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2014
    9
    I think the continuous plot twists keep the viewer fully engaged in the plot.
    The problem, as other people have mentioned, is that none of
    the characters seem to be completely trustworthy. Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Unbelievably good and it's all due to Grammer who is absolutely riveting as the brilliant/corrupt/evil mayor of Chicago. Chicago is almost too small a venue for this show. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    Grammer is amazing and the insightful look into Chicago politics is thrilling but what's missing is a sense of fun. If some of the characters smiled and cracked a joke once in a while the show would be near perfect. Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2011
    4
    I'm not getting it. It seems like something we've ALL seen before. Starz is probably hoping this a winner. I will continue watching, but I'm not a fan. Collapse

See all 26 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  2. 2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2011
    Get a complete list of film and television nominees for the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards.
  3. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.