• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 28, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 34
  2. Negative: 17 out of 34

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Awesome! A travel into the weird, entertaining consciousness that is Russell Brand.

    It's chaotic, action-filled and I wasn't bored for a second, haven't seen the whole 2nd season yet, but watching it step by step!
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    3
    I wanted, really wanted to like this show. Even with subtitles, I had a hard time following him. It was uncomfortable at times especially when he uses the audience for his own amusement. He does have a great mind but needs to think at least a couple seconds before he speaks, (I know of whence I speak). The idea of riffing on current events is a great one but he goes off in so many directions, his narrative or point (if you can find one) is just not funny. FX-come on, rein him in or just not renew. I tried I really did. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This show is absolutely amazing! I wish I had found it sooner and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it will survive for many seasons to come. Russell Brand truly is a comedic Genius!! If you like comedic awkwardness you will love this show.
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This show is brilliant!!! It makes you seriously think about various aspects of society whilst simultaneously being hilarious. Russell is doing great!
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    First of all, if you're not yet familiar with Russell's overall sense of humor then give it a while to grow on you. You might confuse initial shock value for disgust at first but it's easy to say his style is an acquired taste. Now onto the actual review: I'm usually a fan of Brand's raunchy & spontaneous sense of humor, and this is for the most part no exception. However, I think I should get my gripes out of the way now, the main one being Matt, the BORING political statistical commentator sitting next to him during the "news" segments. The job itself could have some potential; a guy to relay the news to Brand while also engaging in some witty banter. The problem is that from what I've seen, Matt has no comedic personality and practically kills any momentum that Brand tries to get going, at times turning Brand X into more of a boring educational show than an edgy comedy one. And even when what Matt says generates some good material, he still later tries to negate any funny yet outlandish claims that Russell makes. I think a better idea would've been to get a different comedian each week to do the job Matt is doing, but actually contribute positively to the show's comedy aspect. Russell works very well with "the straight man", as shown in his audience interaction segments and some of his most prominent movie roles, but Matt takes it to a level where possible material is minimized. On a more positive note, Brand's take on bizarre news stories is very sharp and witty, and I found myself laughing multiple times throughout the show. I love that he tackles more obscure "news" stories, rather than just picking the most obvious popular cultural events that talk show hosts have pretty much already got covered. It's kinda like Jay Leno's Headlines but more funny, drawn-out and sex-based. The audience interaction segments were also quite entertaining. Brand is really good at working off of various audience members, especially if they're willing to play along by actually answering any given question he asks them. The audience-polling devices in each member's seat were also a nice touch. At one point he started bringing celebrity guests onto the show, and personally I don't think Brand's style really works in a traditional talk-show format unless he's the one being interviewed. It tends to get really boring really fast. Now I'm not saying that I always want comedy all the time in every show I see, but Metta World Peace talking about the psychiatric mindset of the Aurora shooter isn't exactly why I'd tune in to a Russell Brand show. Like with Matt, it just kills the vibe/momentum. I'd find myself fast forwarding through minute after minute without a single laugh to be found. Maybe it'd work better if he just invited comedians on for that. One last thing to note is that while Brand's morals can be less than "decent", there's still sometimes a bit of a lesson/moral at the end of an episode. Sometimes it works quite naturally but at other times it can seem forced and a little hypocritical. All in all I think this show is pretty entertaining & has a lot of potential. It could just use some tweaking & refinement. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    People expected a stand up comedy show but its a show where he talks about world issues or interesting headlines and speaks about the issue gives opinions and lets the audience speak about it something like conan but less boring haha!
  7. Aug 2, 2012
    5
    Coming unto this show, I knew little about Russell Brand, I didn't know if I was in for a treat or a disappointing. And as most people who have reviewed this would tell you.THIS SHOW SUCKS. And the reason for this is, Russell Brand is not funny and has no business starring on his show.
  8. Jul 19, 2012
    3
    The thing with Russel Brand is he is very witty, intelligent for today's standards I suppose, and seems to work well with observational humor, and the show consists of him rambling about anything so there aren't any set jokes or formulaic opportunites. But he goes about it in such a pretentious & contrived way it's very hard to laugh at his jokes even if they are funny simply because he is very hard to genuinely like as a comedian. Similar to Jay Leno, this man is trying so hard to be loved, but his likability always seems like a gimmic no matter how sincere it comes off to be. The show is essentially a way for viewers to explore what's in Russel Brand's head, and frankly I'm not interested in exploring Russel Brand's views on the world, let alone Russel Brand himself. I watched 3 episodes and never laughed, I really tried, but I couldn't do it. This is the only substandard show on FX. Expand
  9. Jul 15, 2012
    7
    It's definitely not for everyone, and has some pretty big issues. But I find myself entertained by it. Russell Brand brings the laughs and some surprisingly insightful comments. I do feel that he interrupts Matthew Stoller a little to much, so I really don't see why he is even on the show. And whatever is going on with the mice thing is a little dumb. But it keeps me entertained and laughing, so I'm going to continue to watch it. And if I feel I need to I will update my review and score after I watch more episodes. For now it's good but not great. And it's got room for improvement, but it's ultimately worth your time if your looking to laugh. Expand
  10. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    Love this show! If only we could get this type of intelligent, insightful, entertaining show into main street media to help in the fight against the deliberate dumbing down of humankind! Look forward to the show every week.!
  11. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    Before I watched this show, I have not been terribly impressed with Brand. However, each episode of this series has me laughing exponentially more. Brand literally leaps around the stage, which combined with his quick, witty interactions with audience members leaves me wishing the show was longer. Do yourself a favor and judge this show for yourself, don't shy away because of the extreme 0 ratings from other users. The show is quick, witty, and just the right amount of edginess. Eagerly awaiting next Thursday. Expand
  12. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    I didn't expect to like Russell Brand the first time I watched an interview, but I did, very much. His humor is of an intelligent 'brand', and he's so quick and witty and informed. Others may not appreciate him since it takes some knowledge of world affairs and deeper subjects thrown in. I hate to make comparisons, since he's one of a kind, but the closest in my mind is Robin Williams, such a brilliant and insightful mind. I honestly like him much more in stand up and interviews, you just have to try to keep up and be appreciative of his broad knowledge of his subjects, something our fast-forward generation may not be. He's refreshingly funny and doesn't rely as much on immature genitalia jokes as some other newer comedians. That gets old pretty fast. I'll be watching - got a season pass! Collapse
  13. Jul 6, 2012
    5
    I don't know if Russell Brand gonna survive in the ratings for his new FX late-night talk show, but I hope he's feeling worried about then-girlfriend Katy Perry rather than focusing on movies. So I think FX doesn't have to be like this. But just like TBS did with Lopez Tonight (since it was cancelled due to low ratings) last year, but I hope this show should be on the TV Death Watch list and pretty soon he'll be on the chopping block. Expand
  14. Jul 5, 2012
    0
    I watched this show, the first episode, and wow. I ended up fast forwarding through a few of his jokes. They are slow, not funny, and the whole show feels just, boring. Not what it is suppose to do and keep me entertained. I have nothing against Brand, he has been funny at times, but he just doesn't do stand up in a show setting very well.
  15. Jul 4, 2012
    4
    Let me start by saying I was a HUGE fan of Ponderland (strongly recommend anyone check it out if you haven't seen it) and think Russell is a talented stand up comedian. However, the premiere of Brand X was very disappointing. I do think it has promise though. The way the premiere was structured didn't allow Russell enough room to go on observational tangents, which is where he shines. It was just boring.

    It will be interesting to see how the show progresses though.
    Expand
  16. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    Sure it wasn't gut bustingly hilarious, but it definitely had a its funny moments, and it shows that Russell Brand is a witty quick thinker who has some surprisingly insightful thoughts on what's happening around the world. It's not a great show, but I personally found it worth my time (and to be much better than FX's other new show - Anger Management). I probably won't watch this show on a regular basis, but if I catch it while it's on, I'll definitely watch it. Expand
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Jun 29, 2012
    50
    Some of it was compelling and some of it tedious.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 29, 2012
    40
    The result is not all that funny but more interesting than what most stand-up TV programs deliver.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Wallenstein
    Jun 29, 2012
    40
    Brand X works when Brand doesn't force himself to play with the trappings of the show and he just sticks to the monologue.