• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 20, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1496 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Walter (Bryan Cranston) and his friend Jesse (Aaron Paul) find their drug dealing threatened by Walt's DEA Brother-in-law and the local druglord.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    100
    For all its bleakness and darkness, there's a glowing exhilaration about this series: It's a feel-good show about feeling really bad.
  2. The first three episodes of Season 2 that AMC sent out continue that level of achievement with no evident missteps.
  3. Reviewed by: Sarah Hentges
    90
    Again, Breaking Bad promises to be quite a ride.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    80
    It's a mildly unsettling mentality, to be sure, but thus far Bad's mercurial formula adds up to one really good trip.
  5. Bryan Cranston's Walter remains one of the best-played characters on television, and he's surrounded by a strong cast that, knowingly or unknowingly, plays off his desperation.
  6. A drama on the order of "The Sopranos" or "The Shield," it's not about things--and people--getting better so much as it is about the struggle for survival. And like "Weeds," it's a show that might, if anything, have a little too much to say about the times in which we live.
  7. 63
    The rest of Breaking Bad doesn’t consistently reach the level of Cranston’s performance. But for some, his depiction of Walt’s earnest desperation may be enough.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 85
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 85
  3. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. RoniJ.
    Apr 13, 2009
    10
    Hands down the best television on television. The writing and acting never cease to astonish, amaze, delight, intrigue, and captivate. The Hands down the best television on television. The writing and acting never cease to astonish, amaze, delight, intrigue, and captivate. The camera work is cinema-worthy. The casting brilliant. I could watch each episode three times, and have done so with Season 1, and still be held in thrall by the excellence of this series on every level. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    You cannot predict Breaking Bad... it's impossible. Actually, I've just told a lie, and for that I apologize. You can predict Breaking Bad; inYou cannot predict Breaking Bad... it's impossible. Actually, I've just told a lie, and for that I apologize. You can predict Breaking Bad; in fact Breaking Bad is so predictable it's embarrassing. Before any given episode has started you can safely predict that what you are about to see is 45 minutes of television that is, in this reviewers opinion, faultless. 45 minutes of outrageous situation comedy with hilarious consequences, 45 minutes of gut wrenching and heart felt emotional drama, 45 minutes of impeccable acting from its two leads, who's on-screen chemistry (excuse the pun) has garnered them with a total of 4 Emmy's, and 45 minutes (im about to come back full circle here) of impossible to predict story lines that make the twists and turns in shows like Lost and Fringe genuinely feel like amateur hour. Season 2 doesn't let up for one second. There is no 'filler' here, none whatsoever. And in all honesty, hand on heart, having thought it through thoroughly, looked back at my favourite (almost immoveable) series from shows that are close to my heart, I might have to declare Breaking Bad season 2 as the best season of a tv show I have seen to date. I know that's a bold statement, but having sat through all 13 exquisitely put together episodes, it just makes sense to have that opinion, it really does. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    it's just crazy how they can keep making this masterpiece of a show. This is better than any other show; even on pay channels like HBO andit's just crazy how they can keep making this masterpiece of a show. This is better than any other show; even on pay channels like HBO and what not. It's just mind bottling how good it is. It's very difficult to explain just how great this tv show is. If you have doubts and don't like watching for free on the net, then just stop, go to the nearest place that sells box sets, and buy at least season 1. And I assure you that you will not be disappointed. You will go out and buy season 2, and maybe even season 3 right away. Believe me, it gets better and better. The drama, suspense, and your "Holy $#!%" counter will go up more and more after each season. Please take my word and watch it. It makes me so anxious for the next episode to air. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    Breaking Bad continues to get better with each passing season and the first season started out at 100% amazing. This is a work of art and isBreaking Bad continues to get better with each passing season and the first season started out at 100% amazing. This is a work of art and is the best tv show to hit the world yet! Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    The show becomes better as each episode comes: electrifying acting, amazing story telling, and so unpredictable every scene will likely shockThe show becomes better as each episode comes: electrifying acting, amazing story telling, and so unpredictable every scene will likely shock you. It is flawless, from beginning to end. Vince Gilligan has created a masterpiece of television, and Bryan Cranston of television acting. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    This season explores many more aspects of the characters and their relationships with each other. We also get more in depth with the industryThis season explores many more aspects of the characters and their relationships with each other. We also get more in depth with the industry Walt & Jesse are working in. The thrills come from surprises, and especially towards the end of this season starts to hit the fan much sooner than expected. Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    You get the sense that Breaking Bad is still finding it's feet during season 2. We begin to get more from our characters as Breaking Bad'sYou get the sense that Breaking Bad is still finding it's feet during season 2. We begin to get more from our characters as Breaking Bad's story gets a bit more interesting. It does still have the ability though, to stall at times, just like it did during it's debut season. These few dips in quality throughout deny it the opportunity to thoroughly grip us. However, Walter White begins to show more menace, making season 3 an enticing prospect. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: August 25, 2014
    Find a list of this year's Emmy winners, see how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be, and read reviews of the broadcast (including an assessment of Seth Meyers as host).
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. Television Critics Announce 2014 TCA Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2014 TCA Award Winners Image
    Published: July 20, 2014
    Find a complete list of winners of the 2014 TCA Awards, handed out to the best in the year's television shows and actors by a group of over 200 TV critics and print journalists.
  4. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  5. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  6. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  7. Episode Review: Breaking Bad Series Finale

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad Series Finale Image
    Published: September 29, 2013
    One of television's all-time greatest dramas concluded its five-season run on Sunday night with one final episode. Did Breaking Bad go out on a high note? Find out what critics thought of "Felina," and give us your take.
  8. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Granite State"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 23, 2013
    What did TV critics think about Breaking Bad's penultimate episode? Find out inside.
  9. 2013 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2013 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    Get a list of this year's Emmy winners, find out which experts made the most accurate predictions, and read reviews of host Neil Patrick Harris and the Emmy broadcast from a variety of TV critics.
  10. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Ozymandias"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 15, 2013
    Does episode 514 live up to its advance billing as Breaking Bad's best episode yet? Find out what critics are saying about "Ozymandias" inside.
  11. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "To'hajiilee"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 8, 2013
    Find out what critics think of this week's ultra-intense episode of Breaking Bad's final season, and give us your rating of the episode.
  12. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Rabid Dog"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 1, 2013
    Find out what critics think of the fourth episode of Breaking Bad's final half season, and give us your take as well.
  13. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Confessions"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 26, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about this week's episode of Breaking Bad, and give us your rating.
  14. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Buried"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 18, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about this week's episode of Breaking Bad, and rate the episode yourself.
  15. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Blood Money"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 11, 2013
    Breaking Bad's final season has begun. Find out what critics thought of the season premiere, and add your own rating for the episode.
  16. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  17. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012 Image
    Published: January 8, 2013
    After weeks of voting, we finally have the results of our annual poll. Find out which movies, games, TV shows, albums, and songs ranked among our users' favorites (as well as the most overrated) of 2012.
  18. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  19. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  20. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  21. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  22. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  23. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  24. Episode Review: Breaking Bad Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: October 10, 2011
    What do TV writers think of last night's explosive season finale of "Breaking Bad"? Find out inside, where we have collected reviews from over two dozen critics.
  25. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  26. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  27. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  28. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  29. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  30. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.