Breaking Bad : Season 4

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 20, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
9.5

Universal acclaim- based on 2138 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    One of the best TV shows of the past 10 years! Well written, directed and the acting is phenomenal. I do not understand the people that say the acing or writing is bad to mediocre. Also, yeah the plot is complex. That isn't a bad thing, maybe if you don't understand it, it is because you are not that intelligent.
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    Another great season of Breaking Bad, though the first season where I saw any real flaws. In the first three seasons, Breaking Bad felt more like a movie or mini-series - like something which would be just long enough for the story to be as beautiful as possible. In this season, I felt like it had finally become a 'tv show.' Some of the subplots frankly seemed superfluous (though IAnother great season of Breaking Bad, though the first season where I saw any real flaws. In the first three seasons, Breaking Bad felt more like a movie or mini-series - like something which would be just long enough for the story to be as beautiful as possible. In this season, I felt like it had finally become a 'tv show.' Some of the subplots frankly seemed superfluous (though I personally liked most of the Skyler stuff - and we shouldn't forget that some of what seemed unnecessary at first glance, turned out to be important later on, e.g. for that great moment at the end of "Crawl Space"). As a whole, I didn't think this season came together as well as any of the other ones, and I also think it had some of the series worst episodes (especially episode 2 "Thirty Eight Snub"). Then again, it was also home to some of the series best acting (to say that Giancarlo Esposito deserves an emmy for his role this year is not enough). Gus was finally developed into a multi-dimensional character to a degree I thought impossible, and Walt, Skyler, and even Walter Jr. were also given some new dimensions. The season did start off slow, but it had to. Breaking Bad doesn't forget its past - nothing can just disappear, unless something else can logically take its place and make its characters (and us) forget it (I think of Grey Matter here, but there are other examples). After season 3, breaking bad couldn't just start afresh, and it realistically needed to take time to move on. But patience paid off. Along with episode 1, the last five episodes, together and by themselves, were some of the greatest moments in Breaking Bad history, and I personally think that the pivotal moment in "Salud" was one of the best scences even in TV history. On that vein, I think it is helpful to think of Breaking Bad as more of a mini-series than a TV show. Its individual episodes aren't necessarily supposed to be rated alone. Sleepier episodes pave the ground for some truly amazing cinematic moments, without fail. Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This particular season was the best season of any show I have ever seen. The acting is phenomenal. The story is heart pounding. If you have never seen this show, the first three seasons are on Netflix. I'm sure they will put the fourth season on there by summer or it may be on demand. Trust me, it is worth catching up even though there is only sixteen episodes left of the series.
  4. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    The best show on TV for a reason. The acting is great, The plot has been perfect this season, and the show ended the season on a high note that leaves me shaking with anticipation for the next (and final) season.
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    The tension of this season is so amazing. Every episode is so gripping, that I must admidt, that I watched this season on one day. The final of the season is the highlight (last 3 episodes).
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Could be the best season yet. Acting is top notch, the locations are beautiful, the directing and cinematography is the best I've ever seen.Highly recommend this show
  7. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    Eh, this season isn't as good as the ones before it. The show is still good and all, but it's starting to take more and more implausible turns that begin to ruin the show. The acting and writing is still great, but the more of a jerk Walter becomes, the harder it becomes to watch.
  8. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Probably the best season of television I have ever seen!! It may even beat all movies I've seen too. Walt keeps getting further and further out there. The old man's face is priceless in the final scene between him and Gus. Bing, Bing Bing!! Love It! Expand
  9. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Sensational season for the best show in the history of dramas. The producer/director Vince Gilligan always keeps realism in mind and mixes it with beautiful visuals. Vince is simply as good as one can get. All I have to say is "don't mess with him, ****
  10. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    Here we go back to the perfection, although Jesse and Walt start making unreal things and there seem to be some minor tech issues. Very intriguing season and amazing final, which reminds us back to an easter egg encountered before.
  11. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    I shall never underestimate this show again. I gave up this season after two episodes because they were inferior to the season 3 premiere. I felt that the show had no direction anymore, and assumed they were exploiting the success of the previous seasons and biding their time. I came back only after watching several other shows. Things gradually get interesting, and then some more, until II shall never underestimate this show again. I gave up this season after two episodes because they were inferior to the season 3 premiere. I felt that the show had no direction anymore, and assumed they were exploiting the success of the previous seasons and biding their time. I came back only after watching several other shows. Things gradually get interesting, and then some more, until I was glad I had resumed watching the show. I think Breaking Bad is a classic, and everyone should see it. Expand
  12. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    This has got to be the best dramatic show ever produced on television. I simply cannot remember anything that even comes close to the extend and the sheer intensity of the feelings and emotions that I felt throughout the entire season. If i could make any critique at all is that I would just like the final minutes of the finale to be just a bit more dramatic (in an otherwise spectacularThis has got to be the best dramatic show ever produced on television. I simply cannot remember anything that even comes close to the extend and the sheer intensity of the feelings and emotions that I felt throughout the entire season. If i could make any critique at all is that I would just like the final minutes of the finale to be just a bit more dramatic (in an otherwise spectacular final episode). Bottom line: Breaking Bad is the epitome of drama, a perfection that leaves you speechless in each episode. Expand
  13. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    Breaking Bad finally proved with Season 4 as possibly the greatest show of all time. It mixes elements of The Wire, The Sopranos, and many other great shows into one epic masterpiece in storytelling. Each season just becomes better and more important, and Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul still prove to be the best actors working in television. This meth lab epic will only get better, andBreaking Bad finally proved with Season 4 as possibly the greatest show of all time. It mixes elements of The Wire, The Sopranos, and many other great shows into one epic masterpiece in storytelling. Each season just becomes better and more important, and Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul still prove to be the best actors working in television. This meth lab epic will only get better, and the finale proves this to all. Expand
  14. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    Gus Fring! The only guy that has to mess with Walter! Uuuuuggghhh! Season 4 is one of the most suspenseful seasons ever! BREAKING BAD HAS RETURNED AGAIN AMIGOS! Suspense is way tense than other seasons and Walter is mad as ever in his undies! This is the most brutal season AMC has had and allowed for this awesome show. It's addictive- acting is brilliant and writing is out of this WORLD.Gus Fring! The only guy that has to mess with Walter! Uuuuuggghhh! Season 4 is one of the most suspenseful seasons ever! BREAKING BAD HAS RETURNED AGAIN AMIGOS! Suspense is way tense than other seasons and Walter is mad as ever in his undies! This is the most brutal season AMC has had and allowed for this awesome show. It's addictive- acting is brilliant and writing is out of this WORLD. Must watch bros!!! Breaking Bad is STILL the best show ever made. Expand
  15. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    I really didn't think this show was anything special until the 4th season. It's full of ridiculous moments, all very tense and interesting. To say this season is anything short of spectacular is an understatement.
  16. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Foi a melhor temporada de uma série que eu já na minha vida, simplesmente perfeita. Vale muito a pena aguentar a "lentidão" da série no início pra depois ver essa temporada simplesmente genial.
  17. May 13, 2013
    9
    It´s making addictive, you never really know what´s happening next. You just gotta love all the characters and Bryan Cranston has the role of f his life! Walter is just so badass and watching him getting through all this is very addictive. The only difficulties this series has though is that the third and fourth season are getting a lil bit boring but they still have some real kickassIt´s making addictive, you never really know what´s happening next. You just gotta love all the characters and Bryan Cranston has the role of f his life! Walter is just so badass and watching him getting through all this is very addictive. The only difficulties this series has though is that the third and fourth season are getting a lil bit boring but they still have some real kickass plots. This is one masterpiece of a series, and i really want to suck up the damn final part of season 5, but till then we have to wait for summer 2013. That´s a downside too. You have to wait nearly a whole year for a new season, but at least it´s worth it! WATCH IT! It´s a legendary TV Show you need to watch! Expand
  18. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    This season was mind blowing as the show has got even better. The ending was a shocker and so much stuff happens in the second best season of the show.
  19. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    This is absolutely the best thing on television today. So many memorable scenes and moments that I'll remember for a life time. Incredible season 4, just like the others.
  20. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Breaking Bad, wins With This fourth season, a place among the best television series ever made. Gustavo Fring becomes one of the best villains of all time.

    And Again, Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston are the perfect couple.
  21. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Intelligent writing; incredible acting as usual with Cranston, Gunn, Paul and the rest of the cast, but also a very brilliant and not previously studied Gustavo Fring portrayed by a magnificent Giancarlo Esposito. The slow pace and style remains spectacular, specially in the final episode.
  22. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    This fourth series marks the real change into Walt's world. Now he is turning into an egocentric megalomaniac who alienates everybody around him. The relation developing between Mike and Jesse is also interesting. Mike is a crook, but he can keep his cool, while Walt seems always under pressure and ready to explode. Skylar has a good idea and after some nerve-wracking tension one couldThis fourth series marks the real change into Walt's world. Now he is turning into an egocentric megalomaniac who alienates everybody around him. The relation developing between Mike and Jesse is also interesting. Mike is a crook, but he can keep his cool, while Walt seems always under pressure and ready to explode. Skylar has a good idea and after some nerve-wracking tension one could almost hope that a return to normalcy is in sight for Walt.... Expand
  23. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    I've never seen anything like it, This is easily the best show on television right now Just keeps getting better as the seasons go on, not many shows can manage that
  24. Aug 6, 2015
    8
    Wonderfully acted, written and filmed. Season 4 is the most consistent yet. The season manages to maintain tension and unpredictability with ease. The introduction of Gus' history with the cartel furthers our understanding of a truly remarkable villain. The characters thankfully remain some of the best on TV. As does the cinematography. The story concludes nicely also, leaving the finalWonderfully acted, written and filmed. Season 4 is the most consistent yet. The season manages to maintain tension and unpredictability with ease. The introduction of Gus' history with the cartel furthers our understanding of a truly remarkable villain. The characters thankfully remain some of the best on TV. As does the cinematography. The story concludes nicely also, leaving the final season to do it's bidding in attempting to tie up the story in unforgettable fashion. Season 3, and 4 in particular, have raised Breaking Bad up a level, to become a show that can easily create tension whilst remaining productive in terms of plot progression. If Vince Gilligan can go all in and produce an even better final season, who knows where Breaking Bad's potential will end. Expand
  25. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    This is the best season of television that I have ever seen. The first couple of episodes are kind of slow, but you still get some GREAT dialogue. The first episode starts with a bang and a box cutter. This season has one of the best villains ever. He keeps cool, but then when he means business, he will bring his fury. If you don't like this season it sucks to be you,
  26. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    The final moments of Season 4 easily make this the most dramatic and impactful season of Breaking Bad yet. Every episode is just so intense! Now it all can lead to the final season where nobody knows what to expect to happen. GREAT!!!
  27. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Temporada cuatro fue espectacular, una temporada llena de tension, esos momentos de conflicto entre Wallter y Gus, el caracter raro de Jesse, y hasta un final de temporada de infarto. Una bomba de tiempo es esta temporada.
  28. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    This is how GOD intended TV to be made!!! This has to be one of the, if not, THE best show ever made!!! An absolute thrilling ride from the very first second!!!!
  29. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    Amazing. Breaking Bad is simply amazing. Not a frame, second, or line wasted. Not one weak episode or performance. Everything here in season four is solid. Giancarlo Esposito's performance is the only one to triumph over Bryan Cranston's brilliant portrayal of Walter White. The final four episodes of this season are so intense, well-crafted, and brilliantly written that it's more thanAmazing. Breaking Bad is simply amazing. Not a frame, second, or line wasted. Not one weak episode or performance. Everything here in season four is solid. Giancarlo Esposito's performance is the only one to triumph over Bryan Cranston's brilliant portrayal of Walter White. The final four episodes of this season are so intense, well-crafted, and brilliantly written that it's more than enough to provide for some nail-biting binge watching. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    100
    The visual style pours as much emotional juice into the boiling, moody brew that Gilligan cooks up as his actors' searing performances do.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Holcomb
    Jul 20, 2011
    100
    This is one of the rarest finds on television: a show where cast and character are so perfectly matched by a creator who understands exactly what journey he wants take his audience on.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 18, 2011
    100
    None of these twists are for the faint of heart, which is why Breaking Bad is a smart, thought-provoking TV show that elevates the artistic achievements of the medium.