Breaking Bad : Season 1

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 20, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3544 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 20, 2016
    10
    When I think good acting, I think Breaking Bad. Seasons 1 through 3 are a bit slow however 4 through 5 is as if Vince slammed on the pedal creating perhaps the most exciting series of all time.
  2. Aug 16, 2016
    8
    Breaking Bad is by far my favorite TV show, but Season 1 is definitely slow. It saddens me that many of my friends were driven away from the show because of how slow the show is, but trust me, the show gets WAY better.
  3. Aug 3, 2016
    10
    Best series ever made , Brian Bryan Cranston of work is majestic , it has everything you could expect from a great series , drama, humor, simply a playwriting class.
  4. Jul 30, 2016
    8
    Breaking Bad is a complete show that's centered around the most challenging of human drama but intermixes comedy, action, and suspense into the core of the story.
  5. Jul 7, 2016
    10
    Amazing plot, amazing characters! Great acting tho! It's basically everything I search for in a Tv Show. The end got me in a puddle of tears and now I don't know what to do with my life, actually. Every episode kept me on the edge of my seat. Such a shame it ended :(
  6. Jun 6, 2016
    10
    One of the best shows I've seen in a long long time. Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul did an amazing job sinking into the true nature of the characters. Kudos to Vince Gilligan for coming up with such an amazing concept that stands out among all the other TV series.
  7. May 26, 2016
    9
    Arguably one of the best T.V. shows of all time, Breaking Bad was a terrific turnout, and whoever was not a fan of the show must not like Bryan Cranston (or anything else).
  8. May 13, 2016
    10
    Сезон, с которого начинается чёрная полоса жизни Уолтера Уайта. Отлично проработанный сюжет. Очень много интересных и забавных моментов, в виде обрушенной ванны со второго этажа вместе с растворенным трупом. Или эффект гремучей ртути в здании Туко. Очень захватывающе...Сезон, с которого начинается чёрная полоса жизни Уолтера Уайта. Отлично проработанный сюжет. Очень много интересных и забавных моментов, в виде обрушенной ванны со второго этажа вместе с растворенным трупом. Или эффект гремучей ртути в здании Туко. Очень захватывающе...
  9. May 10, 2016
    10
    Very good , Best, veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyy gooooooooooooooooooooodd :DDDD , besttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt
  10. May 7, 2016
    10
    This is one of best show ever made great writing and acting .The best show I've seen on TV in years.
    This is the best Crime Drama show running on television.Very funny while maintaining a serious and real tone.
  11. May 1, 2016
    10
    I was hesitant to watch this series because I didn't think it would be something I would enjoy. I was wrong. This show far exceeded my expectations and quickly became one of my all-time favorites!
  12. Apr 18, 2016
    10
    Hands down one of the best TV series ever made, and one of the very few to deserve a 10.

    The tension, drama, and acting are really what makes this show so special. Though I can tell you after having re-watched the whole series recently, another great point is what you'll get out of watching it again and seeing what you missed the first time around.
  13. Apr 6, 2016
    9
    This is the best Crime Drama show running on television alongside Dexter. The writing is simply brilliant, tough the series is a little slow but the acting of Bryan Cranston is outstanding.
  14. Mar 29, 2016
    10
    Let's just say a classic was born.From the amazing plot to everyone's acting, this show is the absolute definition of masterpiece. Not only is the first season a game changer in terms of dramas but is an essential viewing for anyone who likes good entertainment. It all goes uphill from here, even though we are already at the top.
  15. Mar 24, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The original run of Breaking Bad came to an end toward the end of 2013 as a show that, over its time, had gradually built a bigger and bigger audience as everyone jumped on the bandwagon of what was, arguably, one of the finest television shows produced in years.

    The season 5 finale drew an incredible 10 million viewers and almost universal praise. I was one of those people who, not so much jumped on the bandwagon for the first time, but jumped back on after losing interest following season 3.

    Before you sharpen your pitchforks and get a good, old-fashioned lynch-mob together, my losing interest in Breaking Bad was more due to my terrible attention span than anything else. I was a bit confused by season 5, namely because it followed probably one of what I now know to have been one of its most eventful seasons in season 4 which culminated in the demise of Gustavo Fring.

    I jumped back into Breaking Bad recently, having been bored one night following a routine porn viewing, I binged on a few episodes as Netflix subscribers are wont to do, and then I got hooked once more. What went from just the first three episodes of season 1, turned into another nightly routine of a few Breaking Bad episodes before bed until I run out of episodes to enjoy; that day being today.

    For those unacquainted with what is, justifiably, often referred to as a televisual masterpiece, Breaking Bad focuses on its main protagonist/antagonist, Walter White. A high school science teacher who is diagnosed with late stage cancer stumbles into the world of cooking crystal meth after witnessing one of his old students, Jesse Pinkman, escape from his own meth lab after being raided by the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA). Walter, by the way, witnessed this while on a ride along with his brother-in-law, Hank, an officer within that very agency.

    Walt sees an opportunity, an opportunity to make sure that his family is set for life, making them financially secure, as well as paying all the medical bills that come with chemotherapy. What starts as a small-but risky-venture to protect his family's future when he anticipates he will be long dead, turns into an obsession, a thrill-ride as Walt goes from a small time meth cook, to the King of the Mountain.

    Played by the brilliant, Bryan Cranston, the character of Walter White is, as he should be in a show like this, the most compelling character ever seen on a television screen. The show itself turns into a philosophical study of the ego, revolving around Walt, it shows him going from the wimpy good-guy (pretty much Hal from Malcolm in the Middle), to the ultimate bad guy, a monster only concerned with himself, his own status within the meth business as the legendary Heisenberg.

    As Walt moves up the food chain in this world, he pushes his own family away while embracing the new family he has created for himself, Jesse Pinkman as the son he seems to have always wanted, and his extended family, the loyal servants and dealers who will do his every bidding at the flash of a few thousand dollars. Walt throughout the show struggles with the consequences - big and small - of his actions until, ultimately, the consequences don't seem to matter at all to Walt. He is the very definition of someone being too big for their boots, while he ascends to the top of the ladder, he never truly becomes the leader of the pack he ends up wanting to be.

    He will always be just a mere imitation of those who do the drug business so much better than he, and that is what largely compels Walt's actions throughout the show, the drive to be better, the bitterness building within at the knowledge he will never reach that point. It's that fascinating understanding of what drives Walt throughout the show that makes Breaking Bad such a compelling watch. Sure, there are parts of it which are slow, or maybe slightly absurd, even for a show such as this, but it all works because of its central character, because they're cogs in the well-oiled machine that drives Walt's story forward.

    If you've not seen the show before, this is something that I strongly recommend. If you have seen it before, then, hopefully, you will understand exactly why it's so universally loved.
    Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2016
    7
    While violent, the series is not formulaic. I do feel there were gratuitous scenes of Bryan Cranston in underwear and showing his naked backside. Somehow it was easy to get hooked to this gritty, dark plot. Some of the sub-plots were overboard in the realism of drugs and was depressing.
  17. Feb 20, 2016
    7
    "You wanna cook chrystal metch?"

    Początek czegoś wspaniałego… 1 sezon jest dla mnie prologiem dla całej serii dlatego też daje mu tak niską (na tle innych) ocenę.
  18. Feb 19, 2016
    9
    "The first season of Breaking Bad is a brilliant 7 episode prologue and tells about the genesis of Heisenberg."

    + (positive):
    + Walter and Jesse
    + the change of Walter White
    + the failures
    + start of the meth story
    + thrilling
    + characters
    + structure

    - (negative) :
    - structure
    - it's getting bigger and better

    GENRE RATING: 9.5
    OVERALL RATING: 9.3
  19. Feb 18, 2016
    10
    Whoever gives this show a bad review, is am imbecile in my book. This is one of the best TV shows of all time. It is a piece of art. A classic. I love this show!
  20. Feb 2, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Next to the Sopranos, the best serialized TV show I have seen. Very different plot, it all works. The boring chemistry teacher discovering his hidden personality. The scenic back drop of New Mexico. Great acting by all the regular characters. The weird, once in a lifetime characters seemingly introduced every episode. The "chicken man" , one of the baddest bad guys in TV history. Every season was good. Every character added something to the plot. It was just a great TV show . Expand
  21. Jan 31, 2016
    10
    I haven't even seen it xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo
  22. Jan 22, 2016
    10
    I just finished watching Breaking Bad.It was really a nice show! We will be missing Jesse Pinkman and all the cast! The story is exciting and more thrilling no dull moments!
  23. Jan 21, 2016
    9
    Just like that, Breaking Bad got inside my life, and i have now to live like an idiot, constantly criticizing other TV shows, Breaking Bad make me believe in perfect storytelling. This is a very good beginning for a perfect show, even though i didn't liked that much the first time i watched it. Bryan Cranston in the best actor in the world. This is how it all started. 9/10
  24. Jan 9, 2016
    10
    The series starts off a bit slow after the first couple of episodes but then takes off from there. This show was very well written and one of those shows in which I had to watch the new episode right away. I actually watched this series twice and was just as good the second time around.
  25. Jan 9, 2016
    10
    This show is the best one made so far, the actors are doing a great job and there's a lot of action and escalation. This is also the only good show I know that just gets better and better for every season.
  26. Jan 3, 2016
    10
    Best of the present series.
    The series is impeccable in all aspects , casting , directing, cinematography , soundtrack.
    It is one of the only series to have a means beginning and end without stretching . NOTE FOR BREAKING BAD MAXIMUM
  27. Dec 18, 2015
    8
    Season of Breaking Bad is very original and very interesting to watch. Walt and Jessie are two very good main characters and do a great job playing their character.
  28. Dec 15, 2015
    9
    Breaking Bad's first season is not as good as the rest, but if this is seriously the worst they could do, then you have to know that the show is great. Amazing, actually. This first season has many highlights. The pilot alone is more than enough to watch the whole thing. I personally found the story very interesting and the characters as well. Now I will say this: the show, clearly, is notBreaking Bad's first season is not as good as the rest, but if this is seriously the worst they could do, then you have to know that the show is great. Amazing, actually. This first season has many highlights. The pilot alone is more than enough to watch the whole thing. I personally found the story very interesting and the characters as well. Now I will say this: the show, clearly, is not for everyone. This season is very graphic sometimes, depicting violence and such, but I feel that makes it very realistic too, which is a good thing. And by the end you'll be left hungry for more. Expand
  29. Dec 8, 2015
    9
    In my TOP 3 Best series ever, the story of evolution of walter its amazing, the secondary characters have are incredible too, just you MUST watch this TV serie.
  30. Dec 5, 2015
    10
    I was hesitant about watching this show because I'm usually into more romance and comedies but good thing I did! Honestly hands down one of the best shows I've ever seen. Brilliant story plot and the actors made it even better.
  31. Dec 3, 2015
    9
    Breaking Bad is truly an amazing show, that should be your next binge watching show. It doesn't have many crazy moments but when it does their beyond insane and make you think to your self WTF just happened? It has very likable characters especially Jesse he's hilarious and sometimes the script makes you feel sad for him, especially the ending which was my GOD insane!!!!!! This show madeBreaking Bad is truly an amazing show, that should be your next binge watching show. It doesn't have many crazy moments but when it does their beyond insane and make you think to your self WTF just happened? It has very likable characters especially Jesse he's hilarious and sometimes the script makes you feel sad for him, especially the ending which was my GOD insane!!!!!! This show made me cry a few times which is a good thing because i know the writers are doing their job. Expand
  32. Nov 25, 2015
    10
    Amazing, simply amazingAmazing, simply amazing ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  33. Oct 12, 2015
    9
    I LOVE THIS SHOW!! Almost everything about it is INCREDIBLE! From the FANTASTIC acting from nearly EVERYONE on the show, to the stellar writing, this show is BETTER than The Wire, Mad Men, The Walking Dead, and EVERY OTHER show that comes out, EVER! But right now, we're talking about the first 7 episodes that are Season 1. Okay, let's start with the story. Bryan Cranston plays WalterI LOVE THIS SHOW!! Almost everything about it is INCREDIBLE! From the FANTASTIC acting from nearly EVERYONE on the show, to the stellar writing, this show is BETTER than The Wire, Mad Men, The Walking Dead, and EVERY OTHER show that comes out, EVER! But right now, we're talking about the first 7 episodes that are Season 1. Okay, let's start with the story. Bryan Cranston plays Walter "Heisenberg" White (he does incredible). Walter is a super smart high school chemistry teacher who is diagnosed with lung cancer. He has a wife, son, and an unborn daughter who he realizes that when the cancer kills him, he will leave them with nothing. So, when he finds out that one of his students runs a crystal meth empire and how much money he could make doing this job, he decides to join Jessie and start to cook. Now when I first heard what this show was about, I thought it was stupid. I mean, a 50 year old man just suddenly decides to cook meth. But then I saw the pilot, and the way they handle this story is executed is so damn impressive, i don't even think that the 16 emmy's that this show won doesn't do it justice. Now, I know that 16 emmy's are record shattering numbers, but it should have won EVEN MORE than that. Each character, every word that is spoken from these characters mouths, hell, EVERYTHING THEY DO ON THE SHOW IS INCREDIBLE! Now it's time for the "flaws" on this season. Now, Marie is not that interesting in this season, and her performance is okay. She grows throughout the series and I liked how she did evolve until the last episode we see her on. The last "flaw" I think is that the season is pretty slow. But that's not a big flaw AT ALL. I think the best episodes on this season are Episodes 1, 2, 3, and 6. But because of those "flaws" I give this season a 9/10. Expand
  34. Sep 26, 2015
    10
    Perfect **** show, go watch it now, the best show ever, 10/10 100% glorious and is in glorious HD, The meth that Walter white sell, the cool blue crystal meth makes him millions, and his brother finds out in the few last episodes and his brother completely hates him and Walter brother gets shot in the head and buried, and in the very last episode Walter gets shot in the body and bleeds toPerfect **** show, go watch it now, the best show ever, 10/10 100% glorious and is in glorious HD, The meth that Walter white sell, the cool blue crystal meth makes him millions, and his brother finds out in the few last episodes and his brother completely hates him and Walter brother gets shot in the head and buried, and in the very last episode Walter gets shot in the body and bleeds to death. Warning Skyler is a **** skip all of her ****ing and whining, the son has some sort of mentally and physically retarded condition. Expand
  35. Sep 16, 2015
    10
    I don't know where to start. "Breaking Bad" is the best TV-show ever. I was doubtful for the plot. A chemistry teacher, Walter White (played by Bryan Cranston), gets inoperable lung cancer. To secure the future for his family, he starts a meth lab with a former student, Jesse Pinkman (played by Aaron Paul). I gave the first episodes a chance, and I was hooked. It was brutal action, darkI don't know where to start. "Breaking Bad" is the best TV-show ever. I was doubtful for the plot. A chemistry teacher, Walter White (played by Bryan Cranston), gets inoperable lung cancer. To secure the future for his family, he starts a meth lab with a former student, Jesse Pinkman (played by Aaron Paul). I gave the first episodes a chance, and I was hooked. It was brutal action, dark comedy, grade A+ drama and two of the most memorable main characters I've ever seen. Walter White starts as a humble man and in the end of season 1 he is the anti-hero Heisenberg, a meth dealer who is the creator of the purest meth in the country. If you want an excellent action drama, this is a must see. Expand
  36. Aug 25, 2015
    10
    you will can´t sleep trying to watch another episode after ends an episode (repeat this all the night) this is like the drug, addictive 100% loving and hating to the cast
  37. Aug 8, 2015
    10
    The acting is perfect, the character progression is intelligent and astounding to see. The twists of every episode are exciting and unexpected. It's the greatest TV show ever released, if you don't like it... How do I put this... You're very oblivious
  38. Aug 6, 2015
    7
    Slowly but surely we feel a part of Walter White's world. This is not Breaking Bad at it's finest but it still does more than enough to develop an intrigue and fondness within us towards a series with a lot of potential. In truth the first season lays the ground for Breaking Bad to go ahead and make real progress. There is potential for an engrossing story and captivating performances within it.
  39. Jul 25, 2015
    8
    Vince Gilligan's groundbreaking television series begins with a bang, but there is a sense of something missing throughout this first season. However, any flaws present here are largely overshadowed with phenomenal acting on the part of Bryan Cranston.
  40. May 29, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show made me love the protagonist and then hate him more then I all of the antagonists combined. That ending wasn't what I expected to happen but it was good. Best binge watching I had in a long time. Expand
  41. May 29, 2015
    10
    Breaking Bad is just a perfect tv show about a chemistry teacher turning into a cold blooded drug dealer !
    To me experiencing the development of the characters is the best thing about the show.
  42. May 28, 2015
    9
    La temporada 1 de Breaking Bad fue el inicio en el que mi opinion, nacio la mejor serie de la historia de la TV. Tal vez empieza un poco lenta, muchas conversaciones para los que son amantes de Duro de Matar y mucha accion.
    Pero cada cap fue increible y a esta temporada le doy un 9.
  43. May 27, 2015
    9
    The decaying world of Walter White comes alive in this first season of Breaking Bad, now regarded by some (myself included) as the greatest television drama of all time. Of course, the show is a notorious slow-burner; this first season is an introduction to our characters and the barriers that they must overcome, and at times may appear too slow for the casual viewer. There is no moreThe decaying world of Walter White comes alive in this first season of Breaking Bad, now regarded by some (myself included) as the greatest television drama of all time. Of course, the show is a notorious slow-burner; this first season is an introduction to our characters and the barriers that they must overcome, and at times may appear too slow for the casual viewer. There is no more rewarding experience, however, then the result of staying loyal to this series - take the crux of Season 1, the brilliantly explosive "Crazy Handful of Nothin'". In one episode we see the hazy beginnings of Walt's transformation, and the following seasons only improve on the quality of television on display here. A truly haunting and addictive season of TV. Expand
  44. May 27, 2015
    8
    Despite some awkward dialogue and some less than perfect acting throughout the 7 episodes, the direction and intriguing story of this show set it up for future seasons. A fantastic premise for a show
  45. May 25, 2015
    10
    This is one of the best drama TV series to appear on our screens over the past few years. The acting is perfect, direction is quality and production values are high. During each series, there is one or two slow episodes - but watching every episode of every series gives back a lot to the soul.
  46. May 19, 2015
    10
    This show is more addictive than meth, at the beginning didn't have any idea of what the show was about but after the pilot gave it a shot, and until now haven't seen any TV show that can be compared with.
  47. May 12, 2015
    10
    I hate giving out 10s, but this series is deserving of a 10. The character development is among the best that I have ever seen. I also appreciate when a series contains a storyline that is not so easy to predict. This series is entertaining in many different ways.
  48. May 4, 2015
    9
    Are you looking for a television series that is filled with action and drama? Not looking for just another sitcom or a criminal investigation show like Criminal Minds, NCIS, or CSI? Breaking Bad is the show for you. Breaking Bad is a drama television series that aired from 2008 to 2013. It is an AMC series that falls under the drama/thriller genre. The show won two Golden Globe Awards, andAre you looking for a television series that is filled with action and drama? Not looking for just another sitcom or a criminal investigation show like Criminal Minds, NCIS, or CSI? Breaking Bad is the show for you. Breaking Bad is a drama television series that aired from 2008 to 2013. It is an AMC series that falls under the drama/thriller genre. The show won two Golden Globe Awards, and Emmy for Outstanding Drama, another 117 wins, and 189 nominations. It was also rated 5 out of 5 stars on Rotten Tomatoes and 9.5 out of 10 stars on IMDb. The writer of the show is Vince Gilligan and Michelle MacLaren is the director. The main characters are Walter White played by Bryan Cranston, Jesse Pinkman played by Aaron Paul, and Skyler White played by Anna Gunn.
    The plot is about a middle-aged man, Walter, who is over qualified to be a public high school chemistry teacher who was recently diagnosed with stage III lung cancer. He has a 15-year-old son with cerebral palsy and a wife on maternity leave with a baby on the way. Walter considers the future of his cancer. How will he pay for the treatment and provide for his family without debt? He discovers a way make quick money for his chemotherapy and provide for his family when he is eventually gone. Walter teams up with an old student, Jesse, who is experienced in selling illegal drugs on the streets. Together they cook and sell the purest form of methamphetamine sold on the street they call “blue meth”. Walt and Jesse quickly become well known and popular in the drug world. Their lives soon become filled with crime and drama that they cannot escape from. They encounter some very dangerous criminals and eventually become criminals themselves. Walt’s brother in law, Hank, is a DEA (Drug Enforcement Administration) agent. Hank is investigating crimes Walt is secretly the cause of or involved in.
    This television series will hook any type of person in. The show is aimed toward older teens and adults no matter on gender or interests. Each episode is so unpredictable that anything can happen and will make you want to keep watching. Each season is very organized and planned so there are no open-ended questions. Everyone appreciates and enjoys good acting with a creative story with some dry humor. The plot is very unique and not copied or modeled off of anything done before.
    Besides everything I think was done well, there were a few things I did not like within the series. My main complaint was what some of the characters turned into as the show progressed. For example, Walter’s character starts out as a quiet, nice, timid, and very intelligent father. Once he starts cooking and selling drugs, he becomes very greedy and merciless. Cooking methamphetamine comes very easy to him, which leads to large money flow that blinds him from knowing when enough is enough. By the end of the show, he becomes too greedy and his main priorities are lost.
    The father, Walter, is simply a teacher and the mother, Skyler, is pregnant. They are a quiet family that acts and dresses proper and conservative. These details are relevant because you would never expect their situation from an outside perspective. The family is very relatable because to the rest of the world, the Whites are average family. The setting takes place in New Mexico because the use of methamphetamine is more popular and active than it is in Pennsylvania, for example. In my opinion, the acting was terrific and very professional. The main actors have had multiple awards for their performance.
    This series was by far one of my favorites. Within all five seasons, I found minimal flaws. This show is very organized and leaves you without questions or wonders. I recommend this show to anyone because it is not aimed toward one specific audience.
    Expand
  49. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    Starts off a little slow but the pace picks up halfway through season 1. From that point on it's a thrilling ride. Breaking Bad is a modern day classic.
  50. Apr 9, 2015
    9
    Breaking Bad is an amazing masterpiece and I enjoyed it. I really wish there were more shows like this one. The only other show I think may come close is Dexter.
  51. Mar 30, 2015
    8
    Vince Gilligan's groundbreaking television series begins with a bang, but there is a sense of something missing throughout this first season. However, any flaws present here are largely overshadowed with phenomenal acting on the part of Bryan Cranston.
  52. Mar 29, 2015
    10
    Breaking Bad is the best TV show we are ever going to get. Perfect Writing, Perfect Casting, Perfect Story. Everything about this show is awesome, there is only 1 slightly meh episode in my opinion and it's the Fly one in season 3. Everything else is LEGENDARY.

    10/10
  53. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    One of the best series of all times, right beside Six Feet Under.
    Story start slow at start but it gets better and more dynamic every episode. Highly recommended!!!
  54. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    Wow! what a show! this show is perfect, the acting is great, the story is told very well and each season just leaves you hanging for more! You must watch this show!
  55. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    This series is the Michael Jordan of television. You can think of elements that make up a great TV show and probably all of those would fit Breaking Bad. The acting, the plot, the comedy, the seeming reality, the anticipation, the badass, the music, the "Whoa, did that just happen?" moments, the depth... it wouldn't take much for one to get hooked.

    If you're thinking that this show is
    This series is the Michael Jordan of television. You can think of elements that make up a great TV show and probably all of those would fit Breaking Bad. The acting, the plot, the comedy, the seeming reality, the anticipation, the badass, the music, the "Whoa, did that just happen?" moments, the depth... it wouldn't take much for one to get hooked.

    If you're thinking that this show is just a drama about a man dying from cancer who turns into making meth for his family's betterment in the future, prepare to be mistaken.
    Expand
  56. Jan 12, 2015
    9
    Very good television beyond belief, it hits you where you're most sensitive and isn't afraid to take a piece out of the viewer by sinking the subject matter to a place very few show's have ever done.
  57. Jan 12, 2015
    8
    This is a great start to a great series. The story is far more than just solid, Bryan Cranston steps out of his shoes from just being "Malcolm's Dad" and he shows he can act dramatically very well. A great start, and the best has yet to come
  58. Jan 7, 2015
    9
    Season 1 of Breaking Bad is an incredibly strong opening for the show. It has incredible acting, a very strong story, and just a perfect level of violence. Although this season did move a bit slow, it is perfect in every other aspect. After all, I have only watched this season so far, and people keep telling me it gets even better with each season. So I am very excited to watch them! 9/10Season 1 of Breaking Bad is an incredibly strong opening for the show. It has incredible acting, a very strong story, and just a perfect level of violence. Although this season did move a bit slow, it is perfect in every other aspect. After all, I have only watched this season so far, and people keep telling me it gets even better with each season. So I am very excited to watch them! 9/10 (Awesome) Expand
  59. Jan 1, 2015
    7
    Breaking Bad features an excellent story full of cool villains, betrayals, intense moments, and one good plan gone wrong after another. What I find impressive is that it manages to make a meth selling criminal a likable person, which is no easy feat. The show can be a bit predictable, as no plan turns out the way it's supposed to, but that reflects real life. None of the women in the showBreaking Bad features an excellent story full of cool villains, betrayals, intense moments, and one good plan gone wrong after another. What I find impressive is that it manages to make a meth selling criminal a likable person, which is no easy feat. The show can be a bit predictable, as no plan turns out the way it's supposed to, but that reflects real life. None of the women in the show are good people. I'm not one of those people who climbs to a the top of a mountain and demands tv shows to have cool female characters, but it would be nice for this show to have at least one. Expand
  60. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    I'm not a huge drama guy… I stick to sitcoms like the office, seinfeld and parks and rec. I hate when shows are hyped up by so many people, but Breaking Bad is not one of those shows. It is EXACTLY what everyone said it was. I was drawn right out of the gate with the pilot episode. You learn to either strongly love or passionately despise (in a good way) the characters of the show. HighlyI'm not a huge drama guy… I stick to sitcoms like the office, seinfeld and parks and rec. I hate when shows are hyped up by so many people, but Breaking Bad is not one of those shows. It is EXACTLY what everyone said it was. I was drawn right out of the gate with the pilot episode. You learn to either strongly love or passionately despise (in a good way) the characters of the show. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a new show to get wrapped up into. Expand
  61. Dec 14, 2014
    10
    It is one of the best TV shows ever made. Hats off to the entire team. Director projection of walter white character and the transmission from chemistry teacher to Don.......wow.........Awesome.
  62. Dec 14, 2014
    10
    I have never once witnessed a show with as much balls as this did in the first season, characters actions made marvelous impacts and almost every character with the exception of skylor is likeable.. Walter white a chemistry teacher breaking bad with a former student jesse pinkman.. this has to be the best thing to come out of television in the 21st century I have seen thus far. season 1 isI have never once witnessed a show with as much balls as this did in the first season, characters actions made marvelous impacts and almost every character with the exception of skylor is likeable.. Walter white a chemistry teacher breaking bad with a former student jesse pinkman.. this has to be the best thing to come out of television in the 21st century I have seen thus far. season 1 is almost perfection, I cannot wait to see how the characters will react once the story has ended and if walt ever gets found out.. should be interesting. Expand
  63. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    "Breaking Bad" was all I heard for a while. It took me months to actually sit back and watch the first episode. And scene 1, I was hooked. If I don't limit myself, this review could become a 200-page document, so I'll just leave it like this: the casting is great, the performances are phenomenal (best I've seen), the cinematography is amazing, the writing deep and perfect, the characters"Breaking Bad" was all I heard for a while. It took me months to actually sit back and watch the first episode. And scene 1, I was hooked. If I don't limit myself, this review could become a 200-page document, so I'll just leave it like this: the casting is great, the performances are phenomenal (best I've seen), the cinematography is amazing, the writing deep and perfect, the characters are perfect, everything else is perfect, the moral dilemmas are perfect... Let's just say: "Breaking Bad is a perfect mix". Expand
  64. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    The only reason i rate this an 8/10 is because it pretty much sets up the rest of the show, still there's a lot of great moments that will make you jump out of your seat.
  65. Nov 27, 2014
    7
    The score is for the entire series not the individual season.

    The show is great. Pretty good crime drama. Story was good, acting was good. I wish the ending was a bit more elaborate than just, well , if you seen it you know how it ends. I recommend you watch it if you haven't.
  66. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    My favorite TV show of all time. There are so many memorable moments and quotes. There are also so many memorable villains 'Heisenberg' meets along the way. Bryan Cranston couldn't have done this role any better, and no one could have replaced him
  67. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    This series was wild from start to finish. For real a washed up teacher teams up with some edgy gangster druggy to make meth which ends up being one of the greatest shows of all time.
  68. Oct 31, 2014
    9
    The popular T.V. series Breaking Bad is very well written making it the best T.V. show to date.
    The actors do a fantastic job understanding their role and playing the characters. RJ Mitte plays Walter White Junior, who has mild cerebral palsy. The actor himself does not have the disability but does a fantastic job throughout the five years it was televised, convincing many of the viewers
    The popular T.V. series Breaking Bad is very well written making it the best T.V. show to date.
    The actors do a fantastic job understanding their role and playing the characters. RJ Mitte plays Walter White Junior, who has mild cerebral palsy. The actor himself does not have the disability but does a fantastic job throughout the five years it was televised, convincing many of the viewers he did. Aaron Paul plays Jesse Pinkman a young high school graduate that deals meth. He plays his character so well some people believe he spent time with meth users in order to understand what his character for the movie needed to act like. As you watch the series come together you easily become emotionally attached to the characters. Your heart breaks as Walter and Jesse’s friendship ends over a fight, and you rejoice when Walt’s cancer disappears.
    In addition to the great actors the movie has many plot twists. When you finally think you understand what is going to happen next, something completely different happens. You never fully understand what is going to happen next because the writing keeps you on your toes and guessing about the upcoming scenes. The creators do a great job at not adding in extra scenes that distract from the plot. The writing improved over the years pulling in more viewers each year. The season five finale pulled in 12.4 million viewers easily tripling the amount of viewers they had during season one. The idea of participating in illegal activity to support ones family is becoming very popular on upcoming T.V. shows, and Breaking Bad does a great job being one of the first television shows to do this.
    I recommend Breaking Bad to anyone that wants a great show that will keep you on the edge of your seat and wondering what will happen next. It is very easy to follow and a great show to watch with friends.
    Expand
  69. Oct 25, 2014
    7
    it is rotin thar whit and pinkman into the oroblem and kill somone and free.after a week the try to cook someyhing and each season the tried to work someone and he want to kill me white and white kill him. it is reptation
  70. Oct 23, 2014
    10
    If you somehow didn't get on the bandwagon for the last season, you missed out huge. Don't let it continue, watch it all! This whole show is great, but the last season is the best entertainment I have ever seen with my own 2 eyeballs.
  71. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    Alright then. I did not watch all of the series yet, in fact, Iam at Season 2 Episode 12 right now. As far as I can tell, is this probably the best TV series I have ever watched! Seriously, it's just amazing! It is a real joy to watch this series so far and I will definetely continue to watch this show.
    But there is one thing I want to say right now. And in fact, it is not even important
    Alright then. I did not watch all of the series yet, in fact, Iam at Season 2 Episode 12 right now. As far as I can tell, is this probably the best TV series I have ever watched! Seriously, it's just amazing! It is a real joy to watch this series so far and I will definetely continue to watch this show.
    But there is one thing I want to say right now. And in fact, it is not even important for a review but I just hate or think that following characters are **** unnecessary(so far in the show, in my opinion).
    Skyler
    Jesse(like seriously, who the **** is this nobody? Well, probably this is the hole point of him; being nobody)
    Jane(hate her so **** much)
    And yeah, that's it. Iam sorry if this is not a proper review but I just wanted to make statement about this show and the characters. Still my favourite show so far together with The Walking Dead and of course Game of Thrones! :D
    Expand
  72. Oct 18, 2014
    10
    this show is everything you could want from a drama with great characters amazing dialogue captivating story and much much more this show is so addictive you will binge watch that show way to much this show is one if not the best show ever made
  73. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    This show is just amazing,I loved every episode,This is one of my favorite shows......

    But....It's not for everyone ,This show is not safe for people under the age of 15....

    But it is enjoyable for pretty much everyone else :D
  74. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    Breaking Bad is one of the best shows to ever be on television. Period. Great acting, great storytelling, and originality are all there. A perfect score from this guy here.
  75. Sep 25, 2014
    8
    Great introduction, Breaking Bad's first season has a different way of going and acting, it seems a regular TV show about family problems and chemistry, that's what makes Breaking Bad so perfect in all means, it suprises you every season, almost every episode, is where Bryan Cranson and Aaron Paul show what they're up to, is the type of great acting that gives the actor the characterGreat introduction, Breaking Bad's first season has a different way of going and acting, it seems a regular TV show about family problems and chemistry, that's what makes Breaking Bad so perfect in all means, it suprises you every season, almost every episode, is where Bryan Cranson and Aaron Paul show what they're up to, is the type of great acting that gives the actor the character personality and vice versa. Expand
  76. Sep 18, 2014
    9
    The first season of this dark comedy-drama proves to me that the show has earned all the praise I have watched it receive. With excellent acting, an interesting idea, and unpredictable scenarios, it's one nice slice of compelling TV. It's first 7-episode season is awesome to say the least.

    Watching mild-mannered Walter White (Bryan Cranston) turn into a hardcore meth maker is believable
    The first season of this dark comedy-drama proves to me that the show has earned all the praise I have watched it receive. With excellent acting, an interesting idea, and unpredictable scenarios, it's one nice slice of compelling TV. It's first 7-episode season is awesome to say the least.

    Watching mild-mannered Walter White (Bryan Cranston) turn into a hardcore meth maker is believable and real. The scenarios the show creates are a mix of family drama, outrageously dark and violent scenarios, and a surprising sense of humor. If you haven't watched it yet then I highly recommend you do. This first season is top-notch entertainment, and one of the best shows I streamed on Netflix. I can't wait to dive into season 2. I give season one a near-perfect score of 9.9/10.
    Expand
  77. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    Oh, wow.

    I watched the first season already when it came out a few years back, but started watching the rest only a while ago. That resulted in me binging the last four seasons, 55 episodes, in four weeks. And those weeks must be the best ones of my life. Well, at least almost. This is the way TV should be written. What a character study. It used so many techniques to highlight the
    Oh, wow.

    I watched the first season already when it came out a few years back, but started watching the rest only a while ago. That resulted in me binging the last four seasons, 55 episodes, in four weeks. And those weeks must be the best ones of my life. Well, at least almost.

    This is the way TV should be written. What a character study. It used so many techniques to highlight the depths of human nature. The show cleverly used the environment and objects to highlight the inner feelings of characters. The dialogue was well planned and sharp. The meth cooking was in the end just a small device to explore humanity and what drives people, whether towards good or bad. You know what? I could keep showering this show with praise, but I don't really need to, because most of you already know what I'm talking about.

    What I will however say is this: I cannot understand those people who find this show boring, who think that the long scenes with dialogue are nonsensical. They apparently have no idea about quality writing and how stories are built up! I have no idea what kind of shows give a person satisfaction if Breaking Bad doesn't. This show is deeply emotional. How can a person find a show boring when innocent people in it have to suffer the ramifications of a few people's bad deeds? They say one cannot argue about taste, but when it comes to Breaking Bad, I think one can. All the awards and accolades speak for themselves. If one belongs to the tiny minority of people which doesn't like this show, then one needs to question one's understanding of superb story telling.
    Expand
  78. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    very interesting !!!xdrtresteysetrtsre gsesrtrterhfeygstretggretuurruuugbriegeruig eirgieriueutertihuuugnneritie eiirtiieritieirtieiriigereirteiiertuhein ieeteeeerterte eterte
  79. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    I've only till a couple months ago learned why this show is rated as it is. Intense and human acting, with some f the best writing a basic cable television show has to offer. And an interesting story line to top it off. This is the show that will go down in history forever.
  80. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    Vince Gilligan's groundbreaking television series begins with a bang, but there is a sense of something missing throughout this first season. However, any flaws present here are largely overshadowed with phenomenal acting on the part of Bryan Cranston.
  81. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    The most additive tv show ever, excellent performances and exquisite history from begin to end. You must view this serie and you will not regret. The rating as pure as the meth superior 9.1
  82. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    Brutal. Tenía muchísimas ganas de seguir esta serie y ya el piloto me enganchó. A partir de ahí Breaking Bad es una droga, no puedes parar de verla. La primera temporada, pese tener solo 7 capítulos, es sublime. Es una de las mejores primeras temporadas que he visto jamás en una serie. Junto con la segunda, son las temporadas mas divertidas de la serie. Luego se vuelve mas seria (que noBrutal. Tenía muchísimas ganas de seguir esta serie y ya el piloto me enganchó. A partir de ahí Breaking Bad es una droga, no puedes parar de verla. La primera temporada, pese tener solo 7 capítulos, es sublime. Es una de las mejores primeras temporadas que he visto jamás en una serie. Junto con la segunda, son las temporadas mas divertidas de la serie. Luego se vuelve mas seria (que no mas mala) y se hecha algo en falta el estilo de los dos protagonistas al principio de la serie, cuando eran como dos pardillos en un mundo de locos. Los actores están genial pero Cranston es un punto y aparte. El guión es muy original y la trama nunca decae, siempre te mantiene interesado y despierto. Si aun no la has visto ya estás tardando. Expand
  83. Jul 9, 2014
    7
    Хоть начало сногсшибательной криминальной драмы и может показаться достаточно унылым, стоит помнить, что самый сок еще впереди.
  84. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    Une serie remarquable qui m'a tenu en haleine. Le ton, le rythme, la psychologie des personnages, ont transformé chaque étape du parcours de walter en chef d'oeuvre d'intelligence et d'humour noir.
    Un chef d'oeuvre.
  85. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    Out of every movie, tv-show, or anything that has been displayed on a screen for that matter, this, THIS show is the best thing I have ever seen. When people ask my top 3 favourite movies, I say breaking bad anyways. Down right spectacular with an ending that was none other than perfect. I can't believe people could make something so good, it's just outrageous. If anyone gives it under aOut of every movie, tv-show, or anything that has been displayed on a screen for that matter, this, THIS show is the best thing I have ever seen. When people ask my top 3 favourite movies, I say breaking bad anyways. Down right spectacular with an ending that was none other than perfect. I can't believe people could make something so good, it's just outrageous. If anyone gives it under a 9, they didn't pay attention to the show. I am not the danger, I am the danger. Expand
  86. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    Probably the greatest TV show I've ever seen. Great characters, dialogue and suspense with a little bit of humour.. Bryan Cranston is remarkable and Aaron Paul is fantastic. Some episodes are small masterpieces of suspense. Bravo!
  87. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    Breaking Bad was and still is the best TV Show and I just love it. I might be a guy who really doesn't care about shows that get talked about a lot. So when I was recommended the show I was like OK fine. The pilot episode got hooked I'm in. I wanted to see where these characters go; I wanted to see the ideas and plot twist and turns. The show is just so good, by the end of the show inBreaking Bad was and still is the best TV Show and I just love it. I might be a guy who really doesn't care about shows that get talked about a lot. So when I was recommended the show I was like OK fine. The pilot episode got hooked I'm in. I wanted to see where these characters go; I wanted to see the ideas and plot twist and turns. The show is just so good, by the end of the show in season 5 episode 15 I'm really happy.

    Breaking Bad is a masterpiece and it will be remembered. So hail to the king. And thank you ever much for reading, Goodbye.
    Expand
  88. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    The best show ever made begins. It did have a great season. Breaking Bad will later become the best show ever made. That's how awesome this shows becomes
  89. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    The smartest American drama to ever hit TV with sharp wit, tragedy and violence all wrapped up in the dangers of meth cooking and dealing. Vince Gilligan ensures you will laugh, cry and squirm in this fantastic opening of a TV show. 8/10
  90. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    This is the best television series in the history of television. Breaking Bad is put together well. All of the actors fit their roles perfectly, the story line is unmatched . The cinematic views of Albuquerque, New Mexico are breath-taking, and the violence is, well, violent.
    Season 1 through the first have of the 5th season is very entertaining, keeps a great story line with suspense.
    This is the best television series in the history of television. Breaking Bad is put together well. All of the actors fit their roles perfectly, the story line is unmatched . The cinematic views of Albuquerque, New Mexico are breath-taking, and the violence is, well, violent.
    Season 1 through the first have of the 5th season is very entertaining, keeps a great story line with suspense. The 2nd half of the 5th season is when all hell breaks loose. Edge of your seat entertainment. If you haven't seen Breaking Bad, you are missing out on television history!
    Expand
  91. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've marathon watched breaking bad all 5 seasons from beginning to end, in about a month and a half. is it a good tv series? yes. Is it overrated by the media? hell yes. Overall Breaking Bad is a good tv show, but overrated as heck. The positives: Gustavo Fring and the fear, suspense he bought to the show, Walter White(Bryan cranston) was a very likeable and good actor, it had a lot of suspenseful moments. The negatives: Walter White's family (skyler and his son) were so underwhelming and had no impact on the show except was there to be annoying and to be fillers. The ending (and season 5 in general) was very disappointing; they tried to create a grand ending (with the machine gun and the car); but it just didnt work at all.. to be honest I'll be more content with the series ending at season 4 than watching season 5 and being disappointed. I understand this show is in Walter White's perspective, but to not know what happens after he dies is unacceptable. Like what happened to skyler and jess pinkman? To be honest If I was to reccomend the show to someone, I'll say start watching the show when Gustavo was first introduced, and stop watching after his death. Still a solid show tho. 85/100 Expand
  92. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    One of the best TV Shows ever made, AMC's Breaking Bad proves that creating a new idea and putting that idea to work can indeed work out well. This show has some of the most well-written, well-developed, and overall well-made characters on the small screen. This is a show which you will find yourself losing hours in as you delve into this brilliant work.
  93. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    Ammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzziiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnggggggggg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  94. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Very good acting of bryan cranston, the way he laughed,and threat peoples and family,great story,make sense,and how they make their meth,they sell it,and they got many problems,very logic,this is my favorite tv series,the course that can we learn,very useful for our life
  95. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    This show is perfect. There is not other way to describe it. Excellent acting from all characters with an excellent, entertaining story. There is never a dull or boring moment in this show, all the way from the brilliant pilot to the superb ending. If you haven't seen this show yet, give it try, you won't be disappointed.
  96. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    This is how TV should be done. A story that has never been seen before, tremendous acting skills, and cliffhangers at every turn. If you've never watched Breaking Bad, you should. ****
  97. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. There are of course a few discrepancies but it isn't every day you find a show like this; mature, gripping, intelligent. It's also so ridiculously refreshing to find a high profile mature show which doesn't throw in sex scenes just because it can- retaining its artistic integrity.
  98. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Yeah It's that good. 150 characters worthhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
  99. May 30, 2014
    10
    Breaking Bad is an incredible experience and a T.V show worth watching more than any other. Honestly, it is a hugely interesting and captivating. Bryan Cranston's acting was purely mesmerizing and he rightfully made Breaking Bad one of the most popular shows on T.V!

    "Fulminated Mercury and a bit of chemistry magic."
  100. May 26, 2014
    10
    This is my favourite show at the moment. I love the writing and dialogue, and Bryan Cranston is an amazing actor as well. I'm on season 2 episode 9 on Netflix. You should definitely check this show out.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 70
    The show, so far, doesn’t have quite the right ingredients--it could use something more combustible in the mix.
  2. Breaking Bad mixes desperation and deviousness to yield a volatile, valuable product.
  3. Give Gilligan credit for a pilot, written mostly as one long flashback, that is suspenseful and surprising. Cranston is always fun to watch and Bad is no exception. What's more, a strong supporting cast suggests there is a lot of room for this series to grow.