• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 20, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 3026 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 88
    The acting is as good as you'll see on TV (take a hard look at the genius of RJ Mitte, who really does have CP). And the script and plot are as out-there as creator/writer/producer Vince Gilligan's other series, "The X-Files."
  2. Occasionally, something will pop up to remind us of just how good television can be when smart writers come up with an intriguing concept and execute it well. A case in point is Breaking Bad, an edgy, challenging new series.
  3. Give Gilligan credit for a pilot, written mostly as one long flashback, that is suspenseful and surprising. Cranston is always fun to watch and Bad is no exception. What's more, a strong supporting cast suggests there is a lot of room for this series to grow.
  4. Reviewed by: Julie Hinds
    75
    It sets up a scenario that sends Walt, played by Bryan Cranston ("Malcolm in the Middle"), on an unpredictable, surprisingly fun-to-watch journey that frees him from his law-abiding past.
  5. Cranston's performance alone is enough to keep me watching for a while, but I'd like to see something resembling a completed formula, and soon.
  6. In such rare instances [in the second episode], Breaking Bad achieves a perfect moment of nerdy believability, but too often the series fails to provide details that would help explain its characters' illogical choices.
  7. 50
    Breaking could be a good study of acting, since Cranston and Aaron Paul (as his partner, Jesse) get under the grimy skin of their characters. But there's not enough of the good stuff, like writing, directing, mood, cinematography--you get the point.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 370
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Fantastic acting. Immense writing. Wonderful storyline and the probably the best drama show I've watched for a long time. Glad BB exists. AFantastic acting. Immense writing. Wonderful storyline and the probably the best drama show I've watched for a long time. Glad BB exists. A benchmark for new shows. Expand
  2. BrandonR
    Mar 31, 2010
    10
    The best show I've seen on TV in years.
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best shows on television and if I'm being biased it is the best. The plot is wonderfully woven and ties LITERALLYThis is one of the best shows on television and if I'm being biased it is the best. The plot is wonderfully woven and ties LITERALLY everything together, without a single loose end. You'd be amazed at how many characters and occurrences come back to haunt these poor characters. Every action leads to more consequences, and no good deed (or bad) goes unpunished. This show isn't an action adventure, it's a pretty heavy and dark drama, with just enough comedy to not make it depressing. One thing you must know before watching this show though is that it takes its time, you have to let it move along and place some very necessary pieces that (as I mentioned before) will lead to some very interesting and occasionally intense places. However it isn't ever boring, there is always something going on to entertain you or keep your interest. The longer you watch it, the more you will invest into it, the more you invest into it the more you get out of it, and believe me by (at the very latest) season 3 you will start to really get some awesome stuff out of it.

    All of this is not even mentioning this how has some of the best casting/acting, surpassing, or at the very least tying, even the likes of Game of Thrones. The character development is top-notch, especially for Walter White who, in case you didn't know SPOILER ALERT: goes from the protagonist to the antagonist. It also has some epic cinematography, and sound-design.

    As my favorite show, I of course give it a 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  4. May 12, 2015
    10
    I hate giving out 10s, but this series is deserving of a 10. The character development is among the best that I have ever seen. I alsoI hate giving out 10s, but this series is deserving of a 10. The character development is among the best that I have ever seen. I also appreciate when a series contains a storyline that is not so easy to predict. This series is entertaining in many different ways. Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This is definetly without a shadow of doubt, one of the best series in history, few managed to pull such characters and plot as well as thisThis is definetly without a shadow of doubt, one of the best series in history, few managed to pull such characters and plot as well as this TV series.Although it may seem that it's slow at first, it's pace is not nearly compared as the quality of story planning, acting and direction.
    In this stage where drama and tension simply take over the audience, Bryan Cranston performs brilliantly only to make people dive in even further into this scenario.It is absolutely amazing how AMC shows us the transformation and the path that all these characters go into, it is now crystal clear how powerful this Vince Gilligan's show can get, and how high can it achieve
    Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    9
    The first season of this dark comedy-drama proves to me that the show has earned all the praise I have watched it receive. With excellentThe first season of this dark comedy-drama proves to me that the show has earned all the praise I have watched it receive. With excellent acting, an interesting idea, and unpredictable scenarios, it's one nice slice of compelling TV. It's first 7-episode season is awesome to say the least.

    Watching mild-mannered Walter White (Bryan Cranston) turn into a hardcore meth maker is believable and real. The scenarios the show creates are a mix of family drama, outrageously dark and violent scenarios, and a surprising sense of humor. If you haven't watched it yet then I highly recommend you do. This first season is top-notch entertainment, and one of the best shows I streamed on Netflix. I can't wait to dive into season 2. I give season one a near-perfect score of 9.9/10.
    Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2014
    1
    This has got to be one of the worst TV shows of all time. What do you people see in it? I wanted all the characters killed off except forThis has got to be one of the worst TV shows of all time. What do you people see in it? I wanted all the characters killed off except for Saul. Plot's dull. Storyline stupid... who in their right mind will cook meth in someone else's house while it is supposedly being renovated? Expand

See all 370 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: August 25, 2014
    Find a list of this year's Emmy winners, see how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be, and read reviews of the broadcast (including an assessment of Seth Meyers as host).
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. Television Critics Announce 2014 TCA Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2014 TCA Award Winners Image
    Published: July 20, 2014
    Find a complete list of winners of the 2014 TCA Awards, handed out to the best in the year's television shows and actors by a group of over 200 TV critics and print journalists.
  4. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  5. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  6. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  7. Episode Review: Breaking Bad Series Finale

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad Series Finale Image
    Published: September 29, 2013
    One of television's all-time greatest dramas concluded its five-season run on Sunday night with one final episode. Did Breaking Bad go out on a high note? Find out what critics thought of "Felina," and give us your take.
  8. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Granite State"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 23, 2013
    What did TV critics think about Breaking Bad's penultimate episode? Find out inside.
  9. 2013 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2013 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    Get a list of this year's Emmy winners, find out which experts made the most accurate predictions, and read reviews of host Neil Patrick Harris and the Emmy broadcast from a variety of TV critics.
  10. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Ozymandias"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 15, 2013
    Does episode 514 live up to its advance billing as Breaking Bad's best episode yet? Find out what critics are saying about "Ozymandias" inside.
  11. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "To'hajiilee"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 8, 2013
    Find out what critics think of this week's ultra-intense episode of Breaking Bad's final season, and give us your rating of the episode.
  12. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Rabid Dog"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 1, 2013
    Find out what critics think of the fourth episode of Breaking Bad's final half season, and give us your take as well.
  13. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Confessions"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 26, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about this week's episode of Breaking Bad, and give us your rating.
  14. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Buried"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 18, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about this week's episode of Breaking Bad, and rate the episode yourself.
  15. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Blood Money"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 11, 2013
    Breaking Bad's final season has begun. Find out what critics thought of the season premiere, and add your own rating for the episode.
  16. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  17. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012 Image
    Published: January 8, 2013
    After weeks of voting, we finally have the results of our annual poll. Find out which movies, games, TV shows, albums, and songs ranked among our users' favorites (as well as the most overrated) of 2012.
  18. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  19. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  20. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  21. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  22. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  23. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  24. Episode Review: Breaking Bad Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: October 10, 2011
    What do TV writers think of last night's explosive season finale of "Breaking Bad"? Find out inside, where we have collected reviews from over two dozen critics.
  25. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  26. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  27. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  28. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  29. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  30. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.