• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 20, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Breaking Bad Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 2672 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Creator: Vince Gilligan
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Jan 20, 2008
  • Episode Length: 50
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 88
    The acting is as good as you'll see on TV (take a hard look at the genius of RJ Mitte, who really does have CP). And the script and plot are as out-there as creator/writer/producer Vince Gilligan's other series, "The X-Files."
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    It's an uneven Coen Brothers--like mix of dark comedy and darker moral drama, but Cranston is amazing as a desperate, conflicted gangsta-nerd.
  3. 80
    What this sharp if unsettling show wants to meet head on is middle-class angst, the quiet desperation that starts to unravel in the upstanding when their obligations suddenly seem insurmountable--or what happens when the folly of controlling one's destiny starts to resemble the riskiest of lab experiments.
  4. Reviewed by: Julie Hinds
    75
    It sets up a scenario that sends Walt, played by Bryan Cranston ("Malcolm in the Middle"), on an unpredictable, surprisingly fun-to-watch journey that frees him from his law-abiding past.
  5. It’s the pacing that makes Breaking Bad more of a hard slog than a cautionary joy ride. It has good acting, particularly by Bryan Cranston (“Malcolm in the Middle”), who blends Walt’s sad-sack passivity with glints of wry self-awareness.
  6. Breaking Bad is a bit of a load, more weighted than wacky, and surprisingly predictable for a show whose main character is first discovered wearing a gas mask but no trousers.
  7. 50
    Breaking could be a good study of acting, since Cranston and Aaron Paul (as his partner, Jesse) get under the grimy skin of their characters. But there's not enough of the good stuff, like writing, directing, mood, cinematography--you get the point.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 332
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    It's actually sort of tough to rate the first season of Breaking Bad, because despite setting up the remainder of the show, it's just so damn different from the later seasons. The directing, cinematography, acting, and screenwriting are all fantastic, even if there aren't quite as many great moments as in seasons 2, 3, and 4. Some of the 'yeah, science!' moments were a bit annoying at first glance, but looking deeper there's actually a sort of satirical humor even there, and in any case, that aspect of the show was one of the first to disappear. The writers strike also makes it tough to evaluate the end of the season - I like to think of the second episode of season 2 as the final episode of this arc, which really makes a difference. Expand
  2. BrandonR
    Mar 31, 2010
    10
    The best show I've seen on TV in years.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    my favorite show on TV. only show I've actually been excited to watch and pay attention to when its coming back on. very suspenseful, chilling actors make it feel very real, realistic setups and events. having past family members being involved in meth I've seen what it can do to a normal person and I like that the show presents that in the form of "Mr. white". Not just what it does to a person but what it does to families and communities. Seeing the progress of a high school teacher that finds out he's dying and just wants to leave his family with more than what his life insurance can provide leaves you not knowing if you're cheering for the bad guy or if he has a right to do what he's doing. well not gonna spoil anything for those who haven't seen it but all I can say is its a MUST SEE! Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    Oh, wow.

    I watched the first season already when it came out a few years back, but started watching the rest only a while ago. That
    resulted in me binging the last four seasons, 55 episodes, in four weeks. And those weeks must be the best ones of my life. Well, at least almost.

    This is the way TV should be written. What a character study. It used so many techniques to highlight the depths of human nature. The show cleverly used the environment and objects to highlight the inner feelings of characters. The dialogue was well planned and sharp. The meth cooking was in the end just a small device to explore humanity and what drives people, whether towards good or bad. You know what? I could keep showering this show with praise, but I don't really need to, because most of you already know what I'm talking about.

    What I will however say is this: I cannot understand those people who find this show boring, who think that the long scenes with dialogue are nonsensical. They apparently have no idea about quality writing and how stories are built up! I have no idea what kind of shows give a person satisfaction if Breaking Bad doesn't. This show is deeply emotional. How can a person find a show boring when innocent people in it have to suffer the ramifications of a few people's bad deeds? They say one cannot argue about taste, but when it comes to Breaking Bad, I think one can. All the awards and accolades speak for themselves. If one belongs to the tiny minority of people which doesn't like this show, then one needs to question one's understanding of superb story telling.
    Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    I am barely on Season three and I am pretty much addicted to this show, I mean the story is interesting and keeps you on your toes during every episode. You think you know what's going to happen and then BAM! You weren't expecting this, you're excited for the next episode to play and through out the entire series...you're just like "Oh my god, this is...oh my god."...I recommend you watch this. Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    This show is just amazing,I loved every episode,This is one of my favorite shows......

    But....It's not for everyone ,This show is not safe
    for people under the age of 15....

    But it is enjoyable for pretty much everyone else :D
    Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2014
    3
    I finally took the plunge to join metacritic because it has been so accurate for me in for so many shows, except Breaking Bad. The cinematography was good, and the story was compelling just barely enough that I forced myself to watch the entire series. Overall, the characters have poor chemistry and do unrealistic things for each other, and the show crawls extremely slow: very soapy dialog and long silent shots of scenery. I don't know who's out there running the conspiracy, but I've seen some great shows and this is not one of them: proceed with caution. Expand

See all 332 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: August 25, 2014
    Find a list of this year's Emmy winners, see how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be, and read reviews of the broadcast (including an assessment of Seth Meyers as host).
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. Television Critics Announce 2014 TCA Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2014 TCA Award Winners Image
    Published: July 20, 2014
    Find a complete list of winners of the 2014 TCA Awards, handed out to the best in the year's television shows and actors by a group of over 200 TV critics and print journalists.
  4. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  5. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  6. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  7. Episode Review: Breaking Bad Series Finale

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad Series Finale Image
    Published: September 29, 2013
    One of television's all-time greatest dramas concluded its five-season run on Sunday night with one final episode. Did Breaking Bad go out on a high note? Find out what critics thought of "Felina," and give us your take.
  8. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Granite State"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 23, 2013
    What did TV critics think about Breaking Bad's penultimate episode? Find out inside.
  9. 2013 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2013 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    Get a list of this year's Emmy winners, find out which experts made the most accurate predictions, and read reviews of host Neil Patrick Harris and the Emmy broadcast from a variety of TV critics.
  10. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Ozymandias"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 15, 2013
    Does episode 514 live up to its advance billing as Breaking Bad's best episode yet? Find out what critics are saying about "Ozymandias" inside.
  11. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "To'hajiilee"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 8, 2013
    Find out what critics think of this week's ultra-intense episode of Breaking Bad's final season, and give us your rating of the episode.
  12. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Rabid Dog"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: September 1, 2013
    Find out what critics think of the fourth episode of Breaking Bad's final half season, and give us your take as well.
  13. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Confessions"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 26, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about this week's episode of Breaking Bad, and give us your rating.
  14. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Buried"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 18, 2013
    Find out what critics are saying about this week's episode of Breaking Bad, and rate the episode yourself.
  15. Episode Review: Breaking Bad, "Blood Money"

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad,
    Published: August 11, 2013
    Breaking Bad's final season has begun. Find out what critics thought of the season premiere, and add your own rating for the episode.
  16. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  17. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012 Image
    Published: January 8, 2013
    After weeks of voting, we finally have the results of our annual poll. Find out which movies, games, TV shows, albums, and songs ranked among our users' favorites (as well as the most overrated) of 2012.
  18. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  19. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  20. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  21. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  22. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  23. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  24. Episode Review: Breaking Bad Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Breaking Bad Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: October 10, 2011
    What do TV writers think of last night's explosive season finale of "Breaking Bad"? Find out inside, where we have collected reviews from over two dozen critics.
  25. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  26. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  27. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  28. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  29. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  30. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.