Breaking In : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 6, 2011
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 9, 2011
    6
    Great cast. The writing seems to rely on silly catch phrases (and not even original ones). The entire agency seems to exist mostly to impress the new guy. I did enjoy the pranks (although they were a bit elaborate) and I am a Chistian Slater fan. Here's hoping this was just a case of trying too hard the first time out.
  2. May 18, 2011
    4
    I was really hoping for something from this show but after 7 episodes I give up. Ridiculous can be great and I often love it but this is the other type of ridiculous. The plot conceits are forced and clichéd. The story lines can be seen a mile off and the chemistry just doesn't work. It's not believable even if you take into account the fantasy reality setting. Poor.
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    4
    While this show had some original ideas and was "funny-ish", I found it a little boring. At first I thought it would be a 40 minute drama-comedy, but when I saw it was only 21 minutes, I lost interest since I couldn't imagine the storyline expanding into anything amazing within that time frame. I also find Slater to be a little off-putting in his acting and connecting with other charactersWhile this show had some original ideas and was "funny-ish", I found it a little boring. At first I thought it would be a 40 minute drama-comedy, but when I saw it was only 21 minutes, I lost interest since I couldn't imagine the storyline expanding into anything amazing within that time frame. I also find Slater to be a little off-putting in his acting and connecting with other characters in a very uncomfortable fashion. It's the "Italian Job" meets quirky 30 minute comedy... but not as interesting as it could be. Collapse
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 25, 2011
    63
    This sitcom has the high-tech antics of Chuck and the misfit camaraderie of Community-not bad, but no breakthrough. [2 May 2011, p.38]
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 6, 2011
    40
    It's not painful--there are likable actors and the office setting is loose and fun--but none of the jokes land, at all.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Apr 6, 2011
    30
    [A] mediocre, plastic, utterly false new comedy premiering on Fox tonight--a series that just happens to be built around an all-powerful alpha male jerkwad-type of character.