• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 6, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    From my point of view this episode is awesome and it's pretty original,i mean i didn't see any serial like this before and i believe the it will be a success.The pilot episode and 2nd were very entertaining.I hope they will have more than one season.I saw those episodes on http://breakinginfan.com/
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    Promising show, chemistry between characters (BOOM! goes the dynamite!) is good and i am glad to see Christian Slater back on TV. I hope this one is to stay
  3. Apr 9, 2011
    6
    Great cast. The writing seems to rely on silly catch phrases (and not even original ones). The entire agency seems to exist mostly to impress the new guy. I did enjoy the pranks (although they were a bit elaborate) and I am a Chistian Slater fan. Here's hoping this was just a case of trying too hard the first time out.
  4. May 18, 2011
    4
    I was really hoping for something from this show but after 7 episodes I give up. Ridiculous can be great and I often love it but this is the other type of ridiculous. The plot conceits are forced and clichéd. The story lines can be seen a mile off and the chemistry just doesn't work. It's not believable even if you take into account the fantasy reality setting. Poor.
  5. May 11, 2011
    8
    Breaking In is a funny show, i like it, it is sad that it is getting canceled, but each episode is unique and worth watching, its really funny and i can't wait for the season finale, Oz is great
  6. Apr 18, 2011
    4
    While this show had some original ideas and was "funny-ish", I found it a little boring. At first I thought it would be a 40 minute drama-comedy, but when I saw it was only 21 minutes, I lost interest since I couldn't imagine the storyline expanding into anything amazing within that time frame. I also find Slater to be a little off-putting in his acting and connecting with other characters in a very uncomfortable fashion. It's the "Italian Job" meets quirky 30 minute comedy... but not as interesting as it could be. Expand
  7. May 12, 2011
    8
    When I first saw this show I liked it but didn't think it had longevity. After watching the 5th episode last night, it just keeps getting funnier and I am now really starting to like it. I don't particularly like Christian Slater's character Oz very much, nor the main character but all the supporting roles are great. Would also like to see a bit more character development and wish the episodes were a bit longer. Expand
  8. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    You know what, I liked this show. I'm a fan of Bret Harrison's from "Reaper", I'm a huge fan of Odette Yustman's from "October Road", and Christian Slater? Come on. His character Oz is almost the same as his character from "Kuffs"! Fox cancelled this show just like they have so many other great shows...too soon.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 25, 2011
    63
    This sitcom has the high-tech antics of Chuck and the misfit camaraderie of Community-not bad, but no breakthrough. [2 May 2011, p.38]
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 6, 2011
    40
    It's not painful--there are likable actors and the office setting is loose and fun--but none of the jokes land, at all.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Apr 6, 2011
    30
    [A] mediocre, plastic, utterly false new comedy premiering on Fox tonight--a series that just happens to be built around an all-powerful alpha male jerkwad-type of character.