• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 6, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Breaking In Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Christian Slater is Oz, the owner of a security firm, who hires the college student who tried to hack into his school's systems to join his team of security experts.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 5, 2011
    83
    With its debonair, jump-cut editing, Breaking In is a vigorously original, joke-packed bit of fun that could develop into something special. I'm serious, my Wookiee.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Apr 6, 2011
    75
    The show runs rampant with rapid-fire dialogue and sly pop-culture references. The cast is strong.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 5, 2011
    70
    The pilot works a little hard--not one but two characters get catchphrases, which happily evaporate by the second episode--but plenty of good things come out in the effort, and better things seem likely to come.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Apr 5, 2011
    63
    The show's attempt to turn Oz's "I'll allow it" into a catchphrase is a bit tiresome, but otherwise, the characters and the plot twists combine to make the time pass painlessly.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 5, 2011
    50
    Although Harrison's baffled newcomer, Slater's mysterious honcho and the elaborate CalTech-style pranks have potential, there's cause to fear the gizmo-driven plots will become repetitive quickly. And while the pilot is fast-paced--with rapid-fire flashes to visual gags, almost like one of Seth MacFarlane's animated Fox comedies--it's not like the nerd-spy-girl template has enabled "Chuck" to hack its way into the hearts of Nielsen viewers (or at least, their peoplemeters).
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 6, 2011
    40
    This isn't a terrible show, because that might make it memorable. Instead, it falls into that category of being fairly clever without really being funny or all that amusing.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 5, 2011
    0
    This series is a complete mis-fire. There are no relatable characters, every joke's a dud and Slater seems to have no earthly idea what's befallen him.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    From my point of view this episode is awesome and it's pretty original,i mean i didn't see any serial like this before and i believe the itFrom my point of view this episode is awesome and it's pretty original,i mean i didn't see any serial like this before and i believe the it will be a success.The pilot episode and 2nd were very entertaining.I hope they will have more than one season.I saw those episodes on http://breakinginfan.com/ Collapse
  2. May 12, 2011
    8
    When I first saw this show I liked it but didn't think it had longevity. After watching the 5th episode last night, it just keeps gettingWhen I first saw this show I liked it but didn't think it had longevity. After watching the 5th episode last night, it just keeps getting funnier and I am now really starting to like it. I don't particularly like Christian Slater's character Oz very much, nor the main character but all the supporting roles are great. Would also like to see a bit more character development and wish the episodes were a bit longer. Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    Promising show, chemistry between characters (BOOM! goes the dynamite!) is good and i am glad to see Christian Slater back on TV. I hope thisPromising show, chemistry between characters (BOOM! goes the dynamite!) is good and i am glad to see Christian Slater back on TV. I hope this one is to stay Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    You know what, I liked this show. I'm a fan of Bret Harrison's from "Reaper", I'm a huge fan of Odette Yustman's from "October Road", andYou know what, I liked this show. I'm a fan of Bret Harrison's from "Reaper", I'm a huge fan of Odette Yustman's from "October Road", and Christian Slater? Come on. His character Oz is almost the same as his character from "Kuffs"! Fox cancelled this show just like they have so many other great shows...too soon. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2011
    6
    Great cast. The writing seems to rely on silly catch phrases (and not even original ones). The entire agency seems to exist mostly toGreat cast. The writing seems to rely on silly catch phrases (and not even original ones). The entire agency seems to exist mostly to impress the new guy. I did enjoy the pranks (although they were a bit elaborate) and I am a Chistian Slater fan. Here's hoping this was just a case of trying too hard the first time out. Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2011
    4
    While this show had some original ideas and was "funny-ish", I found it a little boring. At first I thought it would be a 40 minuteWhile this show had some original ideas and was "funny-ish", I found it a little boring. At first I thought it would be a 40 minute drama-comedy, but when I saw it was only 21 minutes, I lost interest since I couldn't imagine the storyline expanding into anything amazing within that time frame. I also find Slater to be a little off-putting in his acting and connecting with other characters in a very uncomfortable fashion. It's the "Italian Job" meets quirky 30 minute comedy... but not as interesting as it could be. Expand
  7. May 18, 2011
    4
    I was really hoping for something from this show but after 7 episodes I give up. Ridiculous can be great and I often love it but this is theI was really hoping for something from this show but after 7 episodes I give up. Ridiculous can be great and I often love it but this is the other type of ridiculous. The plot conceits are forced and clichéd. The story lines can be seen a mile off and the chemistry just doesn't work. It's not believable even if you take into account the fantasy reality setting. Poor. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews