Broad City : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Broad City Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Produced by Amy Poehler, the web comedy about two twenty-something best friends (Abbi Jacobson and Ilana Glazer) in New York City comes to television.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Broad City
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 21, 2014
    100
    They know how to nail situations/characters, while snappy edits cull fluff, leaving only comic gold.
  2. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Jan 21, 2014
    91
    Broad City presents a recognizable, recognizably hilarious perspective on what trying-but-failing looks like from the inside.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 21, 2014
    88
    This outgrowth of a cult-hit web series is a lighter, wackier and often funnier version of HBO’s “Girls.”
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 22, 2014
    75
    Its two featured newcomers skid along just fine, earning exceedingly small victories en route.
  5. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 21, 2014
    70
    The series got its start on the Internet and is more linear, unpolished and narrowly comedic than “Girls” on HBO--Abbi and Ilana are so feckless that they make Lena Dunham’s Hannah seem like Warren Buffett.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 21, 2014
    70
    Adapted from its Web format, Broad City is hardly a fully formed exercise just yet, but with a clear comic voice (Jacobson and Glazer are also the writers) it merits the time to find itself.
  7. 50
    Problem is, these same episodes lurch between nuanced observation of real-world trivialities and goofy sketch comedy exaggeration, and their flashes of spiky personality don't alleviate the feeling that, content-wise, the show is stuck in that regrettably familiar commercial cable bind: not safe, exactly, but not dangerous, either.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 9 out of 22
  1. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    I real surprise. I found myself favoring this show over the bathroom humor of workaholics (although there is admittedly a hilarious bathroomI real surprise. I found myself favoring this show over the bathroom humor of workaholics (although there is admittedly a hilarious bathroom scene in episode 7). The wedding episode was one of the funniest things I've seen on television in quite a while. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2015
    10
    The best comedy show out there. The gags are just incredible, every single episode is funnier than the previous.

    Continue like this and you
    The best comedy show out there. The gags are just incredible, every single episode is funnier than the previous.

    Continue like this and you will make billions!
    Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    Fantastic show. People are so attuned to one "form" of sitcom that any other attempt at creating comedy just flies over their head. IgnoreFantastic show. People are so attuned to one "form" of sitcom that any other attempt at creating comedy just flies over their head. Ignore them because Broad City is good and most importantly VERY confident of what it wants to be. That is incredibly rare for any series this early, the leads' friendly chemistry bouncing off each other perfectly and the low-stakes of the story makes it far more relatable than any "twenty-somethings in big city" show you've heard of in past decade (looking especially at you GIRLS).

    On top of it, Broad City is plain funny. It's leads or it's side/recurring characters throwing off incredibly smart array of comedy ranging from vulgar to deadpan.

    This is great and hilarious stuff and I can only imagine how good this will get a few seasons in.
    Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    8
    As a dude who loved workaholics I was hesitant (Expecting the typical vag and tampon woman humor), but I love the chemistry and it's creative.As a dude who loved workaholics I was hesitant (Expecting the typical vag and tampon woman humor), but I love the chemistry and it's creative. The guest stars are great. The pilot isn't fantastic but it gets better afterwards. Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    3
    I watched the first episode and honestly didn't laugh once. The jokes weren't funny, the plot was lame and the acting seemed REALLY forced.I watched the first episode and honestly didn't laugh once. The jokes weren't funny, the plot was lame and the acting seemed REALLY forced. Like high school girls doing skit comedy. maybe it will get better with the next episodes Collapse
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    2
    The first episode was terrible. Hannibal Buress was the only bright spot in the entire thing. Just brutal, unfunny television. Can't imagineThe first episode was terrible. Hannibal Buress was the only bright spot in the entire thing. Just brutal, unfunny television. Can't imagine going back for episode two. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2016
    0
    Felt like this was a forced version of a female version of workaholics. I wanted to like the show, but I can't. I will try to watch the nextFelt like this was a forced version of a female version of workaholics. I wanted to like the show, but I can't. I will try to watch the next two seasons, because my friends insists its funny. The skits aren't funny and the characters are rather annoying. It's a good show for immature high school girls experimenting with pot, other than that I don't see the appeal. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.