Broadchurch Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Recently transferred Detective Inspector Alec Hardy (David Tennant) takes the lead of the investigation into the death of 11-year-old Danny Latimer (Oskar McNamara) in the fictional Dorset town of Broadchurch over local Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller (Olivia Colman).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Masterfully written by Chibnall and brilliantly executed by a superb ensemble cast.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Aug 6, 2013
    100
    Broadchurch manages to be both a finely crafted piece of suspenseful entertainment and also an emotionally resonant examination of grief, loss and moral confusion.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Aug 7, 2013
    100
    In an embarrassment of riches, this series is littered with numerous quality acting performances. It's just a thing of beauty all the way around.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Aug 2, 2013
    91
    Broadchurch is a gripping portrait of small-town paranoia.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Aug 7, 2013
    90
    A dozen characters, played by the inevitably glorious assortment of British actors, crisscross in an astonishingly fluid game of cat's cradle, bringing this small town miraculously to life but never straying too far, or too absurdly, from the narrative through line.
  6. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Aug 5, 2013
    90
    Broadchurch is beautifully crafted: well filmed, well cast, well scored, atmospheric without being a drag. It also has a striking mixture of cruel insight and sentimental warmth that elevates it above cheaper concoctions.
  7. 60
    Broadchurch excels at showing the awkward moments between the briskly delivered plot points, and the small details of voice and gesture that define communities in mourning (or guilty panic), and it has the good sense not to overdo anything.... And yet there's something fundamentally unsatisfying about the whole thing, as smart and intricately structured as it is--and it has nothing whatsoever to do with any writing or acting or filmmaking issues, and everything to do with the fact that we've just been to this particular narrative well too many times in 2013.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    A drama of the finest quality. It grants the audience unique insights into the lives of the characters whilst reminding us that we can never really know who they are or how they really feel.

    An outstanding achievement from the actors, writers, cinematographers and everyone in between.
    Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    The best crime procedural I have ever seen and nothing really comes close.

    It stands head and shoulders above shows like the Killing and
    Top of the Lake.

    As some others have said, imagine the very best elements from the very best episode of Law and Order. Now add in serious character development, a materially more complex and compelling protagonist, and a finale that is at once profoundly upsetting and deeply moving and you have one of the best seasons of television ever. Period.
    Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    Formidable series. I felt like I was watching a great mystery novel, with each episode a new chapter unveiling deeper levels into the human psyche each and every week. I was initially drawn to the series simply for the cast (Olivia Colman in particular, for her fantastic performance in Tyrannosaur), but stayed for the human drama, gorgeous imagery and compelling storytelling. Highly recommend checking it out. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    A top nothing drama of the highest quality. Actors, storyline, camera work, music are what make this show captivating. Thank you BBC. Please continue to schedule shows like this on BBC America. Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    I'm not really a person who watches cop shows, primarily because I can never seem to find many good ones. Just by watching the premiere of Broadchurch, I can tell you that this show stands out from other shows of the same genre. The emotional drama and writing was enough to make my eyes tear up with emotion in the first episode. I am expecting great things from this show and I hope that i will not be disappointed. Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollo y mi votación es de 8. Un saludo. Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nine hours of my life I will never get back.......David Tennant mumbles his way throughout the entire series.....filled with visual gimmicks and cheap red herring devices......facile "lessons" ...."how could you NOT know"......filled with one dimensional characters, mouthing unbelievable dialogue......I wanted to retch at the conclusion when the perp explained his actions by saying he was in love with an 11 year old boy......still not enough?.....the torch lighting ceremony at the end was simply a kick in the groin for anyone who has not been lobotomized. Chris should stick to writing Dr. Who episodes......Rave reviews from the critics led me to this series.....that won't happen again......I fell much like the murdered 11 year old boy.....used and abused......and now there is a SECOND season?.....unbelievable! Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.