Broadchurch : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
Broadchurch Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Recently transferred Detective Inspector Alec Hardy (David Tennant) takes the lead of the investigation into the death of 11-year-old Danny Latimer (Oskar McNamara) in the fictional Dorset town of Broadchurch over local Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller (Olivia Colman).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Broadchurch
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Aug 6, 2013
    100
    As always, execution matters. Broadchurch's is practically note-perfect.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Aug 6, 2013
    100
    Broadchurch manages to be both a finely crafted piece of suspenseful entertainment and also an emotionally resonant examination of grief, loss and moral confusion.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Aug 7, 2013
    100
    In an embarrassment of riches, this series is littered with numerous quality acting performances. It's just a thing of beauty all the way around.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Aug 2, 2013
    91
    Broadchurch is a gripping portrait of small-town paranoia.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Aug 7, 2013
    90
    A dozen characters, played by the inevitably glorious assortment of British actors, crisscross in an astonishingly fluid game of cat's cradle, bringing this small town miraculously to life but never straying too far, or too absurdly, from the narrative through line.
  6. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Aug 5, 2013
    90
    Broadchurch is beautifully crafted: well filmed, well cast, well scored, atmospheric without being a drag. It also has a striking mixture of cruel insight and sentimental warmth that elevates it above cheaper concoctions.
  7. 60
    Broadchurch excels at showing the awkward moments between the briskly delivered plot points, and the small details of voice and gesture that define communities in mourning (or guilty panic), and it has the good sense not to overdo anything.... And yet there's something fundamentally unsatisfying about the whole thing, as smart and intricately structured as it is--and it has nothing whatsoever to do with any writing or acting or filmmaking issues, and everything to do with the fact that we've just been to this particular narrative well too many times in 2013.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52
  1. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    A drama of the finest quality. It grants the audience unique insights into the lives of the characters whilst reminding us that we can neverA drama of the finest quality. It grants the audience unique insights into the lives of the characters whilst reminding us that we can never really know who they are or how they really feel.

    An outstanding achievement from the actors, writers, cinematographers and everyone in between.
    Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2015
    10
    Broadchurch is one of the best dramas I have ever seen. For me, it wasn't the mistery of the murder that got my interest, but the humanBroadchurch is one of the best dramas I have ever seen. For me, it wasn't the mistery of the murder that got my interest, but the human emotions. The characters, their drama, their pain, their coping with the loss of a child. No one is entirely innocent there. They are good people (well, except for the one that murdered Danny), but they made mistakes and learn to live with them. The entire cast was spectacular, but the two leads, Colman and Tennant just shone! They bring the best out of each other and as a team, they are gold!
    What is more to say about this show? Brilliant drama, magnificent acting and filming, the music was beautifully haunting and the story, well...gripping. A beautifully made drama. Of course, it's all about taste, some would not like this genre, but I was fascinated!
    Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    The best crime procedural I have ever seen and nothing really comes close.

    It stands head and shoulders above shows like the Killing and
    The best crime procedural I have ever seen and nothing really comes close.

    It stands head and shoulders above shows like the Killing and Top of the Lake.

    As some others have said, imagine the very best elements from the very best episode of Law and Order. Now add in serious character development, a materially more complex and compelling protagonist, and a finale that is at once profoundly upsetting and deeply moving and you have one of the best seasons of television ever. Period.
    Collapse
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    And one day everybody was talking about Broadchurch...
    Intense from beginning to end. Great scenery (actually both the cliff and the sea made
    And one day everybody was talking about Broadchurch...
    Intense from beginning to end. Great scenery (actually both the cliff and the sea made me feel weird). David Tennant, Olivia Colman, and Jodie Whittaker's performances were excellent and really moving. Broadchurch is a great show one of a kind. Just watch!
    Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2016
    9
    Anything that takes time to be cured and later be prepared, braised, savored and then consumed. This would be the series for you. The bestAnything that takes time to be cured and later be prepared, braised, savored and then consumed. This would be the series for you. The best dramas are always the ones you'd easily connect to. You'd probably be guessing who, why and what did they do to commit the crime in every episode. If you are intrigued with what you are reading so far, this would be a series worth spending time watching. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2016
    8
    A fresh,new thrilling series with what at first seems like a simple plot bur later it turns out to be one of the finest english series fromA fresh,new thrilling series with what at first seems like a simple plot bur later it turns out to be one of the finest english series from the recent series. All the Actors have played their part very well and the Cinematography ist stunning. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pedophilia is of course not funny but the British obsession with it is indeed a joke. In the outwardly charming hamlet of Broadchurch, everybody is a closet pedophile, a suspected pedophile, or married to a pedophile. This is not an exaggeration. The series ends on a jarring and offensively religious-sanctimonious note, which I probably should have seen coming given the inclusion of the especially annoying clairvoyant character who pops in every so often bearing messages from the dead child. And what is up with that anti-abortion propaganda? We are told that an unwanted pregnancy is God giving you not what you want, but what you need. Rubbish. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.