Broadchurch Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: David Tennant, Olivia Colman, Andrew Buchan
  • Summary: Recently transferred Detective Inspector Alec Hardy (David Tennant) takes the lead of the investigation into the death of 11-year-old Danny Latimer (Oskar McNamara) in the fictional Dorset town of Broadchurch over local Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller (Olivia Colman).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
  • Creator: Chris Chibnall
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Mar 4, 2013
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Masterfully written by Chibnall and brilliantly executed by a superb ensemble cast.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Aug 6, 2013
    100
    Broadchurch manages to be both a finely crafted piece of suspenseful entertainment and also an emotionally resonant examination of grief, loss and moral confusion.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Aug 7, 2013
    100
    In an embarrassment of riches, this series is littered with numerous quality acting performances. It's just a thing of beauty all the way around.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Aug 2, 2013
    91
    Broadchurch is a gripping portrait of small-town paranoia.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Aug 7, 2013
    90
    A dozen characters, played by the inevitably glorious assortment of British actors, crisscross in an astonishingly fluid game of cat's cradle, bringing this small town miraculously to life but never straying too far, or too absurdly, from the narrative through line.
  6. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Aug 5, 2013
    90
    Broadchurch is beautifully crafted: well filmed, well cast, well scored, atmospheric without being a drag. It also has a striking mixture of cruel insight and sentimental warmth that elevates it above cheaper concoctions.
  7. 60
    Broadchurch excels at showing the awkward moments between the briskly delivered plot points, and the small details of voice and gesture that define communities in mourning (or guilty panic), and it has the good sense not to overdo anything.... And yet there's something fundamentally unsatisfying about the whole thing, as smart and intricately structured as it is--and it has nothing whatsoever to do with any writing or acting or filmmaking issues, and everything to do with the fact that we've just been to this particular narrative well too many times in 2013.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    A drama of the finest quality. It grants the audience unique insights into the lives of the characters whilst reminding us that we can neverA drama of the finest quality. It grants the audience unique insights into the lives of the characters whilst reminding us that we can never really know who they are or how they really feel.

    An outstanding achievement from the actors, writers, cinematographers and everyone in between.
    Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2014
    10
    I just started watching Broadchurch last night on Netflix, David Tennant is ever so amazing as he was in Doctor Who. Along side with OliviaI just started watching Broadchurch last night on Netflix, David Tennant is ever so amazing as he was in Doctor Who. Along side with Olivia Colman, they make the perfect duo for a terrific British Crime Drama. Thank you BBC for yet another amazing Crime Drama! You never fail to impress me. (: Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    This was a great and I wish I saw it earlier. This was way better than The Killing. The story is laid out perfectly and it goes alongThis was a great and I wish I saw it earlier. This was way better than The Killing. The story is laid out perfectly and it goes along smoothly. Each episode is very intense and extremely emotional. The writing and direction are top notch. I'm really glad the season was only 8 episodes. No filler whatsoever. As the story went darker and sadder, the viewer is just moved emotionally. You feel for the family, the town, the people. It's that emotional of a show. The show is simple, yet complex. Character development is fantastic and the characters are enjoyable to watch. David Tennant is just amazing in the show. His acting is incredible. The rest of the cast is also fantastic. The style and direction of each episode reflects the show perfectly. I fell in love with the show with the first episode and it was amazing for the whole season. It did not stumble like some shows near the end of the season. One of the best things about the show was the use of beautiful beach shots and haunting score. Most shows do not sure the score to their advantage. The dark and absorbing score allowed certain scenes to have more intensity. It was beautiful to hear. The show was amazing from start to finish. The writers developed an interesting and intense story. They also brought real emotions to the viewers. All in all, one of the best shows of 2013. Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Brilliant acting! While the story is not perfect, it's still good, and it will capture your attention!
    David Trennant plays the "cool, I
    Brilliant acting! While the story is not perfect, it's still good, and it will capture your attention!
    David Trennant plays the "cool, I don't give a about anything" detective, and damn, he's good at it, outstanding!
    Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    A fantastic show, developing the characters through the outstanding cast. Standing out would normally be difficult but I thought OliviaA fantastic show, developing the characters through the outstanding cast. Standing out would normally be difficult but I thought Olivia Colman's performance in the final episode was truly breathtaking. The show starts off extremely well and crescendos to a phenomenal middle but perhaps waned towards the end stopping it from being the best show of the year. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    One of the best series I've seen in a while..Excellent character development. Great camera work. More and more sub-plots as the series goesOne of the best series I've seen in a while..Excellent character development. Great camera work. More and more sub-plots as the series goes on. Keeps you on edge right to the final episode. two thumbs up! Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Nine hours of my life I will never get back.......David Tennant mumbles his way throughout the entire series.....filled with visual gimmicks and cheap red herring devices......facile "lessons" ...."how could you NOT know"......filled with one dimensional characters, mouthing unbelievable dialogue......I wanted to retch at the conclusion when the perp explained his actions by saying he was in love with an 11 year old boy......still not enough?.....the torch lighting ceremony at the end was simply a kick in the groin for anyone who has not been lobotomized. Chris should stick to writing Dr. Who episodes......Rave reviews from the critics led me to this series.....that won't happen again......I fell much like the murdered 11 year old boy.....used and abused......and now there is a SECOND season?.....unbelievable! Collapse

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.