• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Andre Braugher, Melissa Fumero, Andy Samberg
  • Summary: New police Captain Ray Holt (Andre Braugher) finds he has his hands full with detectives Jake Peralta (Andy Samberg), Amy Santiago (Melissa Fumero), Charles Boyle (Joe Lo Truglio), Rosa Diaz (Stephanie Beatriz), Sgt. Terry Jeffords (Terry Crews), and office manager Gina Linetti (Chelsea Peretti).
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 27, 2013
    100
    Brooklyn Nine-Nine is fine as it is. Tell your DVR to book it. [9 Dec 2013, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Sep 11, 2013
    83
    Fortunately, you don't have to take the former SNL star too seriously to roll with Brooklyn Nine-Nine, a sitcom from the producers of Parks and Recreation that smartly pokes at police-show tropes and creates a promising comedy playground where the Motherlovin' jester can cut loose.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 17, 2013
    80
    There's considerable cast chemistry, but also nice touches as the cops go about their business, when in the middle of tense stand-offs and perp pursuits they encounter stubborn Brooklyn-ites who refuse to get out of their way.
  4. Reviewed by: Luis Sanchez
    Sep 11, 2013
    75
    The strength of Brooklyn Nine-Nine is in the way it summons the communal spirit of those shows [Parks and Recreation, The Office, and 30 Rock] to not only poke fun at crime-show clichés, but also reinterpret them with a fresh and idiosyncratic comedic point of view.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 17, 2013
    70
    Brooklyn Nine-Nine isn’t uproarious yet, but pilots, even of good sitcoms, rarely are. (It took Parks and Recreation an entire season to figure out its tone.) What Brooklyn Nine-Nine has, unlike many of the other new fall comedies, is intelligent design.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    67
    No one will accuse 'Brooklyn Nine-Nine' of too much authenticity, but it does have a confident breeziness in its banter that almost immediately locates a ['Barney Miller']-esque balance in the more absurd aspects of law enforcement.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 17, 2013
    20
    It’s badly written.... And it’s horribly miscast.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    One of the better pilots I've seen in a long time. Cast is great and they already have a rapport in only one episode. I laughed out loudOne of the better pilots I've seen in a long time. Cast is great and they already have a rapport in only one episode. I laughed out loud several times, which was nice after sitting through the train-wreck of Dads. If you like Parks & Rec, 30 Rock, The Office (meaning smart, well-written, well-acted shows) then you will enjoy this as well. It fits well with New Girl and Mindy. Oh, and referring to another review on here, in what universe is a gay black cop a stereotype? Collapse
  2. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    Very funny show that I look forward to each week. Braugher's straightman character bounces well of Samberg's character. That means it willVery funny show that I look forward to each week. Braugher's straightman character bounces well of Samberg's character. That means it will be cancelled soon. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This was a surprisingly funny show. I wasn't a big fan of Andy Samberg until I saw this show. Andre Braugher's deadpan delivery is a perfectThis was a surprisingly funny show. I wasn't a big fan of Andy Samberg until I saw this show. Andre Braugher's deadpan delivery is a perfect foil for Samberg's zany comedy. I laughed out loud many times during the show. In addition to the comedic aspects, this show also has heart. The characters seem genuine and the whole cast is great. I hope everyone gives this show a try. Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    It is a hilarious show full of slapstick and rude humor. If you enjoyed Modern Family then this is an absolute yes. The only thing that couldIt is a hilarious show full of slapstick and rude humor. If you enjoyed Modern Family then this is an absolute yes. The only thing that could be improved would be some of the story lines. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2014
    8
    It took a while before I'd consider Brooklyn Nine-Nine great but it's now far and away the best new comedy this Season. Seriously, this hasIt took a while before I'd consider Brooklyn Nine-Nine great but it's now far and away the best new comedy this Season. Seriously, this has potential to be the new The Office, in my mind. However, despite being set in a workplace environment, this isn't as similar to the now classic as some people billed it to be. Rather than making everyone in the precinct wildly unrelatable, the writers have done an exceptional job of making us fall in love with these detectives. After the initial episodes, where it was mostly entertaining but inconsequential sketches, the show blossoms into a brilliant character driven comedy.

    In fact, if there's any comedy that reminds me of, it wouldn't be The Office. This more reminds me of the earlier Seasons of How I Met Your Mother, when the humour worked because the characters where so much more than silly comic book-esque stereotypes. I mean yeah, most elite comedies manage to have great characters but they're usually not all that likeable. Shows like Arrested Development and The Larry Sanders Show thrive on being bitingly satirical. Would I like to hang out with Lucille Bluth? Hell no. How about Andy Samberg's Jake Peralta? Hell yes.

    Peralta's an interesting case since he comes off as a serial **** at first. Throughout the course of the Season, the writers have taken huge steps in making our main character more personable character. The dude's really passionate about his job and cocky attitude turns audiences off at the opening of the show. It's not surprising since even the aforementioned The Office and Arrested Development thrived in seeing the most normal of the cast members deal with the antics of the people around them. Nevertheless, without feeling unnatural, Peralta transforms into a more admirable person.

    The straight faced Ray Holt, played perfectly by Andre Braugher, plays a huge role in Peralta's development. Holt is the new boss of the Nine-Nine and he won't take any of Peralta's **** It's not a one sided development either; one of the show's best aspects comes in these two characters influencing each other. Peralta's is no longer as arrogant (though he'd still never lose a bet if he can help it) and Holt's become more excepting of the detectives' various quirks.

    The rest of the cast often seems equally vital to how the show works. Amy Santiago (Melissa Fumero) works as Peralta's love interest and rival, which is fitting given their personality types. Santiago is constantly looking to impress Holt with good police work, while Peralta is constantly flashy and over-dramatic with his arrests. Peralta often teases Santiago like the immature person he is but he knows he has an attraction to her deep down. I've realized just how much I've bought into this pairing in a sweet scene in "Charges and Specs", Season 1's finale.

    Charles Boyle (Joe Lo Truglio) and Rosa Diaz (Stephanie Beatriz) are possibly the best sources of comedy on the show. Diaz's sarcastic remarks and Boyle's naivety work great whether the pair are together or apart. The show also seems intent on shipping the two together which I have mixed feelings about.

    Characters like Terry Jeffords (Terry Crews) and Gina Linetti (Chelsea Peretti) sometimes fade into the background. They've had their hilarious moments (Jeffords is "an enormous, muscular Ellen Degeneres," after all) but they don't always seem like the most vital characters. Hitchcock (Dirk Blocker) and Scully (Joel McKinnon Miller) are the definition of side characters, as they're so obviously parodies of those two detectives that nobody remembers from the first Season of The Wire.

    Brooklyn Nine-Nine is a cop show and it never lets you forget that. Writers take cop drama tropes and make them entertaining again. The writing here is mostly stellar, with only a few misfires. The only large complaint that I can think of otherwise is the sometimes zany pacing that makes the odd episode feel disjointed.

    In the midst of an era where every comedy seems to go for the low hanging fruit like sexual orientation, gender stereotypes, and race, Brooklyn Nine-Nine is a breath of fresh air. Holt is gay, and the writers never poke fun at it. It seems normal, as it should be, and lesser writers would create homosexual characters for the sole purpose of making fun of him. Holt's the most badass character on the show and the laughs he inspire do not come from the fact that he's gay.

    After, a so-so start, Brooklyn Nine-Nine has become something special. We've already got some star talent on cast, but the show has also attracted guest stars such as Adam Sandler (not his biggest fan but he's very popular) and Craig Robinson. B99's been a great success story for FOX, so here's to many more awesome Seasons.
    Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    6
    Seems like it is right on the line between the typical network sitcom and something really creative and interesting. I hope future episodes doSeems like it is right on the line between the typical network sitcom and something really creative and interesting. I hope future episodes do not fall into the trap of the easy jokes we have seen many times before. If this evolves into a really intelligent comedy, I will up my rating, and keep on watching. Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2013
    0
    Samberg is annoyingly smug in his delivery, demanding a laugh out of every syllable he spews. It needs to dial down the hideous snarkSamberg is annoyingly smug in his delivery, demanding a laugh out of every syllable he spews. It needs to dial down the hideous snark all-around. Barney Miller was the last good urban cop show. This is a steamy pile. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.