• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Andre Braugher, Melissa Fumero, Andy Samberg
  • Summary: New police Captain Ray Holt (Andre Braugher) finds he has his hands full with detectives Jake Peralta (Andy Samberg), Amy Santiago (Melissa Fumero), Charles Boyle (Joe Lo Truglio), Rosa Diaz (Stephanie Beatriz), Sgt. Terry Jeffords (Terry Crews), and office manager Gina Linetti (Chelsea Peretti).
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 27, 2013
    100
    Brooklyn Nine-Nine is fine as it is. Tell your DVR to book it. [9 Dec 2013, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Sep 11, 2013
    83
    Fortunately, you don't have to take the former SNL star too seriously to roll with Brooklyn Nine-Nine, a sitcom from the producers of Parks and Recreation that smartly pokes at police-show tropes and creates a promising comedy playground where the Motherlovin' jester can cut loose.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 17, 2013
    80
    There's considerable cast chemistry, but also nice touches as the cops go about their business, when in the middle of tense stand-offs and perp pursuits they encounter stubborn Brooklyn-ites who refuse to get out of their way.
  4. Reviewed by: Luis Sanchez
    Sep 11, 2013
    75
    The strength of Brooklyn Nine-Nine is in the way it summons the communal spirit of those shows [Parks and Recreation, The Office, and 30 Rock] to not only poke fun at crime-show clichés, but also reinterpret them with a fresh and idiosyncratic comedic point of view.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 17, 2013
    70
    Brooklyn Nine-Nine isn’t uproarious yet, but pilots, even of good sitcoms, rarely are. (It took Parks and Recreation an entire season to figure out its tone.) What Brooklyn Nine-Nine has, unlike many of the other new fall comedies, is intelligent design.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    67
    No one will accuse 'Brooklyn Nine-Nine' of too much authenticity, but it does have a confident breeziness in its banter that almost immediately locates a ['Barney Miller']-esque balance in the more absurd aspects of law enforcement.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 17, 2013
    20
    It’s badly written.... And it’s horribly miscast.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 8 out of 50
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    One of the better pilots I've seen in a long time. Cast is great and they already have a rapport in only one episode. I laughed out loudOne of the better pilots I've seen in a long time. Cast is great and they already have a rapport in only one episode. I laughed out loud several times, which was nice after sitting through the train-wreck of Dads. If you like Parks & Rec, 30 Rock, The Office (meaning smart, well-written, well-acted shows) then you will enjoy this as well. It fits well with New Girl and Mindy. Oh, and referring to another review on here, in what universe is a gay black cop a stereotype? Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    Very funny show that I look forward to each week. Braugher's straightman character bounces well of Samberg's character. That means it willVery funny show that I look forward to each week. Braugher's straightman character bounces well of Samberg's character. That means it will be cancelled soon. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This was a surprisingly funny show. I wasn't a big fan of Andy Samberg until I saw this show. Andre Braugher's deadpan delivery is a perfectThis was a surprisingly funny show. I wasn't a big fan of Andy Samberg until I saw this show. Andre Braugher's deadpan delivery is a perfect foil for Samberg's zany comedy. I laughed out loud many times during the show. In addition to the comedic aspects, this show also has heart. The characters seem genuine and the whole cast is great. I hope everyone gives this show a try. Collapse
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    8
    Compared to so many other shows premiering this fall, this is one of the more entertaining comedies to premier. Call me a sucker for no laughCompared to so many other shows premiering this fall, this is one of the more entertaining comedies to premier. Call me a sucker for no laugh track comedies I guess but this one is a solid entry in the fall line up. There are some premiers where, after watching, you can say "this is a hit" and some that you may think "doomed to failure". This one may not be a lock in the hit category but is far closer to that than the latter.

    Samberg is very good at playing the immature hot shot, yet quite competent cop, surrounded by a supporting cast, each with distinct personalities that make them all fun and interesting. The chemistry between the cast members can be felt... similar to that of The Office (although The Office still has characters that are tough to beat).

    Its not a laugh a minute pilot episode perhaps but it gave me some good laughs and had me entertained throughout and peaked my curiosity for future installments. Samberg's character, playing off the seriousness of Branauer works well.

    I do hope that the show can delve a little deeper into the ridiculous as the show moves forward as there are too many characters with the potential to showcase some very funny moments. So while there is some room for improvements, among the onslaught of Fall comedy premiers, this is one of the better offerings.

    As a side note... Premiering this show on the heels of New Girl was also a wide decision as it has the potential to make Tuesday night a good night for comedy on Fox.
    Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2014
    8
    Surprisingly great show! The ads that I saw didn't show that there was anything special to it, but when I heard that it won best comedy seriesSurprisingly great show! The ads that I saw didn't show that there was anything special to it, but when I heard that it won best comedy series at the gg and Samburg won best comedic tv actor, I gave it a shot. I do not regret doing that as this is one of the funnier shows on tv, if you're still sceptical, you should give it a shot, it's very funny. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2014
    6
    It's fresh, it works, to an extent. All of the characters have the ability to create or insinuate humour in their own right. This makes forIt's fresh, it works, to an extent. All of the characters have the ability to create or insinuate humour in their own right. This makes for considerable cast chemistry that is easily recognisable throughout. The individual story line's are creative and easily indulged in. The show is original and flaws cannot be found in this department. The comedy is fluent, but at times overplayed and quite stupid. The rave reviews surrounding Brooklyn's 99th precinct were certainly not for nothing but perhaps overly positive. One aspect that caught my eye in particular was the way that the cast chemistry transfers effectively to character interaction, building the bases for which the show's entire comedic presence can be thoroughly felt. Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2013
    0
    Samberg is annoyingly smug in his delivery, demanding a laugh out of every syllable he spews. It needs to dial down the hideous snarkSamberg is annoyingly smug in his delivery, demanding a laugh out of every syllable he spews. It needs to dial down the hideous snark all-around. Barney Miller was the last good urban cop show. This is a steamy pile. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.