• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: New police Captain Ray Holt (Andre Braugher) finds he has his hands full with detectives Jake Peralta (Andy Samberg), Amy Santiago (Melissa Fumero), Charles Boyle (Joe Lo Truglio), Rosa Diaz (Stephanie Beatriz), Sgt. Terry Jeffords (Terry Crews), and office manager Gina Linetti (Chelsea Peretti).
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 27, 2013
    100
    Brooklyn Nine-Nine is fine as it is. Tell your DVR to book it. [9 Dec 2013, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Sep 11, 2013
    83
    Fortunately, you don't have to take the former SNL star too seriously to roll with Brooklyn Nine-Nine, a sitcom from the producers of Parks and Recreation that smartly pokes at police-show tropes and creates a promising comedy playground where the Motherlovin' jester can cut loose.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 17, 2013
    80
    Brooklyn Nine-Nine is easily the fall’s strongest comedy pilot, clever, appealing, feeling thought-through and lived in after only a half-hour.
  4. Reviewed by: Luis Sanchez
    Sep 11, 2013
    75
    The strength of Brooklyn Nine-Nine is in the way it summons the communal spirit of those shows [Parks and Recreation, The Office, and 30 Rock] to not only poke fun at crime-show clichés, but also reinterpret them with a fresh and idiosyncratic comedic point of view.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 17, 2013
    70
    Brooklyn Nine-Nine isn’t uproarious yet, but pilots, even of good sitcoms, rarely are. (It took Parks and Recreation an entire season to figure out its tone.) What Brooklyn Nine-Nine has, unlike many of the other new fall comedies, is intelligent design.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    67
    No one will accuse 'Brooklyn Nine-Nine' of too much authenticity, but it does have a confident breeziness in its banter that almost immediately locates a ['Barney Miller']-esque balance in the more absurd aspects of law enforcement.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 17, 2013
    20
    It’s badly written.... And it’s horribly miscast.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 53
  2. Negative: 8 out of 53
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    One of the better pilots I've seen in a long time. Cast is great and they already have a rapport in only one episode. I laughed out loudOne of the better pilots I've seen in a long time. Cast is great and they already have a rapport in only one episode. I laughed out loud several times, which was nice after sitting through the train-wreck of Dads. If you like Parks & Rec, 30 Rock, The Office (meaning smart, well-written, well-acted shows) then you will enjoy this as well. It fits well with New Girl and Mindy. Oh, and referring to another review on here, in what universe is a gay black cop a stereotype? Expand
  2. May 7, 2015
    10
    I just read over my first review after the first show. I was wrong. This has turned out to be a great show. I love the characters,I just read over my first review after the first show. I was wrong. This has turned out to be a great show. I love the characters, especially Boyle. It's just light-hearted comedy and fun. This is a winner for me. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This was a surprisingly funny show. I wasn't a big fan of Andy Samberg until I saw this show. Andre Braugher's deadpan delivery is a perfectThis was a surprisingly funny show. I wasn't a big fan of Andy Samberg until I saw this show. Andre Braugher's deadpan delivery is a perfect foil for Samberg's zany comedy. I laughed out loud many times during the show. In addition to the comedic aspects, this show also has heart. The characters seem genuine and the whole cast is great. I hope everyone gives this show a try. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    1st 10 episodes, season 1 a bit annoying and uneven to start but each character is becoming more individual and most are interesting a1st 10 episodes, season 1 a bit annoying and uneven to start but each character is becoming more individual and most are interesting a couple of characters are annoying but there are enough redeeming features to keep them palatable. Worth it just for Braugher's great deadpan, but enough laughs scattered through to keep watching. A solid 7.5 so far but rounded to 8 for the Thanksgiving episode. Collapse
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    The pilot was promising but a bit messy. After the 2nd episode (and seeing how mediocre the other sitcom pilots were) this looks likely to beThe pilot was promising but a bit messy. After the 2nd episode (and seeing how mediocre the other sitcom pilots were) this looks likely to be the best new comedy this year. Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    7
    There's potential with this series. The inter-character relationships need to be developed, and the actors need to tone down theirThere's potential with this series. The inter-character relationships need to be developed, and the actors need to tone down their characters' persona a bit. Currently they actors are bordering on playing caricatures

    That aside, the viewport into precinct in a fun and mostly enjoyable one..

    Yes, there's potential here.
    Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2013
    0
    Samberg is annoyingly smug in his delivery, demanding a laugh out of every syllable he spews. It needs to dial down the hideous snarkSamberg is annoyingly smug in his delivery, demanding a laugh out of every syllable he spews. It needs to dial down the hideous snark all-around. Barney Miller was the last good urban cop show. This is a steamy pile. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.