Brothers & Sisters : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 168

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. veeb.
    May 18, 2007
    9
    well done dysfunctional family drama. nice cast.
  2. KenH
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    The first show had a lot of exposition, which is necessary with a big cast/multi-storied undertaking. I'm very hopeful that the seasoned professionals on this show will make this appointment viewing.
  3. JOeH.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    I cannot believe all the homophobic comments! I mean, the gay thing makes me want to watch it more! Especially the kissing!
  4. IridaS.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    It a amazing show,I like it very much and I'm happy that it's being transmitted also in Italy.I hope they can renew it for a lot of seasons.
  5. WallaceG
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    I think this is a great show. It really draws out emotions that Im sure most of our society deals with on a daily basis. Its nice to finally have a show that people can truly relate on a real level. And for Valerie C...the song that ended the eposide on 10-1-06 was "Heart of the Matter" by India Arie
  6. Melody
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    The homophobic comments by various other writers on this site are appalling. Terrific adult show with complex characters and relationships.
  7. Andy
    Oct 10, 2006
    9
    Valerie, the song last Sunday was "The Heart of the Matter" by india.arie. It is a cover of a Don Henley song.
  8. humbertov
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Great TV show!, I wonder why is it aired on ABC and not in HBO...
  9. LynnJ
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    This show is right up there with my few top favorite shows. I appreciate the respect that is given to each characters points of view.
  10. cheryld
    Oct 2, 2006
    9
    I really enjoyed the first show., but the second one was great and very unexpected. I think people will eventually pick up on the exciting drama. it was a good replacement for grey.s anatomy (in which i am a big fan of.
  11. JeffreyS
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    This show will bring back the idea of not having enough big names to a show.
  12. danielk
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    Very good show, most characters have alot of potential. Sally Field is outstanding. Hopefully ABC will let it grow in it's proven timeslot and not start moving it around like it did with Alias. Speaking of Alias I keep waiting for Ron Rifkin to go into a private room and hatch some evil plot.
  13. roba
    Oct 6, 2006
    7
    Enough character-variety that almost anyone can find someone to identify with, except perhaps a serial-killer or jihadist.
  14. BradN
    Sep 24, 2006
    7
    thought it was a bit predictable, but I like how there are signs of actual current events. the infuse of political differences in a family is a nice twist.
  15. JanetH
    Sep 25, 2006
    8
    I loved Calista being back and can't wait to see the next episode as there are a lot of interesting paths to explore. Sure beats the NFL hands down.
  16. ChadW
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    My favorite show on tv. Watching one show midseason hooked me. I went back and watched all the others. Sally Field is captivating. Finally a show with real characters and a lack of gimmicks. It is the best thing I've seen in years.
  17. FrankA
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    The best new show on TV (along with UGLY BETTY!)
  18. BelindaS
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    Compelling family series. Hope they won't copy Ally McBeal's love stories. It's brothers' and sisters' show after all.
  19. SeanD
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    This show speaks very true to many families in America, it is both very thoughtful and funny. Each episode will bring a laugh, tear, and an overall good message And to the southern cornhole homophones that can't join the real America (ei: East Coast, Midwest, and West Coast), believe it or not, there are gay people in America, in hundreds of thousands of families! *SHOCK*! Get with This show speaks very true to many families in America, it is both very thoughtful and funny. Each episode will bring a laugh, tear, and an overall good message And to the southern cornhole homophones that can't join the real America (ei: East Coast, Midwest, and West Coast), believe it or not, there are gay people in America, in hundreds of thousands of families! *SHOCK*! Get with the program and educate yourself, this isn't softcore porn. Expand
  20. carola
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    This show is funny, cleaver, and it really holds my attention. I am hoping that it will be continued for another season as it has been my favorite show this season. The acting and the writing have been outstanding. I an particularly glad that it can be watched in streaming videoon the computer.
  21. et
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    Brilliantly written! Unless you're homophobic this is ensemble at its best.
  22. Sahil
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Incredibly Addictive, Very smart, Extremely good acting, Culturally relevant...in short, the Best show on TV. Any review that finds the interactions unnatural has either far too functional of a family, or far too dysfunctional, because the awkward and tense but loving dynamics are pulled off flawlessly. I'm so impressed!
  23. RacheliG.
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    An amazing drama, from the kind we don't have any more on TV. A great acting from all the cast and well scripted show. I cant wait for the next episode, especially now that Justin and Rebbecca are together.
  24. Jane
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    One of the best TV show, remind us how important family is and how it should be. Regardless how we are, who we are.... good quality show and wonderful casts
  25. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    8
    An upper middle-class family warts and all. Good stuff.
  26. GL
    May 14, 2008
    10
    Love the show!! Rob Lowe should stay on permanently!! Chemistry between him and Calista is amazing!
  27. JR
    Oct 17, 2006
    7
    I was drawn in by the cast, especially Rachel Griffiths, of the late and much lamented SFU. The production is slick, the characters are all beautiful, and yet there is potential for depth. The writing needs to smarten up, though. People rarely say the right things at the right moments, and yet this is happening all the time in this show. If it would stop going for an emotional jugular in I was drawn in by the cast, especially Rachel Griffiths, of the late and much lamented SFU. The production is slick, the characters are all beautiful, and yet there is potential for depth. The writing needs to smarten up, though. People rarely say the right things at the right moments, and yet this is happening all the time in this show. If it would stop going for an emotional jugular in every scene, and let the chemistry develop among its amazing cast, it could really be something. I will keep watching with hopeful expectation . . . Expand
  28. RogerP
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    One of the best shows on television in a decade. Brilliant writing, masterful acting, and remarkable directing make this show enjoyable and a great way to end or start the week.
  29. SarahF
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    This show is excellent! Sally Field's acting is phenomenal!! This show is very relatable and believable. I am excited to see where the story line will take us!
  30. MichaelV
    Oct 2, 2006
    8
    This needs time to get grounded before it can be more risky and/or eccentric. Sally Field is just about flawless in anything so she is a bright spot.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. 60
    On the glossy surface, it’s an earnestly predictable but impeccably produced soap opera. [13 Sep 2006]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Gillian Flynn
    50
    The pilot was reshot, and it shows--the timing lurches and scenes grind into each other. [22 Sep 2006, p.90]
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    30
    The show seems as if it desperately yearns to be a worthy companion to "Housewives" but lacks the requisite bite, despite political references meant to feel edgy that prove mostly banal.