• Network: WB , The WB
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 10, 1997
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: John Levesque
    Feb 25, 2013
    100
    Sarah Michelle Gellar plays Buffy to perfection in this witty, intelligent and thoroughly entertaining series based loosely on the 1992 film, and if she isn't the next closet-door poster queen - or the Internet-shrine equivalent - I'll be stunned. [10 Mar 1997, p.C1]
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    Feb 25, 2013
    90
    The performances are generally strong, but the devilishly clever, culturally hyper-attuned dialogue (by executive producer Josh Whedon, who wrote the original and worked on "Speed" and "Toy Story") is what makes this stand out. [10 Mar 1997, p.C8]
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 25, 2013
    90
    The winsome Sarah Michelle Gellar is a huge improvement over bubblehead Kristy Swanson as the new Buffy, moving with her mom to the "one-Starbucks town" of Sunnydale, Calif. She's cute and pert but nobody's fool. [10 Mar 1997, p.3D]
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 25, 2013
    90
    Whedon tries to blend comedy, horror and action, a very combustible mixture - as evidenced by the wildly uneven "Buffy" movie - but he seems close to perfecting the formula here. [10 Mar 1997, p.31]
  5. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Feb 25, 2013
    90
    Deliciously funny satirical gore. [10 Mar 1997, p.F1]
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Farkash
    Feb 25, 2013
    90
    This supernatural series has fast, raucous music, attractive heroes and heroines, and nifty morphing effects for the vampires.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 26, 2013
    83
    All in all, this looks like one of the brightest new shows of the season.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    Buffy the Vampire Slayer is my favorite show, and I've watched every episode of every season at least 10 times. So here are my thoughts to Season 1: Season 1 acts as a decent start to the show doing a great job of introducing us to the main cast. The effects, for the most part, were a bit cheap at times but for the first season, and when it came out, this was forgivable. Sarah is highly believable as Buffy and I highly doubt anyone else could have played her as well (even though she looks nothing like Kristy Swanson from the movie that the series followed.) Alyson Hannigan does a great job with Willow, to the point that I actually had a huge crush on the character (not the actress.) She's incredibly sweet, but also has such great potential. Nicholas Brendon was initially perceived as the comic relief, but his character developed some real depth and there was allot more to him. Anthony Head just came across as a bit of a cliche and a little out of place in the first season, but seamed to settle into his role in later episodes. Overall: Not the best season, but a great start none the less. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2014
    10
    I love you buffy maybe some day we can go on a patrol and go kissy wissy in the graveyard who knows maybe you can use my stake :) willow is welcome to join to if she likes but make sure she licks my ass Full Review »
  3. Aug 11, 2013
    7
    The majority of Buffy the Vampire Slayer fans would likely tell you that the show’s first season is its weakest and it’s hard to argue with that. Many of the elements that would make Buffy such a fantastic show in later seasons, such as its clever dialogue and ability to take plots in an unexpected directions, can be seen on occasions but this was very much a show still finding its feet. Several of the twelve episodes on offer here are simply ‘Monster of the Week’ focused and none of them could be considered amongst the series very best. To be honest some could even be described as extremely flawed with poor productions values and cheesy (not in a good way) plots that don’t hold up well when viewed today.

    This is still worth a watch to see where it all began but there was much better to come.
    Full Review »