• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 11, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Bunheads Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Michelle Simms (Sutton Foster), a former ballerina leaves her Las Vegas showgirl career to marry Hubbell Flowers, move to his hometown of Paradise, California, and helps out at her mother-in-law's dance studio.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 11, 2012
    100
    It just feels like nothing else you've seen on TV.
  2. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jun 11, 2012
    80
    It offers memorable looks at rehearsals, auditions, ballet-company competitions, and dreams of names in lights.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 31, 2012
    80
    It's worth the effort to figure out what this offbeat cast of characters is up to.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 11, 2012
    70
    I don't know if the show I thought I was watching is actually the show she intends to make. But I'm willing to stick around to find out.
  5. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 11, 2012
    70
    Bunheads hasn't quite found its footing, but shows great promise thanks more to the cast and crew than to the initial hour.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 11, 2012
    70
    It's a sweet summer treat.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 11, 2012
    50
    Bunheads will take some work and it could just as easily become either annoying or likable.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    This is as real as the dance world gets. This show has spark, excitement every element that a show of this genre can have. Any dancer knows this is how the dance world really works! Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    This show is funny, the characters like ble the story line a little to so much but is better than others so I liked and is in my on my watch list. I look forward every Monday for for the show. Mitchell is so funny and her lines are great, Fanny good contrast and I love boo and the dynamic with Sasha not to mention Hubell ex girlfriend and Michell friend I really enjoy this one. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    It is so good to have Amy Sherman-Palladino writing on TV again. She is perhaps the most brilliant creator and executive producer in all of television history. She has such care for all her characters, down to every townsperson in the little California town of Paradise. Though some may say it the construction of the show is too much like Gilmore Girls I don't mind because the writing is SO refreshing to TV. No other young adult television creator would weave some of the references she has put into the series, she so prevalently believes that your audience is only as dumb as you let them be, a philosophy I think all writers should live by, regardless of the age range, with certain limitations. I can't wait to see were this series goes because there are endless possibilities. Sutton Foster handles the quick dialogue as well as Lauren Grahm did as Loralie, but brings less of a sense of sarcasm and more seriousness to the dialogue, something Kelly Bishop nailed in Gilmore Girls and continues to do on Bunheads. Besides the atrocious title this show is absolutely flawless and brings life to an otherwise boring summer season Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    This show is really fresh and bubbly and I really enjoyed it! Sutton Foster is great as Michelle and Kelly Bishop is as great as ever as the over bearing mother. You gotta love this cute show! Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Absent for nearly six years, Amy Sherman-Palladino returns to television with Sutton Foster and Kelly Bishop in hand. The premise is a little clunky on paper and the execution of it not the smoothest; but the dialogue, chemistry and strength in character is so top notch, it makes most concerns an afterthought to the marvel on screen. Hope the show finds a consistent audience as intelligent as the writing. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    I've just watched the pilot of 'Bunheads.' Despite the usual obstacles that a pilot needs to both endure and overcome, the show has a nice feel to it. I am not from North America, and avoid anything that gravitates towards the word 'family' (eg 'family values' -- urrrrgh my blood just ran cold), so when I saw 'abc family' watermarked on the vid, and not having any previous awareness of this channel/network/whatever, I almost didn't bother. Instead, I braced myself for an onslaught of heterosexual-only marriage espousing monogamous Christian fundamentalist saccharine and clicked 'play.' I was very surprised. Very pleasantly surprised. Nicely written. Understated, even. Well...as far as a show about a showgirl can be, I guess :-) Already the characters show more than just signs of depth and humanity, except for one who truly irritated me -- but I can see that I might truly forgive her, in time to come. Let's see if it remains engaging, or if it becomes what I (a non-North American) see as formulaic American pap. Fingers crossed. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2012
    1
    A show for women who hate men, from the creator of Gilmore Girls.... This program offers the standard rehashing of Gilmore Girls. Sadly, that rehashing is more in line with the last two seasons of that program. Rory was busy (filming movies) so they added some other young person and, I think, Lane had some kids... or something. Who can remember? Who even cares? What is important here is that Bunheads, lacking an interesting Rory-type character, revolves around, not one, but four uninteresting, poorly conceived, teenage ballet students who take classes from a women who is a combination of Miss Patty (in that she teaches dance) and Emily Gilmore (in that she is exactly the same, is played by the same actress and spends all her time yelling and having meltdowns). The central Lorelai type character is actually a decent Lorelai clone. That being said, I never realized how annoying and how unrealistic Lorelai was as a character until watching this program. There are no spoilers here, trust me. It will seem like there are. There aren't. The central Lorelai-type woman, name not worth remembering, 25 years old, is a failed, some sort of stage dancer, dancing acting failure from Las Vegas. She is 25 years old, because the writers think anyone who is not at the peak of their career by age 25 is a failure. She is mean and horrible to a nice man who has fallen in love with her (because she's a pretty dancer and because his mother was a horrible meany who left him broken for life and incapable of loving any woman who doesn't call him a loser) and, of course, she doesn't care about him, not one bit, even though he keeps coming back to Vegas (for work) and every time he does he goes to see her, watches her stupid call-girl dancing show and tries to get the mean horrible woman (who fakes being sick so she can avoid him) to go to dinner with him... and she does... and she gets drunk because that's what girls like her do (in the writers' worldview) and she marries him, waking up the next day in his car on the way to his home as his new bride. She is annoyed and nervous and wants to go home until she sees his nice house and decides to be a money-grubber. They have sex once, he dies right afterwards and the pilot ends. That's right. I said "pilot". Thereafter, the show revolves around the four boring, nameless, teenage ballet students and the angry mother-in-law who is brilliantly played by a veteran actress who deserves better writing and a better supporting cast and, while we're at it, a better career than she currently has and, let's not forget, the Vegas prostitute who inherited a house and a bunch of land (in Southern California, no less) all for sleeping with a sad, lonely man, one time. The message of the show is clear: Women need men for one thing and that thing is money. Women need men to earn money which they can then give to women or can leave to them in their new wills. Men, according to writer Palladino, are also, apparently, quite stupid. The plot, which moves on from this point in an endless meandering stream of bulls**t, is as simple as it is insulting: Prostitute keeps windfall from man who foolishly loved her (even though she didn't love him) and as a penalty for keeping all the money she allows his mother to stay in her home and keep her ballet studio where she teaches some girls who talk a lot and have "teenage problems" and, by proving she is not so heartless as she seems, somehow makes some small percentage of the viewing public not hate her guts. Don't watch this. By the way, the score of one was awarded purely out of professional love for Alan Ruck who deserves so much better than to be killed off so a struggling network can afford to pay all the little children's salaries and their on-set tutors. I'd thought, at the end of the pilot, that his character might have faked his death just to force his mother and new wife to work together, to bring them into the reality of their new situation and get them each to stand on their own two feet, as it were, and he'd show up in each episode watching them from afar only to return triumphant in episode four or five but, sadly, this did not occur. The writers really meant in when they killed Hubble. (See? His name, I can remember.) They meant it and, even if they tried to take it back, I'm so offended by the portrayal of women as sad, pathetic, dependents who can't fend for themselves without living off their male children or marrying well and then finding themselves conveniently widowed (so as to avoid all that pesky work of actually being a good wife and friend and daughter in law) that I wouldn't watch this again, even if Ruck himself introduced an episode by saying, "Amy Sherman Palladino would like to apologize and let everyone know that she does not, in fact, hate all men and secretly wish her husband would die so she could have all his money." (But, I'd probably watch the clip of that on YouTube, if I'm being honest.) Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews