Californication : Season 1

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 13, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 320

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. OmarH
    Oct 2, 2009
    2
    This show is cliched and shallow. It would be interesting if this show did something other than show us the usual cliches about Hollywood - that people drive expensive cars, the women are hot, drugs, sex, etc. The show wants us to feel sympathy for Duchovny's character (I guess), but he's so self absorbed he merely manages to bore me. I don't have anything against showing This show is cliched and shallow. It would be interesting if this show did something other than show us the usual cliches about Hollywood - that people drive expensive cars, the women are hot, drugs, sex, etc. The show wants us to feel sympathy for Duchovny's character (I guess), but he's so self absorbed he merely manages to bore me. I don't have anything against showing sex in general, but this show tries too hard to shock and titillate. A misogynist character might be interesting, but the show never reveals what is interesting about this particular drug addled misogynist. Instead, we are left with a cliche - the "down on his luck writer". We never even learn anything about his writing. Collapse
  2. AdamG
    Aug 25, 2007
    1
    Utter crud. A pretentious cliche-driven, self absorbed mess of a show. The only thing going for it is she high boob count.
  3. PatchA
    Aug 17, 2007
    2
    i don't know if anyone watched the same show as i did, but this was a more disappointing pilot than John from Cincinnati, and that's saying something. Good dialogues? Are you kidding me??
  4. rattm.
    Aug 19, 2007
    1
    depressing, sexist crap
  5. cupcake
    Aug 19, 2007
    2
    too unrealistic,
  6. erics
    Sep 20, 2007
    1
    Intellectually pretentious soft-core pornography. Witty dialogue is not enough to save this show from its lack of plot. Its very rare that I try a new show and if this is what's held up as an example of quality television I will stick with books and movies.
  7. ElizabethP.
    Aug 22, 2007
    1
    Sarcastic, raunchy and annoying.
  8. geegolly
    Sep 8, 2009
    2
    Wow a story about a writer that who is self destructive and uses women...yeah really creative.
  9. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    Californication is the kind of show that promotes itself as cool when it really isn't. It vulgar for vulgarity's sake, with a false sense of provocation (some will always be offended by sex
  10. Jun 28, 2011
    1
    Why did D.Duchovny do this awful show? The shows entire purpose is to desensitize people to smut and portray scumbags as everyday people. It's messed up.16 year olds hitting on and sleeping with an older men, cursing for no good reason, women throwing themselves on him (who look like porn stars by the way). The unrealistic premises are laughable and border on ridiculous. Every character isWhy did D.Duchovny do this awful show? The shows entire purpose is to desensitize people to smut and portray scumbags as everyday people. It's messed up.16 year olds hitting on and sleeping with an older men, cursing for no good reason, women throwing themselves on him (who look like porn stars by the way). The unrealistic premises are laughable and border on ridiculous. Every character is pretentious, and annoying. The sex scenes get old after seeing them 10 times an episode. No wonder Duchovny became a sex addict and threw away his marriage while making this show. If I wanted to watch people f**k I'd rent a porno, oh that's right I just did! Expand
  11. DeanW
    Aug 21, 2007
    2
    I turned the tv off.
  12. [Anonymous]
    Aug 15, 2007
    3
    What a waste of time. I can't believe the Producers of Weeds (an amazing show) let this piece of crap show double up on its advertising campaign. Very dissapointing.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. 100
    Californication--the best new TV show in a year.
  2. Californication can be unabashedly self-centered, judgmental and off-putting, but it is redeemed by occasional hilarious moments, an appealing father-daughter relationship and Duchovny's skillful creation of a charismatic boor.
  3. Dark comedy suits insouciant Duchovny.... Here he delivers a tousled sort of aw-shucks Huck Finn, lighting out for erotic territories. McElhone, à la Rene Russo, manages to convey the notion of adult womanhood without being either drippy or schoolmarmish about it.