• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 1, 2011
Camelot Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The battle for the throne between young King Arthur (Jamie Campbell Bower) and his half sister Morgan (Eva Green) is the central focus of Starz's serial television version of the legend.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 7, 2011
    80
    Starz, however, has re-imagined the doings of Arthur, Guinevere and the gang as a bloody, bodice-ripping medieval soap opera, and the result is surprisingly satisfying.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 30, 2011
    75
    It all gets pretty involving in time. Based on the first three hours, this is a sturdy production from a producer/scriptwriter (Chris Chibnall) whose well-appointed credits include Torchwood, Doctor Who and the United Kingdom version of Law & Order.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Bower's not the most compelling hero--and Fiennes can be a bore--but the story, however twisted, remains amusing.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 31, 2011
    60
    It's all extremely familiar material, despite plot tweaks here and there, and yet the show is still somewhat charming in its emphasis on idealism and bravery. Flimsy, but charming enough.
  5. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Apr 7, 2011
    50
    It's not easy, with all the silly one-liners, oddball plot twists, and frat-party ambience, to get terribly invested in who will win the power struggle that Camelot dramatizes. But if Fiennes and Green could stage a coup, wresting control of the show from its tawdrier impulses, then that might just be something worth watching.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Apr 4, 2011
    40
    Camelot teeters on the edge of camp, but it doesn't have the nerve to pitch itself into the abyss and just be trashy.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 1, 2011
    30
    At this stylish intersection of a Lollapalooza concert and last weekend's Renn faire, we will fight to the death for the crown and all that, guided by Campbell's scrawny, underwhelming, indie-rock Arthur and a malevolently intriguing, shaved-head take on Merlin from "FlashForward's" Joseph Fiennes.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Apr 5, 2011
    8
    Quit Whining! Ugh, who cares about the the Aurthur legends? This is a good show, not great, but definitely worth watching. The show is full ofQuit Whining! Ugh, who cares about the the Aurthur legends? This is a good show, not great, but definitely worth watching. The show is full of action, and if it doesn't follow the legend exactly, it's probably because it doesn't translate well to a series. Aurthur himself is a mediocre actor, but hopefully he grows into the character. This is a well done fantasy series, but if you're a real hardcore geek, you may want to check out Game of Thrones on HBO April 17th. Expand
  2. May 2, 2011
    8
    This show is much better than I expected, based on some reviews and comparisons to Game of Thrones. It does seem to be a notch or two lowerThis show is much better than I expected, based on some reviews and comparisons to Game of Thrones. It does seem to be a notch or two lower in quality (acting, production, writing) than GOT, but it is definitely worth watching and very entertaining. Love Joseph Feinnes in this role. What an improvement over Flashforward. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    8
    A sadly unappreciated gem. The first season set off to bumpy beginnings - sadly now that it has found its feet it will not get the chance toA sadly unappreciated gem. The first season set off to bumpy beginnings - sadly now that it has found its feet it will not get the chance to achieve the glory it was working toward. It seems like setting up the chess board for checkmate and then scrapping the entire game. At it's weakest it was average - though when it was strong it was very strong. Eva Green is remarkable as Morgan - I would recommend watching this show if only for her performance. Hopefully the decision to not renew for a second season is changed. This show is good enough to deserve a shot at a second season - the season finale is proof of that. Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2011
    6
    I watched the first episode streaming at the Starz website and was pleasantly surprised. I am more Walking Dead than The Tudors -- I assumeI watched the first episode streaming at the Starz website and was pleasantly surprised. I am more Walking Dead than The Tudors -- I assume the latter's is the target audience -- but this is a fun watch so far! Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2011
    5
    As a huge fan of all Arthurian myths and legends I am hugely disappointed at the lack of any mythology above and beyond what you can find inAs a huge fan of all Arthurian myths and legends I am hugely disappointed at the lack of any mythology above and beyond what you can find in the disney movie. I was hoping for either a modern retelling ala Jack Whyte's the sky stone or a true to the roots once and future king mythology soaked epic, instead we get main characters that seem better suited to the disney version as well, only the villains really shine as intriguing and well acted whereas the rest of the cast and writers seem to squander what is some amazing potential with the budget and channel they have at their disposal. I will watch a few more episodes in hopes that it will blossom into something more mature and deep but in the meantime a have a gut feeling that in terms of acting/writing we should expect more BBC's Merlin than the station's previous Spartacus series or even HBO's upcoming Game of thrones which I think I will be watching instead come April 17th. Manage your expectations accordingly. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    4
    Lightweight is the only way to describe this re-telling of Arthur. I was expecting Son's of Anarchy medieval and instead we got BBC's MerlinLightweight is the only way to describe this re-telling of Arthur. I was expecting Son's of Anarchy medieval and instead we got BBC's Merlin with boobs and swearing. Oh! Joseph what did you sign up to? Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    Just watched first episode of Camelot... won't be watching anymore! Absolute rubbish! The guy playing the role of King Arthur is a joke! AJust watched first episode of Camelot... won't be watching anymore! Absolute rubbish! The guy playing the role of King Arthur is a joke! A puny, weak little wimp... killed it for me! A complete miscast. He was so goofy and his hair always seemed to be filthy, uncombed, and matted! He was not powerful enough and he just didn't make the role of Arthur believable at all. He's more like a gangly awkward teenager with acne. Now his foster brother, Kay, would have made a great King Arthur in this series, as he had more charisma, presence, looked more grown up and manly, and was far better looking too! It badly needed a stronger character for Arthur as the lead character has to be very good otherwise you lose the whole series and its just a flop! Expand

See all 15 User Reviews