Camp : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 10, 2013
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jul 9, 2013
    60
    Camp tries to sound cleverer than its conceit, but the series is most appealing when it keeps in mind that everybody has a story to tell about that one special summer at sleep-away camp.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 10, 2013
    58
    Griffiths does her best to hold the show together as a scattered woman coming into her own.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 9, 2013
    50
    It’s all good, clean fun that is not quite good, not quite clean and not quite fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 8, 2013
    50
    Camp has a sweetness that makes it a nice summer diversion but nothing that elevates it above past comedies set at sleepaway camp.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 8, 2013
    50
    Camp essentially needs to calm down and narrow its central focus on maybe half the characters and storylines it bombards us with.
  6. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 8, 2013
    50
    Clearly, there's a new camp experience to be mined. Early on, though, Camp doesn't do much digging.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 8, 2013
    50
    By the second hour, though, Camp has already resorted to a “capture the flag” team competition and a slow-motion water-balloon fight, and over-employed the device of having Mackenzie bare her deepest, darkest secrets to a small chorus of friends. The third hour rebounds only slightly, and by then it’s pretty clear an energetic and attractive cast isn’t enough to make the Down Under-lensed doings rise much above the mundane.
  8. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jul 10, 2013
    40
    Camp is wildly inferior to any number of delightful extant fictions about summer camp,”Wet Hot American Summer,” “Huge,” “Camp Nowhere,” “Salute Your Shorts” and Meg Wolitzer’s new novel “The Interestings” among them, but it has a certain high energy.
  9. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 10, 2013
    40
    There is an abundance, rather over-abundance, of story lines and clichés.
  10. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 10, 2013
    40
    The younger campers and counselors all have dramas, too, some interesting enough to make me wonder why Little Otter needed so many adults in the first place. None, though, is so compelling that I've stopped regretting the loss of ABC Family's much better "Huge," which starred Nikki Blonsky as a rebel in a weight-loss camp.
  11. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 10, 2013
    40
    Too silly and slight for grown-ups, too corny for the MTV generation, Camp is like an overheated ABC Family potboiler.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Great! I thought it was going to some stupid teen drama, but it turned out to be so much better! This show is probably the best tv show of theGreat! I thought it was going to some stupid teen drama, but it turned out to be so much better! This show is probably the best tv show of the summer! It isn't a teen drama. It's kinda like Friday Night Lights with more comedy in it. I highly recommend this show Full Review »
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This show has a perfect mix of comedy and drama. It is heartwarming and unpredictable! My wife and I are huge fans of Brenda GriffithsThis show has a perfect mix of comedy and drama. It is heartwarming and unpredictable! My wife and I are huge fans of Brenda Griffiths watching her in Golden Globe winning performance in six feet under, and in Brothers and Sisters. One other reviewer compared the show to Friday Night Lights, even though I agree with him that Camp is good, I disagree with him about the similarities between FNL and Camp. Even though the creator of this show was a writer for FNL, this show is more different. However, if you are a fan of FNL I would defiantly watch this. I hope this show stays around for a very long time. Full Review »
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I love this show! Actually my favorite show of the summer. The setting for the story line is very refreshing and one quickly becomes attachedI love this show! Actually my favorite show of the summer. The setting for the story line is very refreshing and one quickly becomes attached to the characters and their own challenges. I really hope this show continues!! Full Review »