• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 10, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 36
  2. Negative: 5 out of 36

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Great! I thought it was going to some stupid teen drama, but it turned out to be so much better! This show is probably the best tv show of the summer! It isn't a teen drama. It's kinda like Friday Night Lights with more comedy in it. I highly recommend this show
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This show has a perfect mix of comedy and drama. It is heartwarming and unpredictable! My wife and I are huge fans of Brenda Griffiths watching her in Golden Globe winning performance in six feet under, and in Brothers and Sisters. One other reviewer compared the show to Friday Night Lights, even though I agree with him that Camp is good, I disagree with him about the similarities between FNL and Camp. Even though the creator of this show was a writer for FNL, this show is more different. However, if you are a fan of FNL I would defiantly watch this. I hope this show stays around for a very long time. Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I love this show! Actually my favorite show of the summer. The setting for the story line is very refreshing and one quickly becomes attached to the characters and their own challenges. I really hope this show continues!!
  4. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Was a little bit apprehensive about this show prior to watching but after the first episode I was hooked. I think it is funny, albeit corny, and has great characters in enjoyable situations. I don't understand how someone can give it a 0 out of 100, the new york post critic must be completely devoid of a sense of humour. Hopefully the network gives this show a shot, I'll definitely be watching!
  5. Jul 11, 2013
    5
    I noticed that one of the reviewers compared this show to Friday Night Lights, and I'll say this show is nothing near it. In Friday Night Lights, the idea of football meant something. It was this sport that held the town, and the people together. Camp isn't that funny, the plot is a bit recycled, and overall, it's the "sterotypical" version of summer camp. We've seen tons of divorced mothers on television, trying to find their ways through life after their husbands left them for girls in their twenties. Love triangles like Sarah's are nothing new. Young teenage, nerdy boys are just as common too. Getting back to the ridiculous comparison to Friday Night Lights, Coach and Tami were probably the best onscreen couple to ever exist! Their chemistry was amazing, something like that WILL NEVER happen in this show. Basically, this show looks like an upscale soap opera. SO YOU MAY ASK, why did I give it a 5? The acting isn't that bad, and I can see it possibly recovering. Right now, it looks like an ABC Family teen drama, with less drama. Collapse
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    I'll start by saying that I do not expect summertime TV to deeply move me, challenge me, or enlighten me. With that said, I was hooked the moment I started watching and I believe it works perfectly in the way it was intended....as light summertime fun that "took me back" to my own fond memories of summer camp. I think what works best for this show is that the actors themselves are (in my opinion) very likable people. Griffiths, and the actors that play Kip, Buzz, Marina are the best. Sarah's "deep angst" and ambivalence toward swimming -and Robbie- are about the only story lines that seem overly contrived to me. (Basically I say, just lighten up on the light summer comedy if that's what it's about). When the girls are feuding -like girls can do- I think it's hilarious. Buzz's super earnest "agenda" amuses me too. Lastly, I could look at that outdoor setting all day. The beautiful weather in every episode gave me an endless-summer vibe in a way I had not felt since I was a kid. Obviously it's scheduled at the perfect time of year and wouldn't work any other time. It actually sparked just a bit more outdoor drive in me, and that's WAY more than I'd ever expect from network TV in July/August.... It's been a great summer in Minnesota this year, and Camp was a nice little touch. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    A TV series that does not leave you unemotional, free from censorship, and closer to reality, it's a shame that most of the critics have been affected by that established and rules of society to destroy this TV series, which shows nothing that can not be seen in a summer camp or in real life itself. At the last chapters, we can see a great moral background, so much better than society's rules, but the quid of question is, that the story haven't been evaluated in global terms, so this shows as critics aren't so intelligent for not valuing it globally. Perhaps there are many story-lines, but Game of Thrones has many more and has not been less evaluated for it. Thanks to all the critics for their censorship. Expand
  8. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    Not funny, not intelligent and not going to last long at all. What has a great concept actually comes across as sad and desperate, the casting is wrong, the writing is horrid and the acting not that much better.
  9. Sep 9, 2013
    1
    I was looking forward to this series hoping it was going to be so much more than it is. I find it to lack depth and any sense of what would be happening in real life at your basic summer camps. There are some cute things about this show but it has failed to make me feel invested in the characters or their stories. The adults at the camp are more wrapped up in their own lives than realizing all the drama, sex and drinking happening at the camp. I was hoping this was going to be a true family oriented show- real stories with lessons learned via responsible adults (mentors). I'm so disinterested that I've deleted the show from my DVR and am not even interested in the final shows of the season. Expand
  10. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great show, and great writing that was cancelled too soon. While many objected to the show, and many others wanted a season 2, it would have been difficult to do considering the writing-off of characters such as Roger and Cole.

    Having watched all the episodes during their original runs, I felt surprisingly attached to the show as well as its characters. I didn't expect the show to be interesting at all, but when I watched it, I actually felt something that I don't typically feel for TV shows anymore...

    Great show to binge watch if you have a lot of time on your hands.
    Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Jul 12, 2013
    75
    It's an old story. But co-creator Liz Heldens is fluent in teen-speak. [19 Jul 2013, p.80]
  2. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Jul 11, 2013
    30
    Broad, cheap and tedious, it wouldn't have the slightest chance of cracking a major network's schedule during the regular season.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 10, 2013
    70
    The show, starring Six Feet Under’s Rachel Griffiths (as the camp manager going through a divorce from her husband/business partner), has sweetness and good-hearted humor.