• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 10, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Camp Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Little Otter Family Camp run by Mackenzie (Rachel Griffiths) has its share of problems and issues including a rival camp looking to buy it, romantic triangles, and bullies amongst the camp counselers in training.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 9, 2013
    83
    The characters, scripts and performances are surprisingly smart--almost, dare I say, deep. And you still get the comic humiliations, nasty rivalries and teeny bikinis.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Jul 12, 2013
    75
    It's an old story. But co-creator Liz Heldens is fluent in teen-speak. [19 Jul 2013, p.80]
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 9, 2013
    67
    What emerges, in the three episodes made available for review, is an accessible, easily imbibed summertime series that basically beats actually going to camp for an entire gut-wrenching summer.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 8, 2013
    50
    Camp essentially needs to calm down and narrow its central focus on maybe half the characters and storylines it bombards us with.
  5. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 8, 2013
    50
    Clearly, there's a new camp experience to be mined. Early on, though, Camp doesn't do much digging.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 10, 2013
    40
    There is an abundance, rather over-abundance, of story lines and clichés.
  7. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 10, 2013
    0
    What’s the excuse for airing this thing? There’s not a funny word in it.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Great! I thought it was going to some stupid teen drama, but it turned out to be so much better! This show is probably the best tv show of theGreat! I thought it was going to some stupid teen drama, but it turned out to be so much better! This show is probably the best tv show of the summer! It isn't a teen drama. It's kinda like Friday Night Lights with more comedy in it. I highly recommend this show Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I love this show! Actually my favorite show of the summer. The setting for the story line is very refreshing and one quickly becomes attachedI love this show! Actually my favorite show of the summer. The setting for the story line is very refreshing and one quickly becomes attached to the characters and their own challenges. I really hope this show continues!! Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    I'll start by saying that I do not expect summertime TV to deeply move me, challenge me, or enlighten me. With that said, I was hooked theI'll start by saying that I do not expect summertime TV to deeply move me, challenge me, or enlighten me. With that said, I was hooked the moment I started watching and I believe it works perfectly in the way it was intended....as light summertime fun that "took me back" to my own fond memories of summer camp. I think what works best for this show is that the actors themselves are (in my opinion) very likable people. Griffiths, and the actors that play Kip, Buzz, Marina are the best. Sarah's "deep angst" and ambivalence toward swimming -and Robbie- are about the only story lines that seem overly contrived to me. (Basically I say, just lighten up on the light summer comedy if that's what it's about). When the girls are feuding -like girls can do- I think it's hilarious. Buzz's super earnest "agenda" amuses me too. Lastly, I could look at that outdoor setting all day. The beautiful weather in every episode gave me an endless-summer vibe in a way I had not felt since I was a kid. Obviously it's scheduled at the perfect time of year and wouldn't work any other time. It actually sparked just a bit more outdoor drive in me, and that's WAY more than I'd ever expect from network TV in July/August.... It's been a great summer in Minnesota this year, and Camp was a nice little touch. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This show has a perfect mix of comedy and drama. It is heartwarming and unpredictable! My wife and I are huge fans of Brenda GriffithsThis show has a perfect mix of comedy and drama. It is heartwarming and unpredictable! My wife and I are huge fans of Brenda Griffiths watching her in Golden Globe winning performance in six feet under, and in Brothers and Sisters. One other reviewer compared the show to Friday Night Lights, even though I agree with him that Camp is good, I disagree with him about the similarities between FNL and Camp. Even though the creator of this show was a writer for FNL, this show is more different. However, if you are a fan of FNL I would defiantly watch this. I hope this show stays around for a very long time. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great show, and great writing that was cancelled too soon. While many objected to the show, and many others wanted a season 2, it would have been difficult to do considering the writing-off of characters such as Roger and Cole.

    Having watched all the episodes during their original runs, I felt surprisingly attached to the show as well as its characters. I didn't expect the show to be interesting at all, but when I watched it, I actually felt something that I don't typically feel for TV shows anymore...

    Great show to binge watch if you have a lot of time on your hands.
    Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2013
    5
    I noticed that one of the reviewers compared this show to Friday Night Lights, and I'll say this show is nothing near it. In Friday NightI noticed that one of the reviewers compared this show to Friday Night Lights, and I'll say this show is nothing near it. In Friday Night Lights, the idea of football meant something. It was this sport that held the town, and the people together. Camp isn't that funny, the plot is a bit recycled, and overall, it's the "sterotypical" version of summer camp. We've seen tons of divorced mothers on television, trying to find their ways through life after their husbands left them for girls in their twenties. Love triangles like Sarah's are nothing new. Young teenage, nerdy boys are just as common too. Getting back to the ridiculous comparison to Friday Night Lights, Coach and Tami were probably the best onscreen couple to ever exist! Their chemistry was amazing, something like that WILL NEVER happen in this show. Basically, this show looks like an upscale soap opera. SO YOU MAY ASK, why did I give it a 5? The acting isn't that bad, and I can see it possibly recovering. Right now, it looks like an ABC Family teen drama, with less drama. Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    Not funny, not intelligent and not going to last long at all. What has a great concept actually comes across as sad and desperate, the castingNot funny, not intelligent and not going to last long at all. What has a great concept actually comes across as sad and desperate, the casting is wrong, the writing is horrid and the acting not that much better. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews