Canterbury's Law : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 10, 2008
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. WilleyR.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    How can they possibly consider taking such a great show off the air? PLEASE reconsider!!!! We(varied ages) at our house love the show and hunger for more of the Canterbury mojo!
  2. MasJ.
    Mar 29, 2008
    6
    Better than expected the premiere had intensity, but falling far from the writing and acting quality of the best lawyer show on TV - "Shark". Didn't like the recurring ethical failings used just to add drama.
  3. JasonS.
    Mar 25, 2008
    3
    Just another by the numbers lawyer show with instantly forgettable characters. A show which seems to exist for no other reason than to fill time in the schedule. I like Julianna Margulies, so I'm particularly disappointed.
  4. CharlesW.
    Mar 21, 2008
    9
    Great show.
  5. CharlesW.
    Mar 21, 2008
    8
    Great show.
  6. KathleenD.
    Mar 21, 2008
    8
    Very good drama, had me sitting on the edge of my seat!! Keep up the good work!
  7. DavidE.
    Mar 17, 2008
    4
    Totally formulaic, bad acting, poor scripts. Not worthy of even clicking the DVR to record. Rest in peace.
  8. DaveB.
    Mar 11, 2008
    0
    This is quite the worst courtroom drama I have ever witnessed - whoever told Margoules she could act needs shooting - probably the same person who told her.she was hot. She looks like a cross between Alfred.E.Neumann and a worn-out crack whore from Speke. Megalomaniac little f*ck - get this show off.
  9. mg
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    I was really surprised at how good this series was. I'm really looking forward to the upcoming episodes.
  10. MarioG.
    Mar 10, 2008
    0
    What a mess this show is.Its a third rate version of "the practice".
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. As Elizabeth Canterbury, Julianna Margulies is a feisty pit bull in designer heels. She's willing to do just about everything to clear her clients. If there's one fairy-tale aspect to the show, it's that she's able to take on only clients who are actually innocent.
  2. This is a good, old-fashioned legal procedural with few special effects but quite a lot of serious, adult writing.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ari Karpel
    83
    Julianna Margulies now gets to command the screen in something juicier than the usual procedural. [14 Mar 2008, p.70]