• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2007
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 127
  2. Negative: 57 out of 127

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StuarS.
    Oct 3, 2007
    1
    The TV commercial is funnier & more inventive. This show "Sucks" big time. I'd rather chat with my mother-in-law.
  2. Jeff
    Oct 3, 2007
    0
    Seriously.. this may be the single worst show ever to air in the USA>
  3. GM.
    Oct 22, 2007
    7
    This is the only decent new show this year.
  4. GloriaJ
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Great show. Worth a season's viewing.
  5. RonaldB.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    This is a comment for the latest commercial Caveman vs Billy Jean King in a tennis match sponsored by Geico. Everytime I think of the commercial I laugh. A must see.
  6. AliceS.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    i like it coz it's funny to me , but it just depends on what you like
  7. AndrewH.
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    Dumb, and obvious, yes. But also occasionally insightful and quite often funny.
  8. HarryJ.
    Oct 4, 2007
    2
    Not funny waiting for it to be funny never happen.
  9. TheTrain
    Oct 8, 2007
    0
    Anyone who gave this wreck anything more than a 2 must be a plant by the network. I can't imagine that anyone thought this was worth watching. Out of my deep love for the Geico ads that spawned these characters, I forced myself to try to like this show. The premise is forced. The jokes were missing. The plot was derivative. In sum, this show is a transparent attempt to cash in on a Anyone who gave this wreck anything more than a 2 must be a plant by the network. I can't imagine that anyone thought this was worth watching. Out of my deep love for the Geico ads that spawned these characters, I forced myself to try to like this show. The premise is forced. The jokes were missing. The plot was derivative. In sum, this show is a transparent attempt to cash in on a pop phenomenon and it's about as successful as Britney Spears' appearance on the VMAs. Avoid this program at all costs and watch something worth your time, like Pushing Daisies, easily the most creative show to be on TV in recent memory. Expand
  10. Drew
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    I actually thought it was good. I was glad to see that kept it like the original commercials. I like these cavemen.
  11. JasonD.
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    The original pilot was inspired. Naturally the critics universally hated it, so the show was retooled. After toning down the allegorical satire the critics hated so much, they found a whole slew of new reasons to hate it. The show is funny as it is, but hopefully ABC will wise up to the fact that this is never going to be a critics darling and push the envelope a bit more in upcoming The original pilot was inspired. Naturally the critics universally hated it, so the show was retooled. After toning down the allegorical satire the critics hated so much, they found a whole slew of new reasons to hate it. The show is funny as it is, but hopefully ABC will wise up to the fact that this is never going to be a critics darling and push the envelope a bit more in upcoming episodes. Its very trendy to hate this show right now, but it still seems to be drawing respectable ratings, and the ads on ESPN suggest ABC hasn't totally given up on the idea. Here's hoping they stick to their guns, tell the shrieking violets in the media to get over it, and give them a show they can really hate for years to come. Expand
  12. C.B.
    Oct 18, 2007
    6
    It has it moments. Nick Swardson was great in the first episode.
  13. PeteS.
    Oct 10, 2007
    8
    This show is funny. I like it and will contiue to watch. Haters, quit posting bad comments. I am sure most of the HATERS have never even seen the show. Some people have nothing better to do than blast stuff they know nothing about!! This show is better than most of the crap out there.
  14. johnnyl.
    Oct 6, 2007
    2
    It's funnier than i thought it would be... which isn't very funny at all.
  15. HugoX.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    This show is seriously funny, it`s definitely a must watch... I don`t know why ya`ll be hatin`.
  16. NerdlyS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Pretty good! I know it will be cancelled soon, but hey, I like the show. I think a lot of the jokes would be funny even if they weren't cavemen. There have been dumber shows on TV. Admit it.
  17. JustinC.
    Oct 10, 2007
    0
    This show is poorly written. All of the challenges of people of color in America are reduced to a 22 minute show set in rosy California. It makes minorities look like they need to just get over the deep problems in our society and move on. More frightening is that the show makes it look like those problems do not really exist AT ALL and the caveman should just grow up, get over it and This show is poorly written. All of the challenges of people of color in America are reduced to a 22 minute show set in rosy California. It makes minorities look like they need to just get over the deep problems in our society and move on. More frightening is that the show makes it look like those problems do not really exist AT ALL and the caveman should just grow up, get over it and assimilated already. Geeez, even the blonde girlfriend knows this in the show. Its OK that your black---I mean caveman. These are such strong judgements on people of color to say in a whimsical comedy show that is less than a half an hour. ABC reduces generations of American cultural racism to only a problem that relates to the difference in body type of the caveman. Because they have caveman bodies they are outsiders, not because they are cultural different from humans. Per ABC, the problems of cultural diffence lay in the body of the caveman, not the larger body of the American population. If this is some sort of haywire allegory, it isnt made BY people of color-FOR people of color (like FUBU, lol) Tell me what Mexican kid in Chino CA can relate to the discrimination 3 cavemen discuss while playing hand ball at an exclusive (or should I say predominately white) health club? This is made by writers with mainstream America in mind, not people of color. The jokes dont feel like they are written with any empathy toward the challenges of people of color in America. For that reason alone the show is BOGUS. ABC has fabricated a faux minority group. Then they do not give this group any real cultural difference from people who live in white pickett fence suburbia. So in essence this group seems to have no reason for complianing. So forget about slavery, native american genocide or Isiah Thomas calling women bad words. These are not hardships. Grow up people! This is a flagrant, damaging assessment of life for people of color in America. How can ABC tell Mexicans to just get over it and assimilate? I wont even mention Geroge Lopez. Expand
  18. SteveW.
    Nov 3, 2007
    0
    They stole the idea from me. I looked just like that in the '70s. Bastards.
  19. DickS.
    Oct 19, 2007
    1
    This hasn't been canceled yet?
  20. UncleDougBigelow
    Oct 25, 2007
    0
    Horrible. This show was so bad, so unbelievably terrible, that my T.V. self-destructed in protest. Can you blame it?
  21. MattM.
    Oct 27, 2007
    1
    I think this show is terrible. It makes all the geico commercials look bad. This show is not funny because unlike the geico commercials there are bo offensive situations. I recommend you not watch this show instead tune into Chuck
  22. AnneE.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    This show was great. Finally something different. The critics have read too much into it. It's hip and clever. It doesn't have to be about racisim. They're give Cavemen -- give me a break ! Let us just enjoy a show like this once in a while without having to assign it all kinds of social meaning. Very funny. I hope it stays on the air ! The critics are really out of touch This show was great. Finally something different. The critics have read too much into it. It's hip and clever. It doesn't have to be about racisim. They're give Cavemen -- give me a break ! Let us just enjoy a show like this once in a while without having to assign it all kinds of social meaning. Very funny. I hope it stays on the air ! The critics are really out of touch on this one. Expand
  23. KellyQ.
    Oct 3, 2007
    8
    it wasn't the funniest show ever, but it was a good pilot. i think it'll be better after a few eps if people give it a shot.
  24. KrisW.
    Oct 3, 2007
    8
    Way better than I thought it would be. I went in thinking it was going to suck (love the commercials tho') and I actually want to watch the next few episodes.
  25. KeeganB.
    Oct 3, 2007
    9
    Really funny. It seems like no one is giving it a chance at all.
  26. BenW
    Oct 5, 2007
    1
    My expectations for this show weren't high, but wow, it was awful.
  27. HardyC.
    Oct 5, 2007
    1
    Embarrassingly bad. ABC should be ashamed of themselves for broadcasting this pilot.
  28. BenD.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    It's worse than Viva Laughlin!
  29. NateK
    Oct 5, 2007
    2
    Terrible. Simply Terrible
  30. BradleyJ
    Oct 6, 2007
    0
    I couldn't physically stomach it past the first 5 minutes. I was actually embarrassed to be watching it!
  31. BrianS
    Oct 7, 2007
    0
    If given the choice of watching caveman, or having your foot forciably removed with a dull blade...opt for having your foot removed!
  32. DebiB.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    30 mins is too short for a good story line. Needs to be longer.
  33. DennisG
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Heck of a lot better than I expected (just finished 2nd episode). No laughtrack, that's a good thing. No toilet humor, also good.
  34. williea
    Oct 9, 2007
    6
    not bad i say we need to give it a chance but it was missing one thing that never told you how theyre there ya know
  35. BillyJeanKing
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This show is hillarious.
  36. saraj
    Oct 11, 2007
    7
    I found this show to be better than I expected. Unlike most shows on tv now (crime dramas or shows dealing with unbelievable feats of forensic science), this show made me laugh outloud when I was supposed to laugh outloud. I think the people who hate this show, hate the idea of a commercial being turned into a tv show more then the show itself. But its not everyone's cup of tea, I I found this show to be better than I expected. Unlike most shows on tv now (crime dramas or shows dealing with unbelievable feats of forensic science), this show made me laugh outloud when I was supposed to laugh outloud. I think the people who hate this show, hate the idea of a commercial being turned into a tv show more then the show itself. But its not everyone's cup of tea, I personally think the show 'How I Met Your Mother' is utterly atrocious. Expand
  37. TK
    Oct 11, 2007
    6
    This was actually pretty amusing. I'm not expecting an Emmy award winning work of art here. But, it was entertaining. I can't believe this is getting panned whereas overly sentimental pap like Pushing Daisies is getting critical acclaim.
  38. DarrinT.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Totally hillarious . Best show on TV. Great writing and acting. I think the critics are afraid of what they don't understand or it's just easier to be a hater and follow the crowd. Love the show.
  39. TB
    Oct 10, 2007
    0
    Horrible. I couldn't even finish the episode. It was completely distasteful and poorly written. I almost vomited when the hot chick was making out with the nasty caveman. Awful show!
  40. MartyP
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This show is very, very funny. Stop being snobby and give it a chance!
  41. JenniferR.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    Half the time the cavemen are shown spouting nonsense intellectual babble (what? but... they're cavemen! yes, we get it), and the other half they are incredibly stupid. I cannot believe that they used the rent gag. "Did you pay the rent?" "Yes, I totally did!" "No you didn't, get a job!" Ugh.
  42. TaylorL
    Oct 14, 2007
    8
    I tuned in to see how bad it was, and was instead surprised by a pretty funny half-hour. The jokes were situational and really reminded me of Seinfeld a lot.
  43. TDog
    Oct 15, 2007
    0
    Absolutely, positively awful. Get it out of here.
  44. jay
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    I liked it a lot and laughed heartily. It also has a good chance at really poking a lot of fun at political correctness and the whole touchy tension-filled situation around that (the n word, minority identity, etc) that fills our culture wars. it would be great to be able to laugh at some of that touchiness for a change. I really like it so far and I think, given a chance, it can fulfill I liked it a lot and laughed heartily. It also has a good chance at really poking a lot of fun at political correctness and the whole touchy tension-filled situation around that (the n word, minority identity, etc) that fills our culture wars. it would be great to be able to laugh at some of that touchiness for a change. I really like it so far and I think, given a chance, it can fulfill all that potential too. And if it winds up being seinfeld-with-cavement, well thats pretty funny too. Expand
  45. LindaP
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    I was looking forward to the show after being tickled by the commercials. The characters are whiny wimpy funny in their own right, but for them to happen to be cavemen just adds to the absurdity and silliness which is why I enjoy from watching them.
  46. JohnD.
    Nov 6, 2007
    7
    Yes, Cavemen is stupid, but after accepting that premise one can enjoy its very real wit and silliness. The characters are actually quite clever and likable, and the show makes me laugh. A masterpiece it ain't, but a fun 30 minutes it is. Too many critics were predisposed to pan it, which is a pity.
  47. JuneS.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Please Give It A Chance !!! We Love it !!!
  48. jonc.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Excellent show love it.
  49. toml
    Oct 18, 2007
    0
    I wasted five whole minutes of my life on this show.
  50. Tracey
    Oct 19, 2007
    0
    The show seems to have lost track of what made the commercials clever: the contrast between the caveman archetype and these metrosexuals with Cro-Magnan features. They are so busy trying to carefully, inoffensively parody real-world racial stereotypes that they lose track of more promising caveman stereotypes -- for example, that cavemen get girls by wacking them with a club. The whole The show seems to have lost track of what made the commercials clever: the contrast between the caveman archetype and these metrosexuals with Cro-Magnan features. They are so busy trying to carefully, inoffensively parody real-world racial stereotypes that they lose track of more promising caveman stereotypes -- for example, that cavemen get girls by wacking them with a club. The whole series was clearly written by WASPs who have never experienced stereotyping and don't know what it's like. Expand
  51. ShawnS
    Oct 22, 2007
    8
    This is a show about nothing. Which is exactly why I love this show. Society has got so incredibly over serious. Sure I love dramas like The Sopranos and Lost in which we invest much of our lives to the show- but why can't we just have some mindless fun watching a show that simple and fun. I love this show!
  52. NickJ.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    the show is hilarious. who cares what the hell they look like. the point is, American television is now really based on reality. we want everyday issues. here we go. a good tv show, with no dull moments. by the way, this is just a reminder. its just an idea for another comedy show. ideas. they get brought to the table hundreds by the hour. this one in my opinion is great. great actors, the show is hilarious. who cares what the hell they look like. the point is, American television is now really based on reality. we want everyday issues. here we go. a good tv show, with no dull moments. by the way, this is just a reminder. its just an idea for another comedy show. ideas. they get brought to the table hundreds by the hour. this one in my opinion is great. great actors, great plots, great script, great show. all they are, are cavemen. its funny to me. but the show is based on cavemen actually living in the modern day earth time. as if they never did disappear or whatever. its a great show, i love it. i would love to see a second season. if not, oh well. cause the first season has been delicious. thank you for your time Expand
  53. BenK
    Oct 24, 2007
    8
    having watched three episodes, I like the personalities that are developing in each character. People, not everything has to be high-brow - I mean Monty Python is a CLASSIC and it's all low-brow schtick.
  54. MichelleA.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    I love this show. It wasn't meant to be hysterical, but just a good show on life as cavemen. The interaction with the characters are good.
  55. KseniaH.
    Oct 29, 2007
    1
    Dumb, not funny, and leaves a bad taste in your mouth with its racist undertones.
  56. JohnsonJ.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    It is getting better with each episode. Nice work. I don't think America will get it though.
  57. ChanporyR.
    Oct 3, 2007
    7
    Although every critic in America hates this show, I quite like it. No laugh track, no quirky sidekicks, and no big stars. Its a subtle humor with not so subtle makeup. I found the show interesting, ironic, and watchable. From reviews of the original pilot, I expected the racial allegory to be much more overt. Fortunately, it seems that stereotypes and obvious jokes have been toned down in Although every critic in America hates this show, I quite like it. No laugh track, no quirky sidekicks, and no big stars. Its a subtle humor with not so subtle makeup. I found the show interesting, ironic, and watchable. From reviews of the original pilot, I expected the racial allegory to be much more overt. Fortunately, it seems that stereotypes and obvious jokes have been toned down in favor of relationship tensions between the cavemen themselves. The show however fails to capture the cavemen angst as so brilliantly executed in the 30 second Geico commercials. If you're a fan of Family Matters, Full House, or Everybody Love Raymond, you won't like this show. But if you're a fan of off-beat comedy like MTV's short-lived The State, then the unusualness of this show might appeal to you. Sadly, I predict the show won't last long. It just doesn't have much appeal to a mass audience that would rather watch American Idol or slapstick sitcoms. Expand
  58. DanB.
    Oct 3, 2007
    0
    I watched the first 5 minutes of the premiere, mainly by accident. It's billed as a comedy, but I couldn't tell. There weren't any jokes. I was willing to give it a shot, but this show is DOA.
  59. AidenS.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    This show is hilarious. I would definitely watch it again. Great concept. Great characters. Very funny and original.
  60. JanD.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    This show wasn't funny at all and it might as well have been about any frat boys discussing their girlfriend problems and not cavemen. What a disappointment. I liked the commercial guys a lot
  61. DuyT.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    I gave this show a chance, but I have to agree with the rest of the crowd. This show is not amusing, and it is very annoying to watch. I turned it off after 7 minutes.
  62. PhD
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    I loved this show. Lots of juxtaposition- supposely being deficient in IQ yet acting elitist and intellectual
  63. [Anonymous]
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    I hope ABC gives "Cavemen" a chance to prove its worthy an entire season. Some many fall season shows were aired near or on this date. I believe word of mouth and the YouTube crowd will support this show.
  64. TopherL.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    It seems most critics based this show entirely off the commercials. The show is great. The way I see it any show on tv today that doesn't use a laugh track to dumb down the audience is worth a viewing in my book. Plus all the references made make this worth viewing.
  65. EvelynL.s
    Mar 29, 2008
    0
    Totally. epic. FAIL.
  66. GeraldV.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    I loved this show. It was a shame it was taken off the air. I think people panned this show without even watching it, really. The characters were very likable and it made me laugh more than most sitcoms that have been on for years!
  67. danB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    1
    I wanted to like this show. But after 15 minutes last night I decided I had wasted enough of my precious time. I'll try again next week, although I doubt I'll make it past 15 minutes.
  68. TupacS
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    I don't get how people don't like this show. It's very funny if you have a weird sense of humor.
  69. BetsyD.
    Oct 12, 2007
    0
    This is the worst tv show I have ever seen. They should stick to 15 second spots - although I didn't even like those.
  70. RD
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    I turned away after I didn't laugh after 30 seconds.
  71. RyanS.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    I'll be the diversity in the crowd. I think the first episode was pretty impressive. It was well acted and the characters are well rendered, even though it was the first episode.
  72. camerons.
    Oct 21, 2007
    1
    I've heard of tv shows based on movies, and tv shows based on books, even tv shows based on video games, but COME ON!! A tv show based on a commercial?? I mean, the commercials were great, but putting it into a tv show was too much.
  73. CodyM
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    I love this show. Its very well written and a convenient vehicle for plays on stereotypes. I agree most people wont get it, imagination has been replaced by 'reality'.
  74. AmberW.
    Dec 18, 2007
    1
    I was only able to watch a few moments of this horrible show before changing the channel. I think the whole idea for this show was a bad one.
  75. PeteM.
    Oct 23, 2007
    7
    No, I am not a network plant. Actually, I am a middle aged guy who only watches about 5-10 hours of TV shows a week. And, this is 30 minutes of silliness that makes me laugh and I can watch with my teenagers. Keep the episodes coming, ABC.
  76. PeterJ.
    Nov 13, 2007
    2
    Just not funny. At. All.
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. 10
    It’s easy to see why preview DVDs weren’t distributed–the show just isn’t funny.
  2. What few laughs were once there [in the orginal pilot] have now been effectively removed.
  3. A show that is no longer offensively not funny, just pointless and not funny.