Cavemen : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2007
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 128
  2. Negative: 57 out of 128

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. HarryJ.
    Oct 4, 2007
    2
    Not funny waiting for it to be funny never happen.
  2. TheTrain
    Oct 8, 2007
    0
    Anyone who gave this wreck anything more than a 2 must be a plant by the network. I can't imagine that anyone thought this was worth watching. Out of my deep love for the Geico ads that spawned these characters, I forced myself to try to like this show. The premise is forced. The jokes were missing. The plot was derivative. In sum, this show is a transparent attempt to cash in on a Anyone who gave this wreck anything more than a 2 must be a plant by the network. I can't imagine that anyone thought this was worth watching. Out of my deep love for the Geico ads that spawned these characters, I forced myself to try to like this show. The premise is forced. The jokes were missing. The plot was derivative. In sum, this show is a transparent attempt to cash in on a pop phenomenon and it's about as successful as Britney Spears' appearance on the VMAs. Avoid this program at all costs and watch something worth your time, like Pushing Daisies, easily the most creative show to be on TV in recent memory. Expand
  3. StuarS.
    Oct 3, 2007
    1
    The TV commercial is funnier & more inventive. This show "Sucks" big time. I'd rather chat with my mother-in-law.
  4. johnnyl.
    Oct 6, 2007
    2
    It's funnier than i thought it would be... which isn't very funny at all.
  5. JustinC.
    Oct 10, 2007
    0
    This show is poorly written. All of the challenges of people of color in America are reduced to a 22 minute show set in rosy California. It makes minorities look like they need to just get over the deep problems in our society and move on. More frightening is that the show makes it look like those problems do not really exist AT ALL and the caveman should just grow up, get over it and This show is poorly written. All of the challenges of people of color in America are reduced to a 22 minute show set in rosy California. It makes minorities look like they need to just get over the deep problems in our society and move on. More frightening is that the show makes it look like those problems do not really exist AT ALL and the caveman should just grow up, get over it and assimilated already. Geeez, even the blonde girlfriend knows this in the show. Its OK that your black---I mean caveman. These are such strong judgements on people of color to say in a whimsical comedy show that is less than a half an hour. ABC reduces generations of American cultural racism to only a problem that relates to the difference in body type of the caveman. Because they have caveman bodies they are outsiders, not because they are cultural different from humans. Per ABC, the problems of cultural diffence lay in the body of the caveman, not the larger body of the American population. If this is some sort of haywire allegory, it isnt made BY people of color-FOR people of color (like FUBU, lol) Tell me what Mexican kid in Chino CA can relate to the discrimination 3 cavemen discuss while playing hand ball at an exclusive (or should I say predominately white) health club? This is made by writers with mainstream America in mind, not people of color. The jokes dont feel like they are written with any empathy toward the challenges of people of color in America. For that reason alone the show is BOGUS. ABC has fabricated a faux minority group. Then they do not give this group any real cultural difference from people who live in white pickett fence suburbia. So in essence this group seems to have no reason for complianing. So forget about slavery, native american genocide or Isiah Thomas calling women bad words. These are not hardships. Grow up people! This is a flagrant, damaging assessment of life for people of color in America. How can ABC tell Mexicans to just get over it and assimilate? I wont even mention Geroge Lopez. Expand
  6. SteveW.
    Nov 3, 2007
    0
    They stole the idea from me. I looked just like that in the '70s. Bastards.
  7. DickS.
    Oct 19, 2007
    1
    This hasn't been canceled yet?
  8. UncleDougBigelow
    Oct 25, 2007
    0
    Horrible. This show was so bad, so unbelievably terrible, that my T.V. self-destructed in protest. Can you blame it?
  9. MattM.
    Oct 27, 2007
    1
    I think this show is terrible. It makes all the geico commercials look bad. This show is not funny because unlike the geico commercials there are bo offensive situations. I recommend you not watch this show instead tune into Chuck
  10. Jeff
    Oct 3, 2007
    0
    Seriously.. this may be the single worst show ever to air in the USA>
  11. BenW
    Oct 5, 2007
    1
    My expectations for this show weren't high, but wow, it was awful.
  12. HardyC.
    Oct 5, 2007
    1
    Embarrassingly bad. ABC should be ashamed of themselves for broadcasting this pilot.
  13. BenD.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    It's worse than Viva Laughlin!
  14. NateK
    Oct 5, 2007
    2
    Terrible. Simply Terrible
  15. BradleyJ
    Oct 6, 2007
    0
    I couldn't physically stomach it past the first 5 minutes. I was actually embarrassed to be watching it!
  16. BrianS
    Oct 7, 2007
    0
    If given the choice of watching caveman, or having your foot forciably removed with a dull blade...opt for having your foot removed!
  17. TB
    Oct 10, 2007
    0
    Horrible. I couldn't even finish the episode. It was completely distasteful and poorly written. I almost vomited when the hot chick was making out with the nasty caveman. Awful show!
  18. JenniferR.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    Half the time the cavemen are shown spouting nonsense intellectual babble (what? but... they're cavemen! yes, we get it), and the other half they are incredibly stupid. I cannot believe that they used the rent gag. "Did you pay the rent?" "Yes, I totally did!" "No you didn't, get a job!" Ugh.
  19. TDog
    Oct 15, 2007
    0
    Absolutely, positively awful. Get it out of here.
  20. toml
    Oct 18, 2007
    0
    I wasted five whole minutes of my life on this show.
  21. Tracey
    Oct 19, 2007
    0
    The show seems to have lost track of what made the commercials clever: the contrast between the caveman archetype and these metrosexuals with Cro-Magnan features. They are so busy trying to carefully, inoffensively parody real-world racial stereotypes that they lose track of more promising caveman stereotypes -- for example, that cavemen get girls by wacking them with a club. The whole The show seems to have lost track of what made the commercials clever: the contrast between the caveman archetype and these metrosexuals with Cro-Magnan features. They are so busy trying to carefully, inoffensively parody real-world racial stereotypes that they lose track of more promising caveman stereotypes -- for example, that cavemen get girls by wacking them with a club. The whole series was clearly written by WASPs who have never experienced stereotyping and don't know what it's like. Expand
  22. KseniaH.
    Oct 29, 2007
    1
    Dumb, not funny, and leaves a bad taste in your mouth with its racist undertones.
  23. DanB.
    Oct 3, 2007
    0
    I watched the first 5 minutes of the premiere, mainly by accident. It's billed as a comedy, but I couldn't tell. There weren't any jokes. I was willing to give it a shot, but this show is DOA.
  24. JanD.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    This show wasn't funny at all and it might as well have been about any frat boys discussing their girlfriend problems and not cavemen. What a disappointment. I liked the commercial guys a lot
  25. DuyT.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    I gave this show a chance, but I have to agree with the rest of the crowd. This show is not amusing, and it is very annoying to watch. I turned it off after 7 minutes.
  26. EvelynL.s
    Mar 29, 2008
    0
    Totally. epic. FAIL.
  27. danB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    1
    I wanted to like this show. But after 15 minutes last night I decided I had wasted enough of my precious time. I'll try again next week, although I doubt I'll make it past 15 minutes.
  28. BetsyD.
    Oct 12, 2007
    0
    This is the worst tv show I have ever seen. They should stick to 15 second spots - although I didn't even like those.
  29. RD
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    I turned away after I didn't laugh after 30 seconds.
  30. camerons.
    Oct 21, 2007
    1
    I've heard of tv shows based on movies, and tv shows based on books, even tv shows based on video games, but COME ON!! A tv show based on a commercial?? I mean, the commercials were great, but putting it into a tv show was too much.
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. 10
    It’s easy to see why preview DVDs weren’t distributed–the show just isn’t funny.
  2. What few laughs were once there [in the orginal pilot] have now been effectively removed.
  3. A show that is no longer offensively not funny, just pointless and not funny.