Cavemen : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2007
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 128
  2. Negative: 57 out of 128

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. StuarS.
    Oct 3, 2007
    1
    The TV commercial is funnier & more inventive. This show "Sucks" big time. I'd rather chat with my mother-in-law.
  2. Jeff
    Oct 3, 2007
    0
    Seriously.. this may be the single worst show ever to air in the USA>
  3. GM.
    Oct 22, 2007
    7
    This is the only decent new show this year.
  4. GloriaJ
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Great show. Worth a season's viewing.
  5. RonaldB.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    This is a comment for the latest commercial Caveman vs Billy Jean King in a tennis match sponsored by Geico. Everytime I think of the commercial I laugh. A must see.
  6. AliceS.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    i like it coz it's funny to me , but it just depends on what you like
  7. AndrewH.
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    Dumb, and obvious, yes. But also occasionally insightful and quite often funny.
  8. HarryJ.
    Oct 4, 2007
    2
    Not funny waiting for it to be funny never happen.
  9. TheTrain
    Oct 8, 2007
    0
    Anyone who gave this wreck anything more than a 2 must be a plant by the network. I can't imagine that anyone thought this was worth watching. Out of my deep love for the Geico ads that spawned these characters, I forced myself to try to like this show. The premise is forced. The jokes were missing. The plot was derivative. In sum, this show is a transparent attempt to cash in on a Anyone who gave this wreck anything more than a 2 must be a plant by the network. I can't imagine that anyone thought this was worth watching. Out of my deep love for the Geico ads that spawned these characters, I forced myself to try to like this show. The premise is forced. The jokes were missing. The plot was derivative. In sum, this show is a transparent attempt to cash in on a pop phenomenon and it's about as successful as Britney Spears' appearance on the VMAs. Avoid this program at all costs and watch something worth your time, like Pushing Daisies, easily the most creative show to be on TV in recent memory. Expand
  10. Drew
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    I actually thought it was good. I was glad to see that kept it like the original commercials. I like these cavemen.
  11. JasonD.
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    The original pilot was inspired. Naturally the critics universally hated it, so the show was retooled. After toning down the allegorical satire the critics hated so much, they found a whole slew of new reasons to hate it. The show is funny as it is, but hopefully ABC will wise up to the fact that this is never going to be a critics darling and push the envelope a bit more in upcoming The original pilot was inspired. Naturally the critics universally hated it, so the show was retooled. After toning down the allegorical satire the critics hated so much, they found a whole slew of new reasons to hate it. The show is funny as it is, but hopefully ABC will wise up to the fact that this is never going to be a critics darling and push the envelope a bit more in upcoming episodes. Its very trendy to hate this show right now, but it still seems to be drawing respectable ratings, and the ads on ESPN suggest ABC hasn't totally given up on the idea. Here's hoping they stick to their guns, tell the shrieking violets in the media to get over it, and give them a show they can really hate for years to come. Expand
  12. C.B.
    Oct 18, 2007
    6
    It has it moments. Nick Swardson was great in the first episode.
  13. PeteS.
    Oct 10, 2007
    8
    This show is funny. I like it and will contiue to watch. Haters, quit posting bad comments. I am sure most of the HATERS have never even seen the show. Some people have nothing better to do than blast stuff they know nothing about!! This show is better than most of the crap out there.
  14. johnnyl.
    Oct 6, 2007
    2
    It's funnier than i thought it would be... which isn't very funny at all.
  15. HugoX.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    This show is seriously funny, it`s definitely a must watch... I don`t know why ya`ll be hatin`.
  16. NerdlyS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Pretty good! I know it will be cancelled soon, but hey, I like the show. I think a lot of the jokes would be funny even if they weren't cavemen. There have been dumber shows on TV. Admit it.
  17. JustinC.
    Oct 10, 2007
    0
    This show is poorly written. All of the challenges of people of color in America are reduced to a 22 minute show set in rosy California. It makes minorities look like they need to just get over the deep problems in our society and move on. More frightening is that the show makes it look like those problems do not really exist AT ALL and the caveman should just grow up, get over it and This show is poorly written. All of the challenges of people of color in America are reduced to a 22 minute show set in rosy California. It makes minorities look like they need to just get over the deep problems in our society and move on. More frightening is that the show makes it look like those problems do not really exist AT ALL and the caveman should just grow up, get over it and assimilated already. Geeez, even the blonde girlfriend knows this in the show. Its OK that your black---I mean caveman. These are such strong judgements on people of color to say in a whimsical comedy show that is less than a half an hour. ABC reduces generations of American cultural racism to only a problem that relates to the difference in body type of the caveman. Because they have caveman bodies they are outsiders, not because they are cultural different from humans. Per ABC, the problems of cultural diffence lay in the body of the caveman, not the larger body of the American population. If this is some sort of haywire allegory, it isnt made BY people of color-FOR people of color (like FUBU, lol) Tell me what Mexican kid in Chino CA can relate to the discrimination 3 cavemen discuss while playing hand ball at an exclusive (or should I say predominately white) health club? This is made by writers with mainstream America in mind, not people of color. The jokes dont feel like they are written with any empathy toward the challenges of people of color in America. For that reason alone the show is BOGUS. ABC has fabricated a faux minority group. Then they do not give this group any real cultural difference from people who live in white pickett fence suburbia. So in essence this group seems to have no reason for complianing. So forget about slavery, native american genocide or Isiah Thomas calling women bad words. These are not hardships. Grow up people! This is a flagrant, damaging assessment of life for people of color in America. How can ABC tell Mexicans to just get over it and assimilate? I wont even mention Geroge Lopez. Expand
  18. SteveW.
    Nov 3, 2007
    0
    They stole the idea from me. I looked just like that in the '70s. Bastards.
  19. DickS.
    Oct 19, 2007
    1
    This hasn't been canceled yet?
  20. UncleDougBigelow
    Oct 25, 2007
    0
    Horrible. This show was so bad, so unbelievably terrible, that my T.V. self-destructed in protest. Can you blame it?
  21. MattM.
    Oct 27, 2007
    1
    I think this show is terrible. It makes all the geico commercials look bad. This show is not funny because unlike the geico commercials there are bo offensive situations. I recommend you not watch this show instead tune into Chuck
  22. AnneE.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    This show was great. Finally something different. The critics have read too much into it. It's hip and clever. It doesn't have to be about racisim. They're give Cavemen -- give me a break ! Let us just enjoy a show like this once in a while without having to assign it all kinds of social meaning. Very funny. I hope it stays on the air ! The critics are really out of touch This show was great. Finally something different. The critics have read too much into it. It's hip and clever. It doesn't have to be about racisim. They're give Cavemen -- give me a break ! Let us just enjoy a show like this once in a while without having to assign it all kinds of social meaning. Very funny. I hope it stays on the air ! The critics are really out of touch on this one. Expand
  23. KellyQ.
    Oct 3, 2007
    8
    it wasn't the funniest show ever, but it was a good pilot. i think it'll be better after a few eps if people give it a shot.
  24. KrisW.
    Oct 3, 2007
    8
    Way better than I thought it would be. I went in thinking it was going to suck (love the commercials tho') and I actually want to watch the next few episodes.
  25. KeeganB.
    Oct 3, 2007
    9
    Really funny. It seems like no one is giving it a chance at all.
  26. BenW
    Oct 5, 2007
    1
    My expectations for this show weren't high, but wow, it was awful.
  27. HardyC.
    Oct 5, 2007
    1
    Embarrassingly bad. ABC should be ashamed of themselves for broadcasting this pilot.
  28. BenD.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    It's worse than Viva Laughlin!
  29. NateK
    Oct 5, 2007
    2
    Terrible. Simply Terrible
  30. BradleyJ
    Oct 6, 2007
    0
    I couldn't physically stomach it past the first 5 minutes. I was actually embarrassed to be watching it!
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. 10
    It’s easy to see why preview DVDs weren’t distributed–the show just isn’t funny.
  2. What few laughs were once there [in the orginal pilot] have now been effectively removed.
  3. A show that is no longer offensively not funny, just pointless and not funny.