• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 1, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Chaos Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rick Martinez (Freddy Rodriguez) is a rookie agent placed with a group of unorthodox spies working in the Clandestine Administrative and Oversight Services (CHAOS).
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Mar 30, 2011
    88
    It's "The A-Team" meets ... really good writing.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Mar 31, 2011
    70
    I found little to object to in the pilot for Chaos, a mostly male action-adventure hour that is energetic and mildly amusing from time to time.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 1, 2011
    60
    As is the case with pilots, the seams tend to show--the bountiful expository dialogue makes no effort to veil its purpose, and the production is a tad too insistent that we find these scamps charming. But they are fairly charming at that, and though the spy stuff is all unconvincing hokum, the company is easy to bear.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Mar 28, 2011
    42
    Filled with familiar faces, from Eric Close to Tim Blake Nelson to Kurtwood Smith, the show aims for breezy fun, but to sell the premise of eccentric spooks tracking terrorists, the humor has to be better than the jabbering wisecracks and frenetic sight gags here.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 1, 2011
    40
    This one pushes the zany aspects too hard, trivializing the missions while neglecting such elements as grit, wit and heart.
  6. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Mar 31, 2011
    40
    CBS's new spy spoof, CHAOS, which premieres Friday at 8 p.m., starts out in the hole by knocking the amiable and amusing "The Defenders" off the schedule, and it never crawls out all the way. At least, it's something different, unless you count a show that was on 47 years ago, or a lot of the ones on USA.
  7. Reviewed by: Lesley Smith
    Apr 1, 2011
    20
    The show's acting offers no respite. Scenes unfold very slowly, as characters talk quickly but pause at the end of each speech, often holding a self-satisfied smirk as if listening to an inaudible laugh track.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    I enjoyed the humor, much better than Undercover. Pilot was awesome. Although not as good as Alias in the drama department. I am watching it during the exam season, so that should tell you how much I enjoyed it. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Enjoyed the show. Light hearted, humorous, and just good entertainment. Sorry to hear it might not be continued. Please reconsider.We also like "Flashpoint" but like to see more "Chaos". Collapse
  3. CRL
    Sep 15, 2011
    9
    It really is a shame that CBS nixed this show. It was effortlessly funny in a way that most comedies fail to be, with jokes that seem to come naturally with the premise and a light and humorous look at the CIA. The casting was excellent in every position, and Tim Blake-Nelson must be the most underrated actor in Hollywood. Really, I enjoyed the episodes that aired, and it was really disappointing to hear that there wouldn't be any more. Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    I really don't know why people are not catching onto this show. It is brilliant and amazingly humorous. I feel like this show is completely underrated and it is nobody's fault other than CBS. I had luck, I had a friend tell me about this show who actually only found out about it from another friend of hers. Word of mouth is great and everything, but don't cancel a show because you don't have the views you want but didn't bother to advertise CBS! Not to mention that CBS has aired the episodes out of order in an epic failure to get more viewers, and so the story and characters progress without any real viewer understanding. CBS, that is just outrageous, it really is. This show has major potential. If only more people would get the chance to see it!... Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    Not bad. A little overacted but a decent story line. The premise is not terribly original. Cliche's and interoffice/spy politics run a muck. I was interested enough to keep watching even though a couple of times I checked the time. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2011
    6
    Just what the world needs, another C.I.A. drama. This one seems to be a little more reverent than most. Somebody's really trying to justify their existence of this organization. Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2011
    2
    Well here we have another show that will not see the light of day past just a hand full of episodes at most. It is just plain bad in every way. I wanted to even give the second episode a chance but, just could not see my way to caring enough to even try.

    To stomach my way through poor script, acting, and show in general well I just had enough and want to say just dont waste your time.
    Expand