Charlie's Angels : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2011
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 60
  2. Negative: 40 out of 60

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 23, 2011
    5
    Thirty-five years after their first appearance, the Angels are back again, except re-modernized, recast, and rebooted. It's certain that the 2011 update of CHARLIE'S ANGELS had potential to be a decent thriller. The season premiere ("Angel with a Broken Wing") opened by playing an excerpt of the dance-pop song "S&M" by Rihanna, and I was hoping that little intro would be (somehow)Thirty-five years after their first appearance, the Angels are back again, except re-modernized, recast, and rebooted. It's certain that the 2011 update of CHARLIE'S ANGELS had potential to be a decent thriller. The season premiere ("Angel with a Broken Wing") opened by playing an excerpt of the dance-pop song "S&M" by Rihanna, and I was hoping that little intro would be (somehow) misleading. There are some thrills in this show, but overall, they are taken over by the techno mood (and music); the Angels' sense of fashion; and enough iPad 2s, hi-tech automatic weapons, and dazzling fashion to make it look like it was updated into the future, make it unrealistic, and cause the whole show to come across as mediocre. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2011
    6
    It wasn't a good pilot but it definitely wasn't the worst . as i said earlier that Minka Kelly is the hottest Angels of all and she really proved it . Rachael did good then i expected .But Annie was off . But i think Ramon was so bad ! I thought "New" Bosley will be good but the old ones was funny , charming and its impossible for Ramon to pass them .But the worst thing of the pilot wasIt wasn't a good pilot but it definitely wasn't the worst . as i said earlier that Minka Kelly is the hottest Angels of all and she really proved it . Rachael did good then i expected .But Annie was off . But i think Ramon was so bad ! I thought "New" Bosley will be good but the old ones was funny , charming and its impossible for Ramon to pass them .But the worst thing of the pilot was the low minded story . The writer have to think really hard to make good stories . i don't want it to be canceled .....i really don't ! Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2011
    4
    While this is no way near quality television (at some points its actually laughably bad) it isn't the worst show this season (that honour goes to Unforgettable) and does have some redeeming features. Its just a shame that there is so many things wrong with this show that those qualities cannot show.
    The main problem is Minka Kelly's Eve who is not only an intolerable bore on screen but no
    While this is no way near quality television (at some points its actually laughably bad) it isn't the worst show this season (that honour goes to Unforgettable) and does have some redeeming features. Its just a shame that there is so many things wrong with this show that those qualities cannot show.
    The main problem is Minka Kelly's Eve who is not only an intolerable bore on screen but no effort is put into the role by Kelly to even make it passable. Its like this was just one big pay check for her and that's it. The rest of the cast put in some effort with Rachel Taylor having fun with the role she was given and Victor Garber providing the calm docile tones of the never seen Charlie. This show could be fun if it weren't for the unfortunate casting of Kelly and its need to take itself seriously. It's as if it doesn't remember its remaking a show that thrived off of camp.
    Expand
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 13 out of 22
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 7, 2011
    25
    Done without any of the smart silliness that made Drew Barrymore's 2000 movie reboot so much fun, the show is just vixen nostalgia. [17 Oct 2011, p.42]
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 22, 2011
    25
    Charlie's Angels is as absurd as the original 1976-81 series that launched the careers of Jaclyn Smith, Kate Jackson and Farrah Fawcett (and her hair).
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 22, 2011
    25
    It's a much bigger mess than '70s critics ever accused the original of being.