Charmed : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. The Hollywood Reporter
    Reviewed by: Barry Garron
    Jun 17, 2013
    90
    Funny, spooky and wonderfully entertaining. [7 Oct 1998]
  2. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Robert P. Laurence
    Jun 18, 2013
    88
    It's that tongue-in-cheek, lighthearted mood that elevates "Charmed" from the dreary, self-important solemnity that hangs like a pall over so much so-called fantasy and science fiction. [6 Oct 1998, p.E-1]
  3. New York Post
    Reviewed by: Michele Greppi
    Jun 17, 2013
    88
    Charmed doesn't knock our socks off as relentlessly as the WB's wisecracking Buffy did, but it's headed in the wry-te direction. It also shows more early promise than Spelling's more famous soaps did in Week 1. [7 Oct 1998, p.83]
  4. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jun 18, 2013
    80
    By the time the episode wraps up with a good-vs.-evil clash, though, it's really rolling, with special effects that are both fun and scary. Doherty, Combs and Milano are appealing, and also believable as sisters, and T.W. King adds a down-to-earth touch as police detective Andy Trudeau, Prue's old boyfriend, who suspects that something is up. [7 Oct 1998, p.E6]
  5. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Steve Parks
    Jun 18, 2013
    80
    Shannen Doherty as a witch. Perfect. [6 Oct 1998, p.03]
  6. Houston Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Ann Hodges
    Jun 18, 2013
    75
    It's fantasy, but it's fun. [6 Oct 1998, p.1]
  7. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Jun 17, 2013
    75
    If you've followed the TV careers of Charmed's stars -- Shannen Doherty (Beverly Hills 90210), Holly Marie Combs (Picket Fences) and Alyssa Milano (Who's the Boss) -- then just the idea of all three being in the same show makes it worth a look. The premise is at times campy, but it works. [7 Oct 1998, p.3D]
  8. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    Jun 18, 2013
    70
    Still charming, a lively and frothy imagining of what might happen if Sabrina got mixed up with darker forces. [7 Oct 1998, p.6]
  9. Variety
    Reviewed by: Ray Richmond
    Jun 17, 2013
    70
    Charmed has an entertaining little way about it, with Spelling and company mostly striking a solid balance between escapist slap-schtick and mild horror. If the opening hour isn't terribly concerned with issues of believability, relatability and self-parody (pilot is notably short on humor), it's likely a saucy enough brew for the WB's target 12-24 demo to swallow. [7 Oct 1998, p.5]
  10. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    67
    Alternating—or rather, wavering—between frightening and funny, the show has yet to establish a clear identity beyond its-status as a post-teenage teammate of The WB's popular Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
  11. Seattle Post-Intelligencer
    Reviewed by: John Levesque
    Jun 18, 2013
    67
    As free-spirited Phoebe, Milano, who replaced Lori Rom in the cast after the original pilot had been shot, needs seasoning, and maybe some warm clothes. Combs' Piper, the "earthy and creative" one, simply seems uneasy as a witchy woman. [7 Oct 1998, p.C10]
  12. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 12, 2013
    67
    Charmed is a bit thin in the plot department; the main things it has going for it are the sisters' pulchritude and the presence of Doherty, who is that rare item: a TV star who succeeds on the strength of her vitriol.
  13. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: David Zurawik
    Jun 17, 2013
    63
    While it doesn't work for me, I'll bet many of the WB's teen viewers who have just finished watching "Dawson's Creek" are going to love it. The girls will feel empowered; the boys, who have been lusting after the three, will be entertained by the violence and havoc they can generate. [7 Oct 1998, p.1E]
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 5, 2014
    8
    I'm not sure why the critic reviews are low, but I don't agree with them at all. This show was interesting and has a lot of magic stuff ifI'm not sure why the critic reviews are low, but I don't agree with them at all. This show was interesting and has a lot of magic stuff if you're into that, which I am so it was a real good show to watch for me. You get your favorite characters like in all shows, but it's always something neat to watch because you don't know what to expect next. I could say sometimes it seemed a bit repetitive but still, it had good romance and action along with plot twists. So overall I think it's worth rating an 8. Full Review »
  2. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The first season was great. The second season was even better, and the third was just brilliant!!! Now, let's talk about why I didn't like Series 4 - 5 . Prue. She was gone, killed off because her co-star Alyssa Milano (Phoebe) was a b*tch to her off screen. Paige was a crap character at first, but by season six, Paige had come into her own character, better than Prue. Series 6 was trash, skippable, but crucial to the storyline, series 7 picked up and it was charmed again, but the final series, that was rushed and too cliched. Full Review »
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    I have to disagree with the negative critic review because charmed has magic and some black magic that is contained with it demons, WitchesI have to disagree with the negative critic review because charmed has magic and some black magic that is contained with it demons, Witches time traveling and of course a cat the los angeles times reporter must have only watched the pilot to it something this Wicca way comes. Full Review »