• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Chicago Fire Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dick Wolf's latest drama focuses on Chicago firefighters and paramedics.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 8, 2012
    83
    Chicago Fire definitely has familiarity going for it and familiarity going against it as well.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 10, 2012
    70
    In a world without cable dramas, Chicago Fire would be considered television at its more compelling and realistic. As it is, it walks the line between shameless entertainment--hot guys, hot girls, the fires within, the fires without--and intelligent storytelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 10, 2012
    67
    This seems like a serviceable drama that merits a bit better ladder grade (heh-heh) for an improved second hour.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 10, 2012
    50
    It's a bad omen when the show repeats one of its catastrophes next week, just amped to a grislier level. I was bored.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 5, 2012
    42
    One of the new season's dullest shows. [12/19 Oct 2012, p.98]
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 10, 2012
    40
    It's not that the show is terrible--it's not--but it brings nothing new to the firefighter drama format.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 21, 2012
    20
    This just doesn't work on any level and creates very little suspense, even in life-or-death situations.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Love it! Likeable characters, lots of action, beautiful people and great acting! Seriously underrated, it's got some familiar faces and has some great new ones too. I like it because it's actually a bit different, I've not watched a series like this before. Very good, highly recommend. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers. Chicago Fire is one of the best series I saw in my life, I saw work in House MD Jesse Spencer, and I realized he's a good actor, the series is recommended, I would like to have more reputation! Collapse
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    VERY action packed, likeable characters... love it love it!! Chicago Fire has unexpected twists, and shows diversity from other Emergency TV shows. Showing all aspects of a fire house, from captain to candidate. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    Finally a show that actually has some reality to the firefighting part of the show. Its a very interesting and emotionally compelling show, and hope it gets renewed. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    The cast has a lot of personality an they flow together to make it a compelling show to watch.
    A show that zoom in and shows the team acting
    like a team..Fighting fires..Its not about one person being the hero all the time. There is so much room to grow with this show. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    I find Chicago fire to be quite a good watch so far. The main cast, as well as the love hate relationship between the 'heads' of the respective units makes for good drama. Glad Dick Wolf is taking on something other than Law and Order and doing a good job at it. Could use a bit more action, but other than that no complains to be honest.

    Giving it an 8/10.
    Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    2
    Tries to be too much like THIRD WATCH (and that was an awesome show!) This one is boring and not true to life at all............ I was disappointed after the first two episodes and never watched it again since! Expand

See all 12 User Reviews