Chicago P.D. : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 8, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 4
Chicago P.D. Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The spinoff of Chicago Fire covers the police in Chicago's District 21 including Intelligence Unit Sergeant Hank Voight (Jason Beghe), Detective Antonio Dawson (Jon Seda), Detective Jay Halstead (Jesse Lee Soffer), Detective Erin Lindsay (Sophia Bush), Detective Alvin Olinsky (Elias Koteas),The spinoff of Chicago Fire covers the police in Chicago's District 21 including Intelligence Unit Sergeant Hank Voight (Jason Beghe), Detective Antonio Dawson (Jon Seda), Detective Jay Halstead (Jesse Lee Soffer), Detective Erin Lindsay (Sophia Bush), Detective Alvin Olinsky (Elias Koteas), Detective Sheldon Jin (Archie Kao), Officer Kevin Atwater (LaRoyce Hawkins), rookie Officer Adam Ruzak (Patrick John Fluege), and Officer Kim Burgess (Marina Squerciati). Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 7, 2014
    75
    The Dick Wolf-produced drama is darker than its sister show, but it packs potential for fun with the city’s cops and firefighters crossing paths both on and off the job.
  2. Reviewed by: Ray Rahman
    Jan 2, 2014
    75
    P.D. is as straightforward and meat-and-potatoes as police dramas get--Dick Wolf comfort food.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 6, 2014
    70
    Chicago P.D. is, in many ways, a throwback to an earlier, male-dominated era of crime shows, yet it carves out room for strong female characters who are good at their jobs and taken seriously by their colleagues--and the writers.
  4. 50
    As executed, it almost seems like a parody of the genre.... Beghe's growly, macho performance is hard to stomach, getting in the way of even noticing the attractive supporting cast.
  5. Reviewed by: Carrie Raisler
    Jan 8, 2014
    42
    Spinning off an established show in order to up the chances of that happening is a fine impulse, but this Chicago Fire offshoot is not quite up to the task of creating something indelible just yet.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 8, 2014
    40
    Unfortunately, Chicago P.D. is just that--a reminder, a breathy echo of other, much better shows. Many of which are available in affordable DVD packages and on various streaming services.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 8, 2014
    20
    Chicago PD, is the most arrogantly conceived display of bare-knuckled hooey since the mercifully short-lived Ironside reboot, which polluted the same Wednesday 10/9c time period last fall.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. May 14, 2015
    10
    Gripping stories with characters you care about. Consistently excellent. Will buy Blu-Ray version someday to watch the whole season again --Gripping stories with characters you care about. Consistently excellent. Will buy Blu-Ray version someday to watch the whole season again -- something I almost never do. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This show is awesome. My favorite new show. Love the characters. Fell in love with this show from the first episode. Sophia Bush is awesome,This show is awesome. My favorite new show. Love the characters. Fell in love with this show from the first episode. Sophia Bush is awesome, Jesse Lee Soffer is hot!! Erin and Jay chemistry is off the chart. This show is the best Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    Really wonderful show! Sophia Bush is great and it's not just like every other cop show. Really great, I definitely recommend it!
    I find it's
    Really wonderful show! Sophia Bush is great and it's not just like every other cop show. Really great, I definitely recommend it!
    I find it's much better than Chicago Fire.. Less melodramatic and more of an actual plot.
    Expand
  4. May 14, 2014
    9
    I love Chicago Fire and I love Chicago PD.
    Why ? Chicago PD is so different than other cop shows. It really nature, people here are not
    I love Chicago Fire and I love Chicago PD.
    Why ? Chicago PD is so different than other cop shows. It really nature, people here are not super humans, they have normal problems, struggling in dirty world.. especially Hank leader of IU.

    Its way better than any law & order **** But americans are dumb........... I hope in 3rd season too
    Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2014
    6
    A cop spin-off from the fantastic show Chicago Fire. We follow the newly formed intelligence squad, lead by the one and only Sergeant HankA cop spin-off from the fantastic show Chicago Fire. We follow the newly formed intelligence squad, lead by the one and only Sergeant Hank Voight. Fans of Chicago Fire will remember this guy as the dirty cop who wreaked havoc with Matthew Casey's life. So if you are going to go from watching Chicago Fire to this show then be in for some surprises. The dirty cop has got off the hook, not only is he being released from jail but he was given a promotion. He's a tough character to judge, for some reason he has found a moral compass which now just makes him come off as bipolar. Evil plans one scene then helping out a defenseless kid the next.

    Seems to be the run of the mill American cop show, a lot of drama and many unanswered questions. As it is a spin off there will be plot holes, lets hope they can be answered so that viewers of both shows can fully enjoy the story.

    Overall this hasn't shown anything new. You do get the odd scene which includes a cast member from Chicago Fire but these sometimes feel awkward and out of place. Give it a chance though, there's some good talent in the show and the story could head in an interesting direction. Only time will tell.
    Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2014
    3
    Seriously?? Are we talking about the same Dick Wolf? WTF is this sad excuse for a television show? This is one of the most incoherent copSeriously?? Are we talking about the same Dick Wolf? WTF is this sad excuse for a television show? This is one of the most incoherent cop melo-dramas I have ever laid my eyes on. No emotion, shifty characters and a story that sucks. How on earth could Dick Wolf produce such **** I swear if this show gets renewed and Law & Order Los Angeles didn't, I'm going to throw a fit. Dick Wolf has lost his touch same counts for Law & Order SVU. Guess the audience now a days just wants a slow scripted show that a 5 year old could comprehend instead of a good written series. I'll stick to watching my law & order episodes from the 90's. Collapse
  7. Oct 13, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Last Wednesday (10/7) I did something I rarely do--turned a show off in the middle. When they took a suspect into the interrogation room and started beating on him I'd had enough. Yes, he was an alleged pedophile but that's no excuse for what they were doing. Police brutality is a serious problem in our society and it has no place on TV unless the brutal cop is the perp in the story. They roughed people up a lot last season and now I've had enough. I won't be watching anymore. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews