• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 8, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 4, 5
Chicago P.D. Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The spinoff of Chicago Fire covers the police in Chicago's District 21 including Intelligence Unit Sergeant Hank Voight (Jason Beghe), Detective Antonio Dawson (Jon Seda), Detective Jay Halstead (Jesse Lee Soffer), Detective Erin Lindsay (Sophia Bush), Detective Alvin Olinsky (Elias Koteas),The spinoff of Chicago Fire covers the police in Chicago's District 21 including Intelligence Unit Sergeant Hank Voight (Jason Beghe), Detective Antonio Dawson (Jon Seda), Detective Jay Halstead (Jesse Lee Soffer), Detective Erin Lindsay (Sophia Bush), Detective Alvin Olinsky (Elias Koteas), Detective Sheldon Jin (Archie Kao), Officer Kevin Atwater (LaRoyce Hawkins), rookie Officer Adam Ruzak (Patrick John Fluege), and Officer Kim Burgess (Marina Squerciati). Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Chicago P.D.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 7, 2014
    75
    The Dick Wolf-produced drama is darker than its sister show, but it packs potential for fun with the city’s cops and firefighters crossing paths both on and off the job.
  2. Reviewed by: Ray Rahman
    Jan 2, 2014
    75
    P.D. is as straightforward and meat-and-potatoes as police dramas get--Dick Wolf comfort food.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 6, 2014
    70
    Chicago P.D. is, in many ways, a throwback to an earlier, male-dominated era of crime shows, yet it carves out room for strong female characters who are good at their jobs and taken seriously by their colleagues--and the writers.
  4. 50
    As executed, it almost seems like a parody of the genre.... Beghe's growly, macho performance is hard to stomach, getting in the way of even noticing the attractive supporting cast.
  5. Reviewed by: Carrie Raisler
    Jan 8, 2014
    42
    Spinning off an established show in order to up the chances of that happening is a fine impulse, but this Chicago Fire offshoot is not quite up to the task of creating something indelible just yet.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 8, 2014
    40
    Unfortunately, Chicago P.D. is just that--a reminder, a breathy echo of other, much better shows. Many of which are available in affordable DVD packages and on various streaming services.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 8, 2014
    20
    Chicago PD, is the most arrogantly conceived display of bare-knuckled hooey since the mercifully short-lived Ironside reboot, which polluted the same Wednesday 10/9c time period last fall.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    Really wonderful show! Sophia Bush is great and it's not just like every other cop show. Really great, I definitely recommend it!
    I find it's
    Really wonderful show! Sophia Bush is great and it's not just like every other cop show. Really great, I definitely recommend it!
    I find it's much better than Chicago Fire.. Less melodramatic and more of an actual plot.
    Collapse
  2. Mar 7, 2017
    10
    Law & Order creator Dick Wolf, made his Chicago series because he wanted to give viewers a separate look at the heroes who make a city run,Law & Order creator Dick Wolf, made his Chicago series because he wanted to give viewers a separate look at the heroes who make a city run, but beyond that, he wanted to make it as realistic as possible. These shows feel a lot like one of my favorite all-time TV shows, Third Watch, but in that case they were all together in one show. Chicago P.D. focuses on major crimes detectives and shows that unlike Law & Order, the police aren't above reproach and always in control.

    The unit is run by Hank Voight (Jason Beghe), who while having a soft spot for victims, also runs on pure emotion. If Voight can't get the bad guy legally, he'll get them another way. He's also not the most honest cop around and has a checkered past filled with abuses of power, as seen in his debut on Chicago Fire.

    Voight's unit includes his best friend and uncover specialist Alvin Olinsky (Elias Koteas), who is more honest than Voight, but always has his back. Olinsky is a master of disguise, and is in charge of training a rookie and possibly his eventual replacement played by Patrick Flueger. Also joining Voight is Erin Lindsey (Sophia Bush) a runaway that Voight rescued and raised as his own, who is partnered with another hot head, who while reminding her of Voight, also has romantic feelings for her. Finally rounding out the squad is Antonio Dawson (Jon Seda), the brother of a paramedic on Chicago Fire and the man who originally tried to put Voight in jail. He's one of Voight's best detectives, but can he be trusted?

    As you can see from the character descriptions, threes a lot going on here, not to mention a uniform patrol division we see on a semi-regular basis. The show isn't narrowly focused on particular types of crimes and frequently has crossover with both the other Chicago shows and Law & Order SVU.

    The Bottom Line, Chicago P.D. hits the bulls eye as the most realistic cop drama since Southland. They dive deeply into the characters background, families, and personalities, it's a lot of fun to watch. The way they go about doing their job is unlike any other cop show on TV and the whole Third Watch feel to the way it's filmed has me in cop heaven. I can not wait for this show to stream so I can binge away!
    Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    I've been getting bored with all the samey police dramas of late, that is until Chicago P.D. came along. With its great characters, lightI've been getting bored with all the samey police dramas of late, that is until Chicago P.D. came along. With its great characters, light comedy moments, intense drama, and powerful story lines I find I'm genuinely looking forward to the next episode. Jason Beghe is outstanding playing the 'dirty' cop Head of the Chicago P.D.'s Intelligence Unit, and Sophia Bush is both gritty and gorgeous. In fact all the characters are played to perfection Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This show is awesome. My favorite new show. Love the characters. Fell in love with this show from the first episode. Sophia Bush is awesome,This show is awesome. My favorite new show. Love the characters. Fell in love with this show from the first episode. Sophia Bush is awesome, Jesse Lee Soffer is hot!! Erin and Jay chemistry is off the chart. This show is the best Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    A great new cop drama, directed by Dick Wolf. Strong cast, interesting storyline each week and little focus on romantic drama - just theA great new cop drama, directed by Dick Wolf. Strong cast, interesting storyline each week and little focus on romantic drama - just the occasional hint of tension between characters. The show seems to be steadily improving each week, and has a lot of potential, with episodes to look forward to. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    3
    I was excited after watching all the previews, but this really fizzled. I was lost after an unrealistic scene on the first episode where theI was excited after watching all the previews, but this really fizzled. I was lost after an unrealistic scene on the first episode where the guy keeps "cat calling" a police officer even after she identifies herself as a cop. That would NEVER happen, no one is that dumb. Just idiotic writing. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Last Wednesday (10/7) I did something I rarely do--turned a show off in the middle. When they took a suspect into the interrogation room and started beating on him I'd had enough. Yes, he was an alleged pedophile but that's no excuse for what they were doing. Police brutality is a serious problem in our society and it has no place on TV unless the brutal cop is the perp in the story. They roughed people up a lot last season and now I've had enough. I won't be watching anymore. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews