Chuck : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Chuck Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 389 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: From a retail hack who sells computers to a hunted man with a computer in his brain. Chuck's life changes when an old college friend sends him an e-mail that chucks him into the world of spies.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. 100
    Cute, creative and slick, this is one of the best new shows of the fall season.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Gillian Flynn
    83
    While there are a a few too many "awkward-guy moments," there are enough genuinely sweet ones to balance them out. [28 Sep 2007, p.93]
  3. Chuck starts a step slower, with more exposition in the first two episodes and no larger-than-life character like Satan to smooth over that, but by episode three, it's just as assured and entertaining in its own extremely similar way.
  4. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    80
    The real-world intrigue is matched in dramatic flair by Chuck-world jeopardy. His store's fierce assistant-manager competition resounds as fatefully as saving the universe from evil. Which makes the dark light enough and the light dark enough to meld into a tasty escapist treat.
  5. 70
    It's good, not great, and tonight's strong pilot gives way next week to a noticeably less stellar hour.
  6. The pilot is full of dark, dangerous and sexy moments.
  7. A charming but underwhelming pilot.... The second episode is dismal, sucking all the air out of whatever hopes you might have had for that one.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 85
  2. Negative: 5 out of 85
  1. bobg
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    Most interesting show to watch. Chuck is a great show to just relax and watch after a tough day. The show has action, mystery, romance, and Most interesting show to watch. Chuck is a great show to just relax and watch after a tough day. The show has action, mystery, romance, and full of technology. Expand
  2. JacobW
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Most enjoyable show I've seen on television. Great acting, decent fight scenes, and a story that continues to progress and build makes Most enjoyable show I've seen on television. Great acting, decent fight scenes, and a story that continues to progress and build makes Chuck a definite success. Expand
  3. tommyA.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Chuck is a hilarious show. Plus the blonde chick is pleasing to the eye. Adam Baldwin plays one helluva creepy good-guy.
  4. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    If there is maybe 1 thing i dont like on this awesome TV show, it is the weird romantic life of Chuck. It can be very boring to watch hisIf there is maybe 1 thing i dont like on this awesome TV show, it is the weird romantic life of Chuck. It can be very boring to watch his girl problems. But this is not enough to lower the grade.But the adventure-action nature of Chuck is really exciting and amazing. There is a whole lotta fantastic characters like Casey, Big Mike and weird pervert Jeff. I could never forget some of the scenes that makes even any serious man LoL. The Antagonists of the show (like Volkoff, Shaw,Ring-Fulcrum organization...) were really interesting. If you start watching this, im sure you will not press the red x button on the top-right of your media player. Expand
  5. DarrellG
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    Chuck is awesome! Very clever show with a fresh story idea.
  6. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    Even though, I haven't really followed Chuck in a while. This season has been pretty good. It's entertaining, and the action, drama and musicEven though, I haven't really followed Chuck in a while. This season has been pretty good. It's entertaining, and the action, drama and music are all pretty well thought out. Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2013
    0
    I have been told this show is funny and entertaining. However, after only watching the first episode, I can tell it is a mindless, cliched,I have been told this show is funny and entertaining. However, after only watching the first episode, I can tell it is a mindless, cliched, and predictable drama. When the episode began, I was interested and curious to find out what would happen, but after I saw all the sexist stereotyping of the Sarah character, I was instantly disappointed. Why the writers chose to create such an unlikeable character, I will never know, but knowing the show will probably revolve around a naked blond, I would rather watch anything else. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Save Our Show!: A History of TV Fan Campaigns

    Save Our Show!: A History of TV Fan Campaigns Image
    Published: April 22, 2010
    Earlier this week, we told you which TV shows were in danger in cancellation. Now, learn about what you can do to save your favorite show -- and what other fans have done in the past to mount successful campaigns.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.